We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A view to take your breath away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Plettenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2017

A stunning setting overlooking the bay. The restaurant was fantastic and probably the best during 2 weeks of travelling around South Africa. Extremely helpful staff.

Strongly recommend staying or just popping in for a meal.

Room Tip: We preferred the main building rather than the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HuwJones2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Dear HuwJones2013

Thank you for writing a review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our location is prime. We certainly have the best views in Plettenberg Bay. It offers two of the most unspoiled beaches to either side of the hotel. It is also lovely to read that you enjoyed the food. I will share your feedback with our Executive Chef and her team.

My team is my biggest asset. They are what makes this hotel even more special. I am very proud of them.

Thank you for staying at The Plettenberg and I hope we have the privilege of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2017

We stayed for two nights. A lovely hotel in a very good location overlooking the ocean. Very good facilities, furnished in a classic style, extremely comfortable, the mini bar was inclusive with the room rate, worthy of its 5 stars. We would happily return to this hotel.
The town is also interesting with lots of shops etc. We were recommended to The Fat Fish restaurant in Plettenberg near the beach area and that was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank terenzio22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Dear Terenzio22

Thank you for your lovely review.

I am pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us. We have the best location in Plettenberg Bay. Our views are amazing. We consider ourselves indeed very fortunate to be surrounded by such beauty everyday. What a creation. Many thanks for the compliments about our facilities and our service. It is very important to us that all of our guest has a unique experience whilst here.

Over the years Plettenberg Bay has developed into this magnificent town. It has so much to offer. Great shopping, many tourist attractions and other fantastic restaurants. The Fat Fish has a great reputation in Plett. I am glad to read that you had the opportunity to experience it.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

It's a great place . Fantastic setting above the sea with one of the best views across the bay and lagoon to the Tsitskama forests and mountains.
Great and friendly service . Beautiful rooms.
Easy access to the wonderful lookout beach below as well as the wedge. Center of the town a short walk or ride away.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank M7900DJjeffg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear M7900DJjeffg

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to write a review.

The hotel's location is unique. Our location offers the best views in Plettenberg Bay. Thank you for your lovely words about the team and our rooms. My team is my biggest asset. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

At this hotel we met the Best service ever met!
The mini bar at the room was complimentari, drinks, chocolates everything
Even at the checking out they gave us 2 home made cookies and cold water bottles "to the way"...
There is a coffee machine whith capsules in the room.

We had never seen such a polite and helping stuff in any other hotel
If you are in Plettenberg area, don't think about other hotel!
This one is your best choice!

Room Tip: Every room is the best in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oferta10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Dear Oferta10

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks for your kind words about the staff, our service and our hotel. First impressions are lasting impressions and I am sure that you have fond memories of your time here.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights on our Garden route trip. The location was great, the room was nice with a sea view. Breakfast was good, we only ate in the hotel one evening and it was very good. The complimentary mini bar was a nice touch although some rum would have been nice! Our room was in the annex which we feel was a bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear Anne H

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. The Garden Route is an unspoiled destination in South Africa. Our location is unique. Situated at the top of the Look-Out-Rocks and surrounded by two beautiful beaches.

The mini bar is a lovely addition. We will consider it. Note taken. All guest feedback is important to us.

I really hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back with us.

Kind regards
MJ and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
2.6 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
765 reviews
9.8 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
554 reviews
9.4 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
941 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
376 reviews
26.7 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plettenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plettenberg Hotel

Address: Garden Route 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: R3 348 - R10 877 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plettenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plettenberg - situated on a rocky headland in Africa's most spectacular coastal resort - is the ultimate escape. The 37 luxury rooms and suites, showcase the most breathtaking vistas in Southern Africa. With views of the ocean, mountains and endless stretches of golden beach, The Plettenberg is situated in the heart of the adventure-rich Garden Route, world-renowned for its excellent selection of outdoor activities. From regular dolphin and whale sightings to bungee jumping, treetop canopy tours and other more daring pursuits in the surrounding countryside. The Plettenberg is the ideal place to both relax and unwind - or recharge and reinvigorate - through a series of sensational endeavours. At The Plettenberg the charming service, exceptional cuisine, which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, and the setting combine to create the ultimate story, one of a South African seaside property unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plettenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing