We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (774)
Filter reviews
774 results
Traveller rating
605
121
27
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
605
121
27
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood restaurant liz mcgrath beautiful hotel garden route complimentary mini bar the main hotel sea view infinity pool the general manager three nights hotel restaurant world class superb location spectacular views cape town breakfast and dinner breakfast was excellent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 774 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2020

We had the pleasure of a High Tea at the Hotel. The food, the service & the location were superb. It was a classic experience in every sense of the word - finger sandwiches, scones, cakes & sweet treats. Service was attentive & professional. It was a great afternoon.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TonyW3395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2020 via mobile

If you are visiting Garden Route, South Africa this is the best place to be.

Lovely peaceful place with breathtaking sea views from arrival, swimming to dining . Seafood restaurant not only gives best views and a relaxed feel but it really is a taste of the bay

Amazingly welcoming and helpful stuff.

Loads of activities in the area and The Plettenberg is central  location to most activities too and their friendly consultants are great help with booking activities.

It's the small little things that counts and with them I loved all the complimentary services they offered us. Celebrating our son's birthday with you was the best!

I speak highly of The Plettenberg!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Beckymoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2020 via mobile

I can not speak more highly of this amazing hotel, her staff and the time spent at this "Jewel" of the Western Cape. MJ and team, you can pat yourselves on the back for the fantastic hospitality, friendliness and the "Welcome home" vibe you have going on. Delicious food, beautiful views and a hotel team that really cares! Beautiful comfortable rooms with everything you come to expect from a 5 star establishment. Hopefully this will be an annual stay with great friends.

Thanks very much.

North Party...

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ChunkeeCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ Birch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2020

Dear ChunkeeCharlie,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

It was such a pleasure having the group at the hotel and we are delighted that everyone had such a wonderful stay with us.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Kind regards,
MJ, Wiida and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2020 via mobile

Without a doubt one of the best hotels I have been to. Stunning decor, exquisite rooms. The staff are attentive and very friendly. They make a point of getting to know your name and remembering it throughout your visit. The restaurant is stunning and the food is fresh and stylish. We will definitely be going back.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank vanessaham101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ Birch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2020

Dear vanessaham101,

Thank you so much for the lovely review! We're so glad you had wonderful stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,
MJ, Wiida and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2020 via mobile

We were fortunate to be given a garden room which meant that we had our own private patio with a gate which led onto the lawns surrounding the swimming pool. It was glorious. The staff and management were outstanding, nothing was too much trouble for them. We will be returning to them in 2021.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ Birch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2020

Dear Marilyn B,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

It is lovely to see how much you enjoyed staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in 2021!

Kind regards,
MJ, Wiida and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews