We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Plettenberg Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Tsala Treetop Lodge(Harkerville)
US$632
US$586
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$62
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plett River Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$74
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beacon Island Resort(Plettenberg Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kurland Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Africa Rooms(Plettenberg Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge On The Bay(Plettenberg Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (628)
Filter reviews
628 results
Traveller rating
492
93
24
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
492
93
24
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood restaurantliz mcgrathcomplimentary mini barbeautiful hotelgarden routeoverlooking the baythe main hotelsister hotelthe general managera sea view roominfinity poolthree nightshotel restaurantlookout beachstunning viewsour honeymoongreat position
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 628 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Warm welcome at this well positioned hotel over looking the bay. Lovely room, all the usual facilities with a free mini bar! Breakfast was very good but they do charge extra for coffee but not tea (a bit unusual) We had dinner twice in the restaurant and afternoon tea, all were excellent. You can walk down to the beach with no bother and we also walked up to the main street completely fine. Good base for exploring Plett. The lady in the hotel shop is very helpful and has extensive local knowledge on car hire/restaurants/tourist sites etc.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank KHA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 May 2017

Dear KHA1

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our hotel's location is prime. Situated on the cliffs of Look-Out-Rocks and watching over two breathtaking beaches. As you mentioned, it is a short stroll into town if you fancy exploring our beautiful coastal town. The mini bar is a great addition. All normal filter coffee and tea is included in breakfast, however specialty coffees like an cappuccino or an espresso is an extra. It should have been explained to you. Apologies if that is not the case. I will share your lovely feedback with Cathy, the lady who assisted you in the boutique.

I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to The Plettenberg.

Kind regards
MJ, Rosslee and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

The Plettenberg is a beautiful hotel in a great location. We stayed for 2 nights while exploring the Garden Route. Our room was in the annex, not the main hotel. The room was surprisingly small in comparison with all of the other hotels we stayed in. There is no lift. We are able-bodied travellers but I work with elderly and people with medical conditions. I was annoyed that a newish building was not set up for anyone with a disability. The staff had to carry heavy bags upstairs.
We ate dinner in the hotel one night. It was fine but had no atmosphere. We chose another place (Emily Moon River Lodge) for the second meal and loved it. Breakfasts were very good and we sat outside looking at the bay.
On the whole, we found Plettenberg Bay unappealing. Houses have been bought to rent or to resell rather than to live in and it shows. (Knysna, further along the Garden route had a completely different feel to it and was charming.) We walked the beach, explored the area and found a wonderful pub in neighbouring Kerboomstrand for a Sunday lunch with live music. However, It was the only part of our trip that was disappointing

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DMSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Dear DMSG

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.

I am very sorry to hear that most of your experience in Plettenberg Bay and at the hotel did not live up to your expectation. The sizes of the rooms depends on what you have reserved. Our more spacious rooms are our Suites. Thank you for your feedback about the lift. It is something that we will consider. We want this hotel to be accessible to all guests.

Your feedback is important to us. I will discuss each comment with regards to your stay with my Head of Departments.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any queries with regards to this matter.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 x night stay at this marvellous hotel. Hotel room was a good size with a separate lounge area and a great view of the Indian Ocean.
Breakfast is served outside on the Poolside , with the most wonderful view of Plettenberg beach & first class service. The Egg Benedict is well worth trying.
The lounge areas are beautifully decorated and very comfortable , perfect for a pre or post dinner drink.

Room Tip: Well worth requesting a sea view , as some rooms face the main road.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mowbrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear mowbrab

Thank you for your glowing review.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay. Our breakfast offering is good and the fact that you have the best view in Plett, just adds to it. The views are amazing. Thank you for your kind words about the quality of the food and the service your received.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

The location and view are to die for but the best part is the caring management who goes out of their way to chat with all of the guests, ask them about their plans for the day and make suggestions and recommendations, and then to follow up and ask how everything was.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear Terry M

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us. We will always endeavor to deliver the best service consistently.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

From the time that we arrived at The Plettenberg, it was evident that our stay was going to be exceptional. The security staff in the street were first to welcome us: Lucky had a list of all the expected guests!

We arrived early and our suite was not ready [understandably] to check-in and our luggage was gladly kept in storage. When we did arrive everything was ready and our suite was everything that we had expected.

The suite is super luxury and the view our the sea is spectacular! We spotted around thirty dolphins in the bay.
Suite 51 is the suite to request because it is on the ground level with easy access to the rim pool and the conservatory.

The service is outstanding: every member of The Plettenberg makes you very welcome...everyone greets and they know what they're about - to make their guests stay, as pleasant as possible.

The amenities are great and we were treated to a bottle of bubbly that we enjoyed whilst watching the dolphins.

Definitely the place to stay at in Plettenberg!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, Front Office Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear Eugene K

Thank you for writing such a glowing review for us.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It means the world to me to receive such feedback about the service and about the staff. They do their jobs with such passion and dedication. Lucky is a superstar. He made a good impression on you and I am pleased to read that we followed through with us during your entire stay.

Our views are simply the best in Plett. Our location is great too, because you can walk to town. Plettenberg Bay itself is a lovely coastal town. It has so much to offer.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to us.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews