We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The finest Plettenberg Bay hotel I have stayed in”
Review of Bayview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bayview Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Reviewed 7 May 2016

I found the Bayview Hotel by a recommendation from friends who live in Plettenberg Bay. I only wanted 2 nights but the hotel was so nice I should have stayed a week. It is quite small, but in a excellent position, and most importantly, the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. My room had all the extras that a top hotel provides, and to top it all, it was very inexpensive..

Room Tip: Rooms with a Bay view are excellent value
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bob2012Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Bayview Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2016

The hotel is very nice, just needs a bit of TLC. We had a wonderfull time there. we only stayed 1 night but we loved it very much.
We stayed at the penthouse with the most beautifull view of the ocean and the lake.
Thank you for making my holliday special.

Room Tip: great view from the penthouse
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank onsstee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

Position is excellent. Staff friendly BUT rooms looking very tired. Bathroom not cleaned properly....hair all over the floor!! No milk supplied for in room tea or coffee. On booking.com website it boasts airconditioning - there isn't any. Would not like to be in here in the Summer months. The owners need to spend a night in their own hotel. Happy to be here for one night only.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank veekayhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry that you were not completely happy with your room. I hope you brought this to the managers attention and these issues could be rectified while you were still there. Our website and Booking.com advertise our rooms as having fans and heating.

We are a 3 star established property that regularly undergoes small upgrades. We always welcome suggestions as to the most necessary improvements.

Bayview Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Loved the place, staff very helpful and friendly,
Laundromat across the road to the left. Fantastic service.
Not impressed with the Bistro on the ground floor, pricey and did not enjoy my starter or mains. Will definitely go back to stay when in Plettenberg Bay

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 57Belinda12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our location and staff are two elements that we pride ourselves on. Being based where we are, we are in walking distance of numerous restaurants to meet all tastes.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Bayview Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016

The location was perfect and the staff were so helpful. If we had a reason to be in Plettenberg Bay again would think about this hotel. Easy access to everything. Staff were extremely helpful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AliMack_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.5 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
553 reviews
2.6 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
743 reviews
4.9 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
374 reviews
1.1 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
912 reviews
8.9 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Address: Cnr. Main & Gibb Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: R672 - R2 965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayview Hotel is privately owned and managed by an efficient and friendly team. It is situated in the heart of the village and is a mere stroll to the beach. One can enjoy Continental and Full English Breakfasts, or a sun downer overlooking the splendour of the Keurbooms River and the Robberg Peninsula.The Bayview boasts 38 en-suite rooms with breathtaking views of the magnificent coastline. The Bayview is well known for its convenient business and conference facilities, and it is equipped with all the necessary amenities needed to ensure the success of your function. For your convenience, the Bayview is open 24 hours per day and offers private parking facilities. Our team will be able to assist you with recommendations on activities you may wish to partake in i.e. tailor - made diving excursions, fishing, hiking, sailing, bird watching, bungi jumping, whale and dolphin watching, all in close proximity to the Bayview. Banking facilities, boutiques, art galleries and shopping malls are in walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing