We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Hotels.com
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
34
34
14
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
34
34
14
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short holiday small menu garden route resort chalet tiles plettenberg
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2023

as a first time visitor to this resort, we were very pleasantly surprised. Check in was easy and effortless and staff very friendly. Our self-catering unit was comfortable and had all that we required for our 3 night week-end stay.

A unique and rather different miniature golf course of 9 holes, that done twice makes up a good 18 hole experience. Also a family jumping pillow, in lieu of trampolines, was a feature. Swimming pools were clean and well laid out, even though being August we did not swim, the water being too chilly. Having said that we did swim in the sea which was cold but bearable. The rabbits that run around the complex "free-range" were a treat for children and adult alike.

One minor gripe, and this is unavoidable - privacy was severely compromised by the layout of the property, and we , whilst sitting outside on the patio to braai, had folk passing by in very close proximity on occasion - but that did not detract greatly from our overall impression of the the resort.

Staff were friendly and cordial, and the Waffle house was unique in the presentation of that choice on the menu. Also a mean cuppo coffee from the barristers on duty.

We will be back !!!

Room tip: Some units are not very private, but do not let that detract from all this resort has to offer, Great kiddies play area, if required.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank irishmike60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beekman Group, General Manager at Formosa Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2023

Hi irishmike60, thank you so much for taking the time to share this wonderful feedback with us. It's amazing to know that your check-in experience was effortless, and you found our staff to be friendly – we take great pride in ensuring a warm and welcoming atmosphere for all our guests. The family jumping pillow is indeed a fun alternative to traditional trampolines, and we're pleased to hear it was a feature you appreciated 😀. Our resident free-range rabbits are indeed a charming addition to the resort, and we're thrilled they brought joy to both children and adults during your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding the layout of the property and the potential privacy concerns. We will certainly take your comments into consideration as we continually strive to enhance the overall experience for our guests. We can't wait to welcome you back to our resort in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2023

The resort is very neat and well maintained. Easy access to all amenities, via a paved walk way. Chalets are very modern.
No wifi in chalets which is a downer especially if you want to work while on holiday. Sleeping space for children under 12 not suitable. Would prefer a proper sleeper couch or bunk beds. The benches are not safe as they can roll off.
On site restaurant very nice with the most divine waffles and friendly staff.

Room tip: No wifi in chalets.
Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beekman Group, General Manager at Formosa Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2023

Hi valeriecupido, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Providing a comfortable, relaxing holiday environment for our guests to enjoy is super important to us, and we are really glad that this proved to be the case for you 😊. We have however taken your feedback on board for future developments, and appreciate you raising this with us. Next time you're looking to enjoy a wonderful breakaway with first-class service and delicious meals, we hope you'll stop by!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2023 via mobile

A really nice place to stay on the garden route. Rooms are clean and spacious, with mini kitchen, fridge, glass door cabinets and subway tiled back splash. Bathrooms are large with walk-in rain shower. Small seating area, with wonderful pool views. That staff is exceptionally kind and helpful. The grounds are terrific. The spa feeling is awesome. Enjoy your booking here!

Room tip: Can’t check in until 3 pm
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jcwbesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beekman Group, General Manager at Formosa Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2023

Dear Guest, thank you so much for trusting us with your stay and taking the time to leave us such a great review. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities at the resort as well as the hospitality from our resort staff. It is our aim to provide our guests with great and memorable experiences, as such we are delighted to know you had a wonderful time with us. We hope we get the pleasure of hosting you again soon.😍

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2023

Friendly staff awaits you at the gate and office. The houses are clean and well-stocked with all utensils. The flow of the house was well thought out and there is enough room for 2 couples and a child. Just remember that this house had a stair to the one bedroom and for small babies, it needed to be packed with something. There is enough area to walk and the recreation area offered a lot to do. There is a hot and cold swimming pool and a steam room which you can book. The waffle restaurant on the premises offers a small menu for a quick coffee or beer. They could look at the waffle though as it was not the best that I had. It is well situated so is in town or surrounds quick and easy.

Date of stay: October 2022
Thank monadwbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beekman Group, General Manager at Formosa Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2023

Hi monadwbus, thank you for reviewing your recent experience with us 😊. Here at Formosa Bay, we certainly try our hardest to provide the most comfortable and entertaining stay to all our guests - and it's wonderful that this was also the case for you. We have noted your suggestion about the waffle and will definitely work towards having this improved. We appreciate you trusting us with your pre-holiday and hope that you'll join us again soon for another stunning stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2021

to stop over or spend time to explore Plettenberg Bay. We had some concerns as the Rage was supposed to be on but the staff managed the Covid restrictions very well. The rooms are spacious and offer everything one needs. We'll certainly come back

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hanns b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beekman Group, General Manager at Formosa Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2021

Hi Hanns, we appreciate your positive feedback about our resort. We are delighted to know you had an enjoyable stay with us. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can and we are glad to know we made such a positive impression on you that you'd want to visit us again. Thank you for your support and we'd love to welcome you again for another memorable holiday in the near future.

Regards.
Formosa Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews