We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely excellent”
Review of Alan Tours

Alan Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alan Tours, based in the fun filled, coastal Holiday City of Port Elizabeth on the Sunshine Coast in the Eastern Cape is proud to promote South Africa, home to the Big 5 and Big 7 Safaris! A land with a unique natural, cultural and historical diversity, unsurpassed in the modern world today.
Reviewed 10 June 2015 via mobile

My partner and I had a brilliant day with Luke today. He was incredibly knowledgable, enthusiastic and easy to get on with. We spent the day at Addo and really enjoyed it. Would really recommend booking your trip with these guys. Do it now!

1  Thank AmyLB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"big tour"
in 7 reviews
"day tour"
in 12 reviews
"addo elephant park"
in 33 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 10 reviews
"city tour"
in 8 reviews
"cruise terminal"
in 3 reviews
"highly recommend this company"
in 3 reviews
"bathroom break"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful person"
in 2 reviews
"dung beetle"
in 4 reviews
"cape recife"
in 7 reviews
"interesting commentary"
in 2 reviews
"excellent tour"
in 3 reviews
"great guide"
in 4 reviews
"thank you very much"
in 2 reviews
"light lunch"
in 2 reviews
"private game reserve"
in 4 reviews
Filter

84 - 88 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2015

I had only a day to spare on this business trip from Australia and I reckon I am the luckiest person to enjoyed Alan's company, knowledge and enthusiasm from dawn to dusk. Today I feel slightly transformed with new eyes for this incredible world we live in. Thanks Alan! Who would have thought a dung beetle could be as interesting as a cheetah or elephant?

2  Thank CLLN345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildguide, Owner at Alan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

You're a beaut, what a wonderful review and wasting no time in posting it.
Thank you so very much for a wonderful day in Addo, The weather was superb, the game prolific and the company just perfect, Your to the point and enquiring questions help so much in being able to elaborate on what is naturally there.
Thank you for the wonderful support, taking the time and trouble to contribute a review to Tripadvisor, it is appreciated more than you will know. Go well!!
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

We highly recommend the Big 7 tour. We had the privilege of spending the day with Alan as he guided us on the cruise out to St Croix island taking time to share his extensive knowledge of the marine Eco system of the island, penguins and the bay. After a quick lunch on the dock we were off to Addo national park. Alan was an expert of not only finding amazing game to view in a beautiful natural setting, but also explaining the behaviors of the animals as well as the importance of the vegetation to the survival of the entire system. It clear that Alan is very proud of where he lives and works, that translates into an informative and comfortable tour and is well worth the time and the cost.

Thank dwindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildguide, Owner at Alan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Hi DWIDC,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review you posted on Trip Advisor.
As you will be aware Trip Advisor is a massive marketing tool on the internet, people trust this platform as it carries the gravitas, the weight of integrity which many travelers depend on.
For this reason your review identifying the Big7 as a worthwhile tour is something we are very grateful for as we see this activity as a genuinely unique and authentic wildlife experience.
Thank you for your support, all the best,
Alan Fogarty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

We spent a weekend at Baviaans Lodge in the Baviaanskloof and struck it lucky. Alan was spending some time out at the lodge over the long weekend as well and even though he wasn't there to work he agreed to take us and some of the other guests on a tour up to the rock painting overhang on the farm. Baviaans Lodge is on one of Alan's itineraries and the rock paintings get featured on that tour so we knew even before we started that we were in for a treat.

Alan's knowledge and sharp eye just blew my mind. He pointed out things that the rest of us would have missed and explained everything there was to know from plants and flowers to the inner workings of a termite mound. He even pointed out that there was a small heard of kudu on the path in front of us. Not because you could see them but because every time we crossed the stream there we tracks on the other side and the soil around it was still wet. His knowledge didn't stop with the fauna and flora as he explained the rock paintings in detail.

If you are looking for a great field guide to take you out on tour and you choose Alan, you are in for a treat.

Thank FireflyAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildguide, Owner at Alan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2015

Hi Firefly,

What a wonderful surprise it was to see your review come up on Trip Advisor, totally unexpected and out of the blue, thank you from the bottom of my heart.
It was an absolute pleasure being with you and your Lady on the walk, to be able to witness the pristine natural beauty on such a lovely day. To see the sights, hear the sounds, feel the textures and smell the aromas of all there is to see and do in those remote hills and valleys of the Kouga wilderness.

As you will understand, Trip Advisor is an incredibly powerful tool and we are so grateful to get each and every positive review especially from one so familiar with our local products.

Thank you, your time and trouble are much appreciated.

All the best,

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2015 via mobile

My best recommendations! The awsomest tourguide ever! Not only professional. Alan takes care of each tour member as if they were family.

Thank JanF1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildguide, Owner at Alan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2015

Jan, if I could reach out and hug you I would.
Thank you for your wonderful words of recommendation on Trip Advisor.
It is such an important platform to market ourselves, each and every positive review is worth more than gold.
If you are ever in South Africa again pls. give us a call we would very much like to catch up again and we've always got room for you in our cottage on the coast.
Wishing you all the best,

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alan Tours also viewed

 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Alan Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing