We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All I expected and more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beacon Island Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Beacon Island Resort was highly recommended and it did not disappoint. The location on the beach was priceless; the views from the various indoor and outdoor public spaces and rooms; the night lights on the crashing waves, the sounds and sights of the waves, dolphins and whales made each moment different and special. Even the seagulls (from a distance). We had a corner room that was pleasantly spacious, clean, very comfortable and well-maintained. Unfortunately on the side we stayed it was rather cool at this time of the year but heater and blankets helped. We were spoilt for dining choices and overall the catering (food and cocktails) was very good. Good daily activity plans. Lots to entertain children and very good quality entertainment for adults in the evening. Good complimentary wifi and DSTV variety in the room. The staff show and the wednesday night singers were the entertainment highlights for me. The staff were always courteous and friendly and responded to requests promptly. The kind of hotel that just makes you want to stay a while longer. Good value for money. Will visit again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and in winter take the rooms that face the pool or sea as they get more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank charily2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear charily2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us.

The Robberg Facing rooms are cooler in the winter, on your next visit contact the resort and request a pool facing room if available.

We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back.

Should you require any further information, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Warm Regards

Ronel Schoeman
Deputy General Manager
Beacon Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 66 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017

Excellent value for money to stay in Beacon Island. The food in the restaurants were very good. We see forward to the renovations to the Indingo Bay Restaurant, we hope the prices will still be reasonable. See you in week 31 next year.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank hendrikjwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear hendrikjwh

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Should you require any further information, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Warm Regards

Ronel Schoeman
Deputy General Manager
Beacon Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

The hotel is very well maintained. The carpets in the rooms need to be looked at and the coffee table and chairs are rather heavy and difficult to move. Other than that, everything was great.A fridge a little larger than the one in the room would be nice.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Mclachlan Du T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Mclachlan Du T

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us.

We have identified rooms that need to have their carpets replaced and this will be done over the next few months. During 2018 we shall be doing mock up rooms which will have lighter furniture and should this be approved we shall then commence with our rooms refurbishment in 2019. Fridges will also be upgraded but won't be larger due to space constraints.

Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveninece.

We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back.

Should you require any further information, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Warm Regards

Ronel Schoeman
Deputy General Manager
Beacon Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Judging by every member of staff from the gate guards to the doorman to the people at the front desk, to the cleaning staff, waitresses and room service and leisure activity guys, everybody - repeat everybody - was friendly, had an eager smile and was only too happy to help. Nothing was too much to ask. This is an obvious reflection of anexcellent management team who have clearly instilled a sense of pride and the importance of delivering quality and consistent customer service to every member of staff. Five star stuff guys keep it up. ps The food this was superb across the board.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank AntLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear AntLeah

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us.

What an awesome review, many thanks for this. This will assist us to build our team stronger and better.

We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to live out our Tsogo Sun values which are Teamwork, Service, Opportunity, Growth and Ownership and we can't wait to welcome you back.

Should you require any further information, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Warm Regards

Ronel Schoeman
Deputy General Manager
Beacon Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Great location,direct beach access. Room service pricing is very reasonable. Great food. Great kids entertainment. Rooms facing swimming pool is sunnier/warmer in winter,but make sure its not school holidays,as it can be slightly noisy on poolside rooms. Seagulls are a real pain if you order something to eat with beach service. The seagulls do not ask - they simply attack (all of them!!). One seagull bit my husbands pizza slice from his hand - bleeding finger was the result - so order cocktails galore,but rather go up to the lounge (real close to pool/beach) to have a bite. We will definately return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Riana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear Riana

Thank you for taking the time to complete write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us.

The Seagulls do pose a problem, we are currently looking at various environmentally friendly ways to assist us with them.

Wishing you husband a speedy recovery.

We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back.

Should you require any further information, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Warm Regards

Ronel Schoeman
Deputy General Manager
Beacon Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
0.8 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
573 reviews
1.9 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
780 reviews
9.6 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
559 reviews
5.6 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
83 reviews
26.8 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Island Resort

Address: Beacon Isle Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: R1 443 - R4 699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Plettenberg Bay, one of the most visited of the picturesque Garden Route towns, the Beacon Island Timeshare Resort is a favourite amongst travellers to this region. Boasting spectacular ocean views, endless leisure activities a host of nearby attractions and beautiful bedrooms this is the perfect resort for you. Drive to Knysna to feed the elephants, shop till you drop or spend your days luxuriating alongside the pool just enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Beacon Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Island Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing