We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 6 220
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
R 8 052
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
R 5 570
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (887)
Filter reviews
887 results
Traveller rating
704
129
28
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
704
129
28
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden route beautiful hotel sea view infinity pool the general manager mini bar star hotel south africa our honeymoon world class wine list spectacular views main building breakfast and dinner beach house top class beautiful beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 887 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2023

We stayed for 3 wonderful nights and can not recommend the Plettenberg enough. The staff are exceptional without being overpowering, fabulous restaurant, pools, rooms, etc. Right beside a sandy beach. What more could you ask for.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Angus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2023 via mobile

Fabulous hotel, we spent 2 days of pure luxury. The rooms are stunning and so comfortable you never want to leave. The staff are exemplary as is the food, afternoon tea was exceptional at £12 per head. The attention to detail rivals any top hotel in the world, but it’s the staff that really make your stay so enjoyable, nothing is too much trouble they are a credit the the collection. We will be back next year for sure

Room tip: Make sure to have afternoon tea and definitely dinner in their restaurant. You can hire sunbeds and umbrellas on the beach
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Philippa500
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2023 via mobile

We arrived to a very warm welcome, and whilst I’d booked a sea view we were offered an alternative room downstairs in the main building that accommodated my disability better. It was a smaller room with no view of sorts but it meant we were I the main building for breakfast and not so many stairs for me. It was a much better option and I really appreciated them accommodating me. Comfort and ease overrules a view any day in my book.
The hotel is beautifully decorated in every area and very clean. The breakfasts were fantastic and set us up for the day. We ate twice in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed our meals along with great service. Everyone was so welcoming and pleasant.
I treated myself to a fantastic facial while I was there so in all it was a great relaxing experience.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mumpays
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2023 via mobile

My husband, son and I had the most wonderful 3 night stay at The Plettenberg. The service was wonderful and we were throughly spoiled- especially my son who turned 8 whilst we were there and who was given the most delicious birthday cake to celebrate. The food in the restaurant is superb and all the staff were fantastic. We were upgraded to a beautiful, sea view suite and we could see the whales clearly from our bedroom windows and doors. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 369sharond
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2023

Stunning location, excellent service, delicious food, extremely comfortable bed and wonderful spa treatments. For a real treat and a restful holiday, I highly recommend The Plettenberg. We had a wonderful time!

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sfranc551906
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews