We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Winter Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beacon Island Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We spent the last week of July at the resort and it was amazing! Clear blue skies everyday. A school of dolphins in the bay on two occasions. Whales in the bay a few times. And very mild weather, people swimming in the (very cleverly ) outdoor heated pool at 3.30pm in the afternoon! A few hours drive away and the weather was very chilly indeed. The hotel was impeccably kept as always. The outdoor lawns and gardens and pool loungers constantly being checked and attended to if necessary. Indoors our accommodation was very good and we had a great sunny room overlooking the pool, lawns and the main bay. A very good winter break indeed!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LatteC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear LatteC6

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us.

We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to live out our Tsogo Sun values which are Teamwork, Service, Opportunity, Growth and Ownership and we can't wait to welcome you back.

Should you require any further information, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Warm Regards

Ronel Schoeman
Deputy General Manager
Beacon Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 81 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Visited the resort with our sea diving parents as babies and again as teenagers and had magical memories of the 'Blue Hotel' (what we called it as kids).

Hubby spoiled me for 1 night and the memories came alive again. Amazingly friendly staff. Marco, Poena, Andrew, Elizabeth, Michelle are just a few of the friendly faces we met on our quick visit.

From check-in to spa treat, to dinner, to waking up with thousands of dolphins metres from our sea-facing windows, to breakfast, everything was just perfect.

Thank You for making new memories with us. Now we're really tempted to buy time-share...

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LizelDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear LizelDV

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us.

I am delighted to read that we have manged to create some good memories.

We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to live out our Tsogo Sun values which are Teamwork, Service, Opportunity, Growth and Ownership and we can't wait to welcome you back.

Should you require any further information, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Warm Regards

Ronel Schoeman
Deputy General Manager
Beacon Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Always a pleasure to relax and enjoy the time spent with smiling friendly helpful staff. The architecture of this building is as impressive as the day it was built and management have kept it up to date . Only complaint is the cramped bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Mick W

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us.

Due to the structure of the building we are unable to enlarge our bathrooms. Before we did our major refurbishment we use to have a shower over the bath where areas now we have a separate shower and bath.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience.

We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back.

Should you require any further information, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Warm Regards

Ronel Schoeman
Deputy General Manager
Beacon Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Had a wonderful week at Beacon Island Resort. Second time around. Room very comfortable, food was good and the staff very helpful waitrons attending to tables were always pleasant and nothing was every too much trouble. They had in-house entertainment which was really enjoyable - lovely walks along the Robberg Beach and Main Beach - very short distances to travel to explore. 3 Restaurants to choose from to have meals - meals served at the pool area - on the patios - saw dolphins and whales this time. Pool area has been updated really looking good. They have a spa on the premises as well as a hairdresser and gym facilities. All of a high standard.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Cynthia F

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us.

We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to live out our Tsogo Sun values which are Teamwork, Service, Opportunity, Growth and Ownership and we can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Should you require any further information, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Warm Regards

Ronel Schoeman
Deputy General Manager
Beacon Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

A place I just dreamt of coming to until we were blessed this weeks stay as a gift, what an awesome place, I knew we would not be disappointed because of all the reviews and photos, a bonus that people never mentioned is the entertainment all day long really enjoyable. Staff all so friendly, will definitely be back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank alisonsZ628QY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear alisonsZ628QY

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us.

We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Should you require any further information, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Warm Regards

Ronel Schoeman
Deputy General Manager
Beacon Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
0.8 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
575 reviews
1.9 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
784 reviews
9.6 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
561 reviews
5.6 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
83 reviews
26.8 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Island Resort

Address: Beacon Isle Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: R3 638 - R3 961 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Plettenberg Bay, one of the most visited of the picturesque Garden Route towns, the Beacon Island Timeshare Resort is a favourite amongst travellers to this region. Boasting spectacular ocean views, endless leisure activities a host of nearby attractions and beautiful bedrooms this is the perfect resort for you. Drive to Knysna to feed the elephants, shop till you drop or spend your days luxuriating alongside the pool just enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Beacon Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Island Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing