We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 136)
Filter reviews
1 137 results
Traveller rating
792
274
45
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
792
274
45
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindigo bayindoor pooltime shareentertainment teamschool holidayswelcome homeon the rocksgreat holidayfamily holidaywonderful weekmain restaurantout of seasonoverlooking the seacentral beachheaven on earthsouth africaspectacular views
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 1 137 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2018

As always such a treat. The staff, location, cleanliness, overall appearance is excellent. That is the reason why everybody returns every year! The time share I bought at the resort was the best investment I have ever made

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank emerenchiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear emerenchiam

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us.

We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to live out our Tsogo Sun values which are Teamwork, Service, Opportunity, Growth and Ownership and we can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Should you require any further information, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Warm regards

Ronel Schoeman
Deputy General Manager
Beacon Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Room condition and standard of housekeeping left much to be desired: towels were removed and not always replaced; paint on bathroom door peeling; passage long mirror loose and removed and not replaced; balcony not cleaned.
A pity because otherwise food, service and security good in what is still an iconic hotel in a great location!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank miltsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear miltsue

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us.

Thank you for your feedback with regard to Housekeeping and maintenance, these matters have been addressed and the necessary action has been taken to ensure that this doesn't happen again.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and note that this is not in keeping with our normal high standards.

Should you require any further information, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Warm regards

Ronel Schoeman
Deputy General Manager
Beacon Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

You want a holiday , go to Beacon island. I go on holiday 4 times a year and experience different resorts.At Beacon island you feel like you are part of there family. Beacon island will see me and my family often.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank sherenekj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear sherenekj

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us.

We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to live out our Tsogo Sun values which are Teamwork, Service, Opportunity, Growth and Ownership and we can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Should you require any further information, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Warm regards

Ronel Schoeman
Deputy General Manager
Beacon Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

A friend sent me a picture of his 5 star accommodation in Cape Town with a comment "in heaven". I replied with a photo of the pool deck with the comment "next door in paradise". The Beacon Isle is a special place for a great restful holiday.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear Brian M

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us.

We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to live out our Tsogo Sun values which are Teamwork, Service, Opportunity, Growth and Ownership and we can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Should you require any further information, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Warm regards

Ronel Schoeman
Deputy General Manager
Beacon Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

We visited the Beacon Isle for many summer holidays when our children were much younger and had many happy memories of sun filled days on the beach , whale and dolphin watching from our balcony, playing bingo at the pool and endless hours of family duels on the beach volley ball court. After a ten year absence, My university student son is home in South Africa for his ‘summer’ holiday (from icy Oxford in the UK) and is doing a scuba dive course at the hotel dive school and so we’ve spent the last few days accompanying him to Plettenberg Bay , back at the Beacon Isle Hotel. The staff are as warm and friendly as ever, the location and views remain sublime and the recipe of fun filled days, easy cuisine and sun, sea, beach and more sun and fun remains a winner ! For young families wanting an easy, no frills holiday in a great location, with lots to do , but where you can also totally relax, the Beacon Isle remains a fantastic choice !

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear bond0070

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us.

We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to live out our Tsogo Sun values which are Teamwork, Service, Opportunity, Growth and Ownership and we can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Should you require any further information, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Warm regards

Ronel Schoeman
Deputy General Manager
Beacon Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews