We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best views of plett”
Review of Bayview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayview Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Reviewed 3 February 2016

My room was upgraded to the penthouse apartment which I would recommend that you try to get this apartment just for the views alone. I have been staying in plett over the last 12 years and this was the first time staying at the bayview and was very impressed with the great service and location. Penthouse is very spacious with two large bedrooms and separate bathrooms and large spacious lounge and well equipped kitchen but the best part has to be the enormous outdoor space you have with this room and the best views of plett i have ever experienced. Well worth spending the money for a special occasion to enjoy the experience. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 07887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2016

Perfect location on the main street in a quiet town. Clean and spacious rooms, wonderful service. No complaints whatsoever, highly recommended. Adequate parking facilities and free parking make it easy to explore the garden route. I would stay here again if I went back to Plettennurg.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vaibhav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Pros: staff are nice.nice parking area. And hotel is in main street.

Cons:
Bad odour because of not much ventalation and shower curtains were slightly damp.
2. Old furniture
3. 1ply toilet paper(seriously?)
4. Our original room was not made up and ready upon check in.they had to give us another room.
5. There were foreigners staying at the hotel and the man and women had an argument at 2am outside hotel right infront of our window.
6. The ceailing fan was a bit of a safety risk as a tall person or a normal person who would lift their arms in the air would be hit by the fan.it is a risk.

7. I dont recomond this hotel as our standard rooms had very limited see views.this hotel should be for the person who are just in town to do a 1 day business deal and get out. Even for that purpose they are really expensive and for very little value

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Francois S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is always welcome in order for us to improve.
We are in the process of making upgrades to the hotel and the bathrooms will be addressed. The forward facing rooms of the hotel have balcony's and views but unfortunately this is not all the rooms.
We are the only 3 star hotel in Plett and our prices compare favourably with 3 star BnB's, Guest Houses, Resorts and Backpackers in the area. Hotel wise we are the cheapest.
Our location is difficult to beat as we are within walking distance of the beach and shops. Perhaps an out of town property is better for a more tranquil stay as we are in the heart of the vibe of the town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016

From the moment i made my booking with Amanda via email in June till the time we checked in we were treated like royalty. The receptionist on duty was very friendly and knowledgeable, She booked our cabs and all our activities during our week long stay. Our room was clean. airy and well stocked with shampoos and clean towels every day and the chambermaids always had a smile if you see them. They have a great restaurant on the premises called La med and we had great breakfasts and 3 dinners there during our stay.... a must visit for great seafood. Will be back in January again

Room Tip: request a room with a balcony for smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GUSTAV100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016

I don't have time to write this review, first we were given the wrong room, then the room we got had an air on that didn't work only to be told there are only two air cons in the whole hotel! The pic on the Internet of the room next to my confirmation has an air con in???the carpets were dirty, the toilet disgusting looked like someone had diaorea when u lifted the seat and hair on the floor / the windowsill looked like it had never been cleaned and the balcony gutter was full of hair and cigarette butts! The carpets dirty too

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 529fayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I can only apologise for your experience at our property. The cleanliness of the rooms is of utmost importance to us and we are busy implementing more staff training to avoid situations like this in future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
4.9 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
83 reviews
2.6 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
784 reviews
0.5 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
380 reviews
8.9 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
267 reviews
16.5 km away
Kurland Hotel
Kurland Hotel
#7 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Address: Cnr. Main & Gibb Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: R716 - R3 890 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayview Hotel is privately owned and managed by an efficient and friendly team. It is situated in the heart of the village and is a mere stroll to the beach. One can enjoy Continental and Full English Breakfasts, or a sun downer overlooking the splendour of the Keurbooms River and the Robberg Peninsula.The Bayview boasts 38 en-suite rooms with breathtaking views of the magnificent coastline. The Bayview is well known for its convenient business and conference facilities, and it is equipped with all the necessary amenities needed to ensure the success of your function. For your convenience, the Bayview is open 24 hours per day and offers private parking facilities. Our team will be able to assist you with recommendations on activities you may wish to partake in i.e. tailor - made diving excursions, fishing, hiking, sailing, bird watching, bungi jumping, whale and dolphin watching, all in close proximity to the Bayview. Banking facilities, boutiques, art galleries and shopping malls are in walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing