We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional in every aspect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Plettenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2017

My husband and I had the absolute pleasure to return to The Plettenberg Hotel on Saturday, 23 September – 27 September 2017 to celebrate our Anniversary. We were warmly welcomed at reception and had complimentary coffee and cappuccino at the deck by the pool. We enjoyed a delightful light lunch before our check-in which was the perfect start to our blissful stay.

Wiida the manager personally took us to our suite and made us feel right at home. Our Premier Suite (nr 57) was located in the Annex building across the street from the main building and boasted magnificent sea views. Our suite was very spacious and luxuriously furnished and decorated. Our suite also boasted a balcony. The linen on the bed was also luxurious and the bed ensured a dreamy night's rest. We received a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine to celebrate our Anniversary.

I arrange beforehand with reception to have dinner on our first night in the wine cellar. Everything was carefully prepared for us complete with candles. Apart from the exquisite meal we had a very special, romantic and memorable evening (see my review on SeaFood restaurant). We had a romantic turn-down in our room with complimentary petit fours as another special treat.

Breakfast was a real feast with a wide spread cold buffet and a hot selection. The views from the Conservatory were spectacular.

We enjoyed the rest of our dinners in the comfort of our suite which was very romantic. We had cocktails and a light lunch at Sandbar. The Mojito cocktails are their signature cocktail and sipping on mine I did not wonder why – it was beyond excellent.

Not a day went by that we did not see Whales and dolphins from our suite or from the infinity pool downstairs where tables and chairs are provided to soak in the magnificent views.

The Collection Boutique in the main building is stocked with high quality clothing, jewelry, handbags and scarves to name a few. The shop assistant is a lovely lady with a great sense of humour whom assisted me with heartfelt kindness.

From the moment we entered the hotel we were treated like royalty by each and every staff member. We would like to make a special mention of Baloyi, Michael, Ace and Honest (Sandbar). We were greeted by surname at breakfast and throughout the day whenever they saw us. Their true and heartfelt hospitality made our stay extra special.

We would also like to thank Wiida and the General Manager MJ for taking special care of us throughout our stay. On the morning of our departure MJ met us to say our final goodbyes and even walked us to our rental car – a small gesture we truly appreciated.
The Plettenberg hotel is in our opinion a grand and luxurious old dame and provides the perfect environment to relax and unwind in pure luxury.

We are already planning our next trip to the Plettenberg hotel next year.

Room Tip: Suite 57 was very private and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zerwickrenatevictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear zerwickrenatevictor,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and detailed review.

Being able to read how much you and your husband enjoyed returning to The Plettenberg and how highly you rate your stay with us is an absolute pleasure. We always take care to share feedback received from guests with all staff members and sharing your review made them feel much appreciated.

Having lunch on our outside terrace is a most excellent way to commence your stay with us as this area boasts exceptional views which are often enhanced by the sight of wales and dolphins making their way along the coast. Ensuring our guests feel at home from the moment they step through our doors is a priority for every staff member and we’re happy so see that we succeeded so well.

We believe special occasions in life should be celebrated fully which is why we ensure that we provide the best environment for our guests to create lasting memories. Our cellar lends itself naturally to a romantic setting, perfect for any celebratory occasion. Add to this the exquisite cuisine and the delicious cocktails available on order and you have the perfect setting for a luxurious romantic getaway.

Our Collection Boutique is stocked with select items aimed at creating a wonderful browsing experience. Our boutique manager not only entertain all visitors with her great sense of humour but also uses her encompassing knowledge of Plettenberg and the surrounds to assist guests in planning the perfect excursions.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards,
MJ, Wiida and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

We booked in here because it is in the same chain as the Marine in Hermanus which is our favourite. The position and quality of this hotel was just as good as the Marine and the rooms were just as wonderful. We were looked after extremely well and nothing was too much trouble.
Definitly on our list for when we come back again,

thank you to all the staff!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the hotels annex across the road have access to the most wonderful viewing room with plunge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mick1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Mick1966

Thank you for the wonderful review. Once you have a favorite it is always difficult to try something new and we are pleased that you ventured up the Garden Route and enjoyed your time with us so much.
We are very fortunate to have a collection of such unique and beautiful properties – you will have to try The Cellars Hohenort in Constantia next… Our locations, décor and unique feeling to our hotels together with (and most importantly) our staff and service are the corner stones of our hospitality ethos and what our hotels are all about.

We are honored to be added to your list of favorites and look forward to your return.

Kind regards

MJ, Wiida and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The main selling point of this hotel is the setting, which is absolutely stunning. We had a double aspect "Premier Suite" in the annexe (Room 65), which although quite a bit smaller than it appeared on the website, had fabulous views and allowed you to see whales in the bay direct from the balcony. It's worth noting, however, that the balcony is very small and has no room for seating, which is a shame given such a perfect setting. The bathroom was clean but looked a bit dated, and toiletries weren't replaced daily.

We also found the lounges and the cocktail bar really relaxing, but thought the dining room was rather too casual and informal for a 5* hotel. The food at breakfast and dinner was fine and service friendly. We had exceptionally good treatments in the spa, and the prices were very reasonable.

The constant presence of security guards patrolling the entrances to both buildings was both reassuring but also a little disconcerting and left us feeling on high alert. The beach to the left of the hotel is beautiful and seemingly safe, but we were told quite definitely by Cathy (shop manager / tour adviser) that we mustn't under any circumstances turn right and attempt to walk to the other beach due to the presence of vagrants lurking in the shrubbery. We did feel uncomfortable one evening when a character seemed to be hanging round near the entrance to the annexe, but the security guard kindly took care of the situation, for which we were grateful.

We didn't venture into the town as the concensus seemed to be that there really wasn't a lot there. We did get a taxi to Robberg Peninsula and had a wonderful afternoon there.

Our main disappointment with this hotel, was what felt like a seemingly underhand way of charging for what was advertised as inclusive items. We hadn't realised that by booking through Expedia we had inadvertently selected a room only option, so we take full responsibility for that. But having studied the website and room descriptions in great detail before our trip, and having read endless tripadvisor reviews, we were amazed to find that only some guests are entitled to the complimentary mini bar and inclusive breakfast, despite the website clearly and unambiguously advertising these as included in each room. Please make sure you check first as it can come as a nasty surprise at check out! It would also have been courtesy to provide a price list for the mini bar, as the absence of one reinforces the suggestion that this is a complimentary amenity. It's a bit naughty to charge when they advertise it as complimentary, but to not let you know what they're going to charge you, or how the bill's been calculated is really not on.

The advice to "take it up with Expedia" felt a bit cheeky given that it's the hotel itself who are advertising complimentary amenities as part of the room booking, but then failing to honour them. We couldn't understand why they would suggest it was Expedia's fault?

We really wanted to love this hotel. We've now stayed at 10 hotels around Cape Town and the Winelands over the last few years, but this was the only one where we felt we could have chosen better. Our check out left us with a bit of a bad aftertaste and we've never encountered anything like that at anywhere else we've stayed. Such as shame.

Room Tip: Room 65 had stunning views and a separate seating area, but the bathroom was a little dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mb1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear mb1605

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. I know that you have been in direct communication with our CEO and that you have resolved the issues with her privately.
I am glad that she was able to address this with you and come up with a solution that you are happy with.

Kind regards,

MJ, Wiida and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Always our favourite place to lunch!
The view is magnificent!
And the food beyond delicious!
I had the Hake fish with crispy sweet patato chips and a salad
And hubby had it as it comes, fish with mushy peas and chips.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank annieplett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear annieplett,

Thank you for the lovely review written.

The view remains magnificent, no matter how many times one has seen it. The food is equally amazing as our chefs are very aware that they need to match the quality of the food to the quality of the view. That said, very little can beat our freshly prepared hake with sweet potato chips, except perhaps the fish with mushy peas...

We look forward to welcoming you back to your favorite lunch spot.

Kind regards,
MJ, Wiida and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We spent 2 nights at The Plettenberg Hotel and were immediately treated to 5 star service and friendliness by everyone. Our beautifully decorated sea facing room in soft tones of blues and beiges was very relaxing and the spectacular views out over the rim-flow pool and out to sea was breathtaking.
We were greeted with a bottle of champagne on arrival and various touches throughout our stay made our whole experience very special.
My breakfast selection of the salmon hollandaise on the first morning was possibly one of the best I've ever had and my husbands full English breakfast was also good. Sadly on the 2nd morning I decided to have the same again but they had run out of salmon and I selected to have crispy bacon instead which didn't come crispy and was disappointing. However the homemade muesli, the selection of fruit and freshly pressed juices as well as the freshly baked croissants more than made up for it.
At dinner I selected the Mossel Bay sole with seasonal vegetables which was excellent and my husband had the grass-fed beef fillet with triple cooked chips with parmesan which he also thoroughly enjoyed.
We both had back and neck massages in the adjoining wellness spa which were very relaxing.
The décor of the hotel is comfortable and elegant. Everyone made us feel at home and nothing was too much trouble. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Anne G,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. Our team truly enjoys reading about how our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and finding out what they appreciated most while staying here.

Our beautifully decorated rooms, spectacular views from the terrace and the lovely food prepared by our chefs ensures a relaxing holiday for all. Then there is the added benefit of having a highly regarded spa on site to assist with any pampering needed - as you can attest! All this of course while being surrounded by some of the friendliest staff you could wish to meet.

We're sad to hear that your second breakfast experience were not quite as amazing as the first, and we'll make sure to be fully stocked on salmon on your next visit to us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Plettenberg.

Kind regards,
MJ, Wiida and The Team



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
9.4 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
267 reviews
2.6 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
784 reviews
9.8 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
842 reviews
0.8 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
963 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plettenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plettenberg Hotel

Address: Garden Route 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: R3 312 - R10 909 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plettenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plettenberg - situated on a rocky headland in Africa's most spectacular coastal resort - is the ultimate escape. The 37 luxury rooms and suites, showcase the most breathtaking vistas in Southern Africa. With views of the ocean, mountains and endless stretches of golden beach, The Plettenberg is situated in the heart of the adventure-rich Garden Route, world-renowned for its excellent selection of outdoor activities. From regular dolphin and whale sightings to bungee jumping, treetop canopy tours and other more daring pursuits in the surrounding countryside. The Plettenberg is the ideal place to both relax and unwind - or recharge and reinvigorate - through a series of sensational endeavours. At The Plettenberg the charming service, exceptional cuisine, which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, and the setting combine to create the ultimate story, one of a South African seaside property unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plettenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing