We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt for Choice ”

Clare's Cakes & Deli
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Deli, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Wow. Quaint little coffee shop with decadent cakes and cupcakes on offer. Delicious coffees & yummy toasted sarmies. Well worth the visit. Pity we were to full to try out any of the cakes.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank teresar170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

We popped in a couple of times during our stay in Plettenberg - friendly, good service, homely surroundings with lovely coffee and awesome cakes - my husband adored the carrot cake!
Locals drinking there too were so friendly and we had some lovely conversations with them.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank lizbethkgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaresPlett, Owner at Clare's Cakes & Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you so much Lizbeth x Hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Excellent lunch menu in a very pleasant setting. Been there plenty of times for a quick lunch and never dissapointed even just for the "soup of the day"

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank WLEMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaresPlett, Owner at Clare's Cakes & Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

Our family of four (two teenagers) were looking for somewhere to have a quick, light lunch and came upon Clare's Cakes. On walking through the door we were rendered speechless but the totally fantastic array of cakes in the chiller!! We knew this was the place for us! It took a long time for us to decide what to order - in addition to some traditional cakes such as the carrot cake my husband ordered (best ever apparently), they had some really unusual cakes. I ordered 'the best of both' cake which comprised of carrot cake surround baked vanilla cheesecake in the centre. Not good if calorie counting, but truly out of this world. However, our daughter's choice probably topped them all - it was a hazelnut meringue cake that had strawberry mousse and vanilla sponge encased in hazelnut meringue. Never seen or tasted anything like it! Our son decided to break the trend and had a toasted sandwich which was excellent value for money being served with crisps etc alongside. The coffees were also great. Whilst waiting for our order we looked around the shop which was full of bakery items you could eat in or takeaway such as cup cakes, brownies, scones, humungous cookies, fudge, etc. There were also deli items that were really unusual and would make great gifts, and some kitchen/gift items. Through the archway was another part to the shop selling savoury items which also looked fantastic. The shop had a lovely friendly warmth to it and the lady serving us was incredibly welcoming and put you at ease straight away. I would thoroughly recommend Clare's Cakes to anyone who enjoys cake - if only we lived nearer!!!!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J992014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaresPlett, Owner at Clare's Cakes & Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Wish you did live nearer!! So glad you enjoyed your visit and that you for the kind words xx
Warmest regards
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

The best place to have a Breakfast!!! Delicious Cakes, Cupcakes, Croissant and Nice Hot Chocolate!!!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Demetrius R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaresPlett, Owner at Clare's Cakes & Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Thank you so much for your review Demetrius!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clare's Cakes & Deli also viewed

 
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Clare's Cakes & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing