We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Addo Elephant national park and Elephant Back ride”
Review of Alan Tours

Alan Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alan Tours, based in the fun filled, coastal Holiday City of Port Elizabeth on the Sunshine Coast in the Eastern Cape is proud to promote South Africa, home to the Big 5 and Big 7 Safaris! A land with a unique natural, cultural and historical diversity, unsurpassed in the modern world today.
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Me and my Partner visited South Africa for my 30th. We wanted to book something up before we arrived in Port Elizabeth, so we contacted Alan Tours via email. They Were amazing with contact and helping us to book and plan our days out. Today (23rd May 16) we had the most amazing, informative and once in a lifetime experience. Alan was our tour guide, and both me and my partner commented on how just knowledgable he is. Alan knew exactly where to look for the animals, and he truly made our day magical. He made us feel very relaxed and we both came away feeling like we had known him for years. Alan really felt like to us the 'David Attenborough' of South Africa. We enjoyed his company and tour that much that we have booked a different one for tomorrow. If we returned to South Africa again we would defiantly use Alan Tours again.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Thank you so much once again, Alan Tours.

Louise and Steve xx

1  Thank LouiseFloyd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildguide, Owner at Alan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Hi Louise and Steven,
What a wonderful surprise and brilliant review you have taken the time and trouble to write.
Apologies for the delay in responding to your review but I was waiting for a notification from Tripadvisor.
Wow, I am really humbled and excited with your comparison to the great
Sir David Attenborough. I am a huge fan of this man and the achievements he has made in his lifetime and the contributions he has made to the preservation of the world and its inhabitants. I know it is just an expression but for you to mention his name is a massive honor.
We thank you for your wonderful and enthusiastic support for Alan Tours and hope that you and Steve will find time to visit us once again in our beautiful country.

Wishing both of you a wonderful life together, all the best
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"big tour"
in 7 reviews
"day tour"
in 12 reviews
"addo elephant park"
in 33 reviews
"city tour"
in 8 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 10 reviews
"cruise terminal"
in 3 reviews
"coffee break"
in 3 reviews
"email contact"
in 2 reviews
"bathroom break"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful person"
in 2 reviews
"dung beetle"
in 4 reviews
"cape recife"
in 7 reviews
"no hesitation in recommending"
in 3 reviews
"excellent tour"
in 3 reviews
"knew exactly where"
in 3 reviews
"interesting commentary"
in 2 reviews
"bottled water"
in 3 reviews
Filter

61 - 65 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2016

We booked Alan Tours due to the excellent website comments on Trip Advisor. During our stay we had arranged several tours with this Company. The first was to Addo Nature Reserve followed by a half-day game drive at Schotia. The second was a transfer to Daniell Cheetah Project. We also did the City Tour of Port Elizabeth and also Cape Recife Lighthouse, SAMREC the penguin rehabilitation centre and also a nature reserve drive. My husband and I cannot fault this company. From the initial internet booking with Angelika to the actual tours we were very impressed. Alan himself is a joy to be with. A font of knowledge, experience and wisdom and yet at the same time highly entertaining. We also had a transfer one day with Carmen whose company we thoroughly enjoyed also. We were both sorry to end our tours and will miss Alan who we came to regard as a friend. We highly recommend this Company and hope to be back sometime in the future in which case we will certainly call Alan. Thank you Alan, Carmen and the whole team. We miss you. Kathy and Francesco

2  Thank Pesaro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildguide, Owner at Alan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2016

Dear Katherine and Francesco, Thank you so much for such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor, not only did we, all of us, enjoy your company and interest in our wildlife but of the empathy and good will you so strongly show towards other captive wildlife that finds themselves in not such a fortunate predicament as those in the national Parks and reserve in and around South Africa. These captive animals need as many friends as they can get. Both yourself and Francesco are a delight to be with and we hope that you will be able to make it out here again sooner than later.

Wishing both of you all the very best,
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

On a cruise and docked at Port Elizabeth for the day and booked a one day safari to Addo Elephant Park. If you read this, do it. We had an amazing day with Alan as our guide, seeing everything from an elephant to a dung beetle!! His local knowledge is superb and it is thanks to him that we saw so much. This was a highlight of our cruise. I highly recommend this company and would certainly book them again should we be back.

Thank McD15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildguide, Owner at Alan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

Hi McD15,
Wow, thank you for such a positive and kind review on TripAdvisor. I am sure you will aware that this is remarkably helpful and powerful marketing platform so your contribution is much more than welcome. We, all of us at Alan Tours appreciate your input and time taken.

We hope to see you back again on our sunny shores in the not too distant future.
All the best,
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

We had a wonderful day tour to the Addo Elephant Park with Alan tours this march 2016.
PIck up was at our hotel by Alan himself (that's a big plus).
Despite the rain we enjoyed the sights of the beautiful Addo park. We saw many animals; many beautiful, impressive elephants ofcourse, but also lions, big herds of buffalo, kudu, eland, zebra's, jackals, birds etc etc
We enjoyed a good service and Alan the guide shared his great knowledge of the animals, the park and the surrounding area. And he was able to answer all of our many questions :-)
Definatly recommended!

Thank loesies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildguide, Owner at Alan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2016

Hi Loesies,
Wonderful to hear from you and thank you for such an upbeat review on Trip advisor, it is such a useful marketing tool. Addo is an amazing game reserve and although we don't always see everything we want to, it is such a productive and beautiful destination that few if anyone goes away disappointed. Thank you for your wonderful support, all the best,
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2016

I took Alan Tours to Addo Elephant National Park. Alan picked everyone up at their hotel for an early departure for this all day adventure.

Alan was an expert tour guide. I'm normally pretty good at spotting wildlife, but he pointed out many animals I totally would have missed. Alan had interesting information about all of the various creatures we encountered, from the lions to jackals.

The highlight, of course, was all the elephants. Alan was great at finding them. At one point, we had to pull over and stop because the road was taken over by a large family. One of the bulls literally rubbed against the car as he passed.

I highly recommend this tour. It has all the things you went to Africa to see.

Thank MichaelPeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildguide, Owner at Alan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2016

Hi Michael, wow nice to hear from you again. All well I hope? Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for us on Trip Advisor. I enjoyed you company and the enthusiasm and photographic skills you used to capture our nature and wildlife. We hope to see you back on these sun drenched shore lines once again in the not too distant future.
All the best,
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alan Tours also viewed

 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Alan Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing