We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Plettenberg Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Plett Beachfront Accommodation(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cornerway House(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo for Backpackers(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Watch Guest House(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Milkwood Manor on Sea(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plett River Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$68
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Tamodi Lodge(The Crags)
US$206
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tsala Treetop Lodge(Harkerville)
US$573
US$530
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$600/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (636)
Filter reviews
636 results
Traveller rating
498
94
25
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
498
94
25
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood restaurantliz mcgrathbeautiful hotelgarden routecomplimentary mini baroverlooking the baythe main hotelsister hotelthe general managera sea view roominfinity poolthree nightslookout beachhotel restaurantstunning viewssouth africaour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 636 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We spent 2 nights at The Plettenberg Hotel and were immediately treated to 5 star service and friendliness by everyone. Our beautifully decorated sea facing room in soft tones of blues and beiges was very relaxing and the spectacular views out over the rim-flow pool and out to sea was breathtaking.
We were greeted with a bottle of champagne on arrival and various touches throughout our stay made our whole experience very special.
My breakfast selection of the salmon hollandaise on the first morning was possibly one of the best I've ever had and my husbands full English breakfast was also good. Sadly on the 2nd morning I decided to have the same again but they had run out of salmon and I selected to have crispy bacon instead which didn't come crispy and was disappointing. However the homemade muesli, the selection of fruit and freshly pressed juices as well as the freshly baked croissants more than made up for it.
At dinner I selected the Mossel Bay sole with seasonal vegetables which was excellent and my husband had the grass-fed beef fillet with triple cooked chips with parmesan which he also thoroughly enjoyed.
We both had back and neck massages in the adjoining wellness spa which were very relaxing.
The décor of the hotel is comfortable and elegant. Everyone made us feel at home and nothing was too much trouble. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms are a must.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Anne G,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. Our team truly enjoys reading about how our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and finding out what they appreciated most while staying here.

Our beautifully decorated rooms, spectacular views from the terrace and the lovely food prepared by our chefs ensures a relaxing holiday for all. Then there is the added benefit of having a highly regarded spa on site to assist with any pampering needed - as you can attest! All this of course while being surrounded by some of the friendliest staff you could wish to meet.

We're sad to hear that your second breakfast experience were not quite as amazing as the first, and we'll make sure to be fully stocked on salmon on your next visit to us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Plettenberg.

Kind regards,
MJ, Wiida and The Team



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

We did a stop on our South Africa tour here in the Plettenberg Hotel.
The Service was perfect also in the restaurant. There we had a wonderful dinner with delicious meals and good choice of wine!
The place on the shore is beautiful.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank fw63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear fw63,

Thank you for a lovely review.

We're glad to hear that we made such a good impression during your tour of South Africa. Our team at The Plettenberg always gives their all to provide the best service possible to guests, whether they are cooking up a storm behind the scenes in the kitchen or out on the floor making sure everything goes well.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to The Plettenberg on your next visit to South Africa.

Kind regards,
MJ, Wiida and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I spent two days staying at this superb property.
The view was breathtaking.
Food and service were first class. Looking forward to our next opportunity to stay.
Both properties were decorated beautifully.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ellielilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Ellielilly,

Thank you for the wonderful review.

It is delightful to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us at The Plettenberg. Our properties are decorated to ensure guests are provided with the utmost comfort during their sojourn with us. The breathtaking view from the hotel is something that we never lose appreciation for but strive to enhance by offering excellent cuisine and personalised service by our wonderful team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our lovely hotel.

Kind regards,
MJ, Wiida and The Team



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We stayed for two nights - beautiful position, good food and even better service. Small enough to be personal but we had such a great stay, relaxing and felt very spoilt. My only small criticism is that the rooms may be dated, and perhaps need a facelift with more modern furniture, and paintings - bathrooms very ordinary too. But the common spaces are lovely, gorgeous deck and pool.

My husband had a dental operation, and the chef and restaurant staff were fantastic in catering for him - pureed food, variety and served in our room. He made a very speedy recovery as a result. Thank you to everyone who took such good care of us - we will be back.

Room Tip: sea facing definitely
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kaiser08_KZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear kaiser08_KZN,

It was a pleasure having you and your husband stay with us.

The combination of the hotel's breathtaking location, quality of the cuisine, attention to detail and most of all our staff make our hotel the perfect environment for your husband to recuperate and I am so pleased that we were able to assist in a speedy recovery.

Thank you for taking the time to point out some areas where we could pay more attention to - we especially value feedback as this gives us guidelines in how best to ensure guest satisfaction going forward.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Plettenberg in future, hopefully at a time where your husband can enjoy the facilities more fully!

Kind regards,
MJ, Wiida and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel occupies one of the nicest spots in Plettenberg overlooking the beach with spectacular views in the morning at breakfast. There is also an excellent bar called the Lookout only a short distance from the hotel. Unfortunately the pathway to the beach, which is not the property of the hotel, is not safe to walk through to the extent that the hotel has been forced to employ security at its own expense to ensure hotel guests can walk safely during daylight hours.

The hotel itself is 5 star in every sense with luxurious rooms, fantastic food and wonderful friendly staff with whom we really enjoyed speaking with, particularly at breakfast. The cocktails from the bar were also of very high quality. There are a number of wildlife sanctuaries, golf courses and wineries in the area all of which are a short drive from the hotel. The lady in the hotel gift shop is a fountain of knowledge in terms of recommending activities in the locality and very pleasant to deal with. Overall we were very pleased with the hotel

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear David H,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. I am pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We are committed to making each guests' experience as memorable and personal as can be - something which is only possible with the assistance of our wonderful team here at The Plettenberg. The fabulous view from our hotel is an added bonus and is truly spectacular.

The lady in the hotel gift shop is indeed highly knowledgeable with regards to activities in Plettenberg and the surrounds. Cathy knows most everyone and everything and is always happy to assist in whichever way she can.

We take our guests' comfort and safety very seriously, thus the security guards on hand should a guest wish an escort to the beach. We strive to anticipate all guests' needs and to provide the best level of care possible.

It was lovely having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Plettenberg in future.

Kind regards,
MJ, Wiida and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews