We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is where you want to take your family in Plett”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beacon Island Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at the Beacon Isle during January. What a treat to be welcomed by friendly and efficient staff, shown to an immaculate room overlooking the bay and Robberg Nature Reserve with cheeky Seagulls sneaking right up to the window in search of a tit bit to peck on. Two teenagers can be a handful on any holiday but my son and daughter were immediately absorbed in Entertainment Co-Ordinator Chris Ferreira's fun-filled programme and loved every minute playing pool, bingo, volley ball, swimming in the warm ocean and seaside pool, meeting new friends - to the extent that their cellphones were left uncharged in the room!!!!! Whilst all of this was happening, I was happily lazing in the sun, sipping fresh veg and fruit juices, reading to my hearts content and rejuvenating my energy levels. Meals were a delight on the terrace overlooking the ocean and at night a variety of restaurants were available in the hotel as well as within walking distance. We will definitely return for longer next time round in order to do a Pro Dive Diving Course as well as the host of activities suggested in the in-room entertainment programme. Well done on running a fabulous family orientated resort..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank DebbieFermor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 819 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

From the breakfast to the dinner at this resort is fantastic. The staff all very helpful and keen to assist with any requests. So much to do in this area closely situated to all external adventures. Close to Knysna Heads

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank DeonHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have been here on numerous occasions and have never been disappointed. The family booked us in for Christmas lunch, 2nd sitting. I found the service excellent and the food was very well presented on large platters and certainly enough for everyone including one vegetarian.
The venue was full and everything moved smoothly and we were delighted with our choice.

Room Tip: Sorry, we did not stay over, but do believe that the rooms are lovely and each one has a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank nikkinoo2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The beacon island hotel in plettenberg bay is the best holiday my family and I have had since having kids!
The hotel is clean, newly renovated and extremely comfortable.
The staff are excellent and the whole hotel from the staff to the restaurant is very well run!
There is a heated indoor pool, and outdoor pool and the warm Indian Ocean literally on your door step!
No need to mission in your car or drive far or look for parkings everything you need is right Infront of you.
My kids ran around happily as it is very safe, and sometimes we hired a child minder from the hotel which was great!
I recommend this hotel for December and January as the weather is great and there are lots of kids and activities for them to do.
My entire family had a great time and we will certainly be back next December !

Room Tip: Any room with a sea view is great! The 5 th floor is quiet and peaceful, facing the pool and sea but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I have been to the Beacon Isle hotel a number of times in the last 10 or so years and it just keeps getting better! The hotel has recently been revamped and has all of the facilities which could be expected from the best. It has 3 stunning restaurants, a beautiful sea-lounge, sun-bathing lawn, gym, spa etc etc etc... The setting is also magnificent, built out into the ocean with 270 degree view of the ocean. Just one thing to be careful of, the resort operates on a timeshare basis and it is very tempting to buy into the scheme, but this limits you to having to go at the same time every year. Rather rent a room from someone who is not using theirs that particular year and it costs you approximately the same as the timeshare levy would've - the hotel can facilitate this for you. Also, Plettenberg Bay is very subject to holiday periods. If you enjoy busy beaches and loads of night life and restaurants, the go in December. It does however get uncomfortably busy. If you are looking for a really quite and relaxing holiday then try and visit the town out of season. Everything is much cheaper then too. All In all, a lovely place!

Room Tip: Try and get as close to the ocean as possible. It's also nicer higher up (5th or 6th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.8 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
564 reviews
1.9 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
762 reviews
10.0 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
259 reviews
5.6 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
81 reviews
1.2 km away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Island Resort

Address: Beacon Isle Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: R4 178 - R4 606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Plettenberg Bay, one of the most visited of the picturesque Garden Route towns, the Beacon Island Timeshare Resort is a favourite amongst travellers to this region. Boasting spectacular ocean views, endless leisure activities a host of nearby attractions and beautiful bedrooms this is the perfect resort for you. Drive to Knysna to feed the elephants, shop till you drop or spend your days luxuriating alongside the pool just enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Beacon Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Island Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing