We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 151)
Filter reviews
1 151 results
Traveller rating
800
280
45
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
800
280
45
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indigo bay indoor pool time share entertainment team school holidays welcome home on the rocks great holiday family holiday wonderful week main restaurant out of season overlooking the sea central beach heaven on earth south africa spectacular views
Filter
Updating list...
1 027 - 1 032 of 1 151 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

From the breakfast to the dinner at this resort is fantastic. The staff all very helpful and keen to assist with any requests. So much to do in this area closely situated to all external adventures. Close to Knysna Heads

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank DeonHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have been here on numerous occasions and have never been disappointed. The family booked us in for Christmas lunch, 2nd sitting. I found the service excellent and the food was very well presented on large platters and certainly enough for everyone including one vegetarian.
The venue was full and everything moved smoothly and we were delighted with our choice.

Room Tip: Sorry, we did not stay over, but do believe that the rooms are lovely and each one has a view
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank nikkinoo2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The beacon island hotel in plettenberg bay is the best holiday my family and I have had since having kids!
The hotel is clean, newly renovated and extremely comfortable.
The staff are excellent and the whole hotel from the staff to the restaurant is very well run!
There is a heated indoor pool, and outdoor pool and the warm Indian Ocean literally on your door step!
No need to mission in your car or drive far or look for parkings everything you need is right Infront of you.
My kids ran around happily as it is very safe, and sometimes we hired a child minder from the hotel which was great!
I recommend this hotel for December and January as the weather is great and there are lots of kids and activities for them to do.
My entire family had a great time and we will certainly be back next December !

Room Tip: Any room with a sea view is great! The 5 th floor is quiet and peaceful, facing the pool and sea but not the lagoon or car park.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I have been to the Beacon Isle hotel a number of times in the last 10 or so years and it just keeps getting better! The hotel has recently been revamped and has all of the facilities which could be expected from the best. It has 3 stunning restaurants, a beautiful sea-lounge, sun-bathing lawn, gym, spa etc etc etc... The setting is also magnificent, built out into the ocean with 270 degree view of the ocean. Just one thing to be careful of, the resort operates on a timeshare basis and it is very tempting to buy into the scheme, but this limits you to having to go at the same time every year. Rather rent a room from someone who is not using theirs that particular year and it costs you approximately the same as the timeshare levy would've - the hotel can facilitate this for you. Also, Plettenberg Bay is very subject to holiday periods. If you enjoy busy beaches and loads of night life and restaurants, the go in December. It does however get uncomfortably busy. If you are looking for a really quite and relaxing holiday then try and visit the town out of season. Everything is much cheaper then too. All In all, a lovely place!

Room Tip: Try and get as close to the ocean as possible. It's also nicer higher up (5th or 6th floor)
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Heaven on earth! The best holiday location I've been to in Western Cape by far. My kids ages 4 and 10 years old had a blast. There were so many options hence no time for a dull moment. The beach is right there which made it so convenient. The rooms were spacious and luxurious (inter-leading rooms #612 and 613). It is situated on the corner of the hotel with these massive windows both sides of the walls. The views are spectacular!! The best was the long stretch of unspoilt beaches that seemed to go on forever. We ordered room service most times for breakfast (no buffet breakfast) and dinner. The food was lovely and I think it was not expensive either. What we missed was the buffet breakfast, but this was minor and once again the room service option served us well.

Room Tip: The location of the hotel should give you a beautiful view anywhere.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zureena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews