We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An idiosyncratic pleasure”
Review of Grand Africa Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Africa Rooms
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2017

If you're looking for the uniform international hotel experience, perhaps best to choose elsewhere. If you're after shabby chic in the truest sense you've got it - weathered wooden paneling, antique rugs and furnishings, also vintage memorabilia everywhere you look. We had the generous Bath House suite complete with a wrought iron bed so high you need a little stool to clamber into it.What's not to enjoy? Embrace the experience I say - and my wife certainly did as she swam in the private pool twice during our stay. Outdoor hot showers were fun too. Although the two side-by-side roll top baths were out due to the drought, you could hardly blame the hotel for that. As for the staff - just superb - really helpful, informative and kind in every way. Our stay here helped to make Plett a great part of our journey across the Cape. Highly recommended for those with a soul!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Grahame T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandPlett, General Manager at Grand Africa Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

What a wonderful review Grahame, thank you for sharing your experience with us and the Tripadvisor community. It is wonderful to hear that you and your wife embraced our space to such an extend, there is nothing we as hosts could wish more for.

Hopefully we get to have you again some time.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

The Grand Cafe and rooms was sold to me as a quirky Art Deco hotel.Everywhere was very dark with concrete floors, stayed in The Pump House, plunge pool was dirty and the only shower was outside which was rusty and dirty. The inside baths were also dirty with brown stains and a couple of lighting fitments where hanging off the wall, some of the rugs were threadbare, could go on but the list of faults are plentiful. Breakfast was just OK.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank elounda6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandPlett, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Africa Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear Elounda,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor.
What you are writing is certainly a good way off of what we would like our guests to experience and I apologize for your unsatisfactory experience.

Please rest assured that every item you mentioned will be thoroughly investigated so that we are in full blossom again upon your next visit.

We hope to have you back again some time, even if it is just for a tea on our deck.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Very nice decorated hotel with big rooms in old fashions look. Big bathroom with bad and separated showers. There is a nice sea view and one of the rooms had a private pool in a little garden with lovely flowers. Unfortunately the house number of the hotel was not right and not easy to find.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 14johannav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandPlett, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Africa Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear Johanna,

thank you for your positive feedback. Now that you know where we are we certainly hope to have you back again some time soon.

Please may I ask you to explain where you drew the wrong address from, so that we can rectify this. If you would eMail me on Benjamin@BlueButter.de that would be most appreciated.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We stayed two nights here and were delighted to be upgraded on arrival to a balcony room which provided a superb view across the bay. The only caution I would include about this room is it may prove difficult to access for some due to the climb up a narrow set of exterior stairs, however for the able it is well worth the effort.
The room was quite different in that the bathroom had a magnificent bath, together with a double shower. The bed was extremely comfortable but would need most peiople to access by the footstool provided due to it's height. I am 6'3" and could only just manage to "climb"in.
Breakfast had a good range of options available and was well cooked. Parking adjacent to the hotel on the road was limited, not a problem for us in off season but maybe at busier times.
The hotel theme was very much emphasising the "Grand" and it was an enjoyable stay in a unique type of surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandPlett, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Africa Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Geoff,

thank you kindly for taking the time to share such complimentary words with the Tripadvisor community. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you had a safe onward journey.

We hope to have you back again some time.
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

A truly boutique feel to the hotel and room which provides something refreshingly different to other standard hotels on the garden route. Staff were very friendly and provided some great local knowledge on places to visit in the local area.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jamesltrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandPlett, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Africa Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear James,

thank you for your kind words. We appreciate that you enjoyed our somewhat different escape and hope you return in the near future.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.5 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
573 reviews
2.7 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
780 reviews
8.9 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
83 reviews
9.3 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
559 reviews
1.2 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Africa Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Africa Rooms

Address: 27 Main Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: R1 789 - R3 785 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Africa Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are few places that can transport you somewhere else in time & emotion. One of these is the Grand Africa Rooms, where a sense of elegant and worldly charm reflects upon its setting over one of Africa's most beautiful bays - Plettenberg Bay. Grand Africa Rooms, with her 8 uniquely styled rooms, presents a beautifully appointed deck, our Leopard Lounge and a pool all exclusively for our Hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Africa Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cafe And Rooms Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing