We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Plettenberg Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sky Villa Boutique Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tsala Treetop Lodge(Harkerville)
US$636
US$591
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kurland Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$369
US$343
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge On The Bay(Plettenberg Bay)
US$283
US$275
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$71
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plett River Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Keurbooms River Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (628)
Filter reviews
628 results
Traveller rating
492
93
24
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
492
93
24
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood restaurantliz mcgrathcomplimentary mini barbeautiful hotelgarden routeoverlooking the baythe main hotelsister hotelthe general managera sea view roominfinity poolthree nightshotel restaurantlookout beachstunning viewsour honeymoongreat position
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 628 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We stayed for two nights. A lovely hotel in a very good location overlooking the ocean. Very good facilities, furnished in a classic style, extremely comfortable, the mini bar was inclusive with the room rate, worthy of its 5 stars. We would happily return to this hotel.
The town is also interesting with lots of shops etc. We were recommended to The Fat Fish restaurant in Plettenberg near the beach area and that was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank terenzio22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Dear Terenzio22

Thank you for your lovely review.

I am pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us. We have the best location in Plettenberg Bay. Our views are amazing. We consider ourselves indeed very fortunate to be surrounded by such beauty everyday. What a creation. Many thanks for the compliments about our facilities and our service. It is very important to us that all of our guest has a unique experience whilst here.

Over the years Plettenberg Bay has developed into this magnificent town. It has so much to offer. Great shopping, many tourist attractions and other fantastic restaurants. The Fat Fish has a great reputation in Plett. I am glad to read that you had the opportunity to experience it.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

It's a great place . Fantastic setting above the sea with one of the best views across the bay and lagoon to the Tsitskama forests and mountains.
Great and friendly service . Beautiful rooms.
Easy access to the wonderful lookout beach below as well as the wedge. Center of the town a short walk or ride away.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank M7900DJjeffg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear M7900DJjeffg

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to write a review.

The hotel's location is unique. Our location offers the best views in Plettenberg Bay. Thank you for your lovely words about the team and our rooms. My team is my biggest asset. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

At this hotel we met the Best service ever met!
The mini bar at the room was complimentari, drinks, chocolates everything
Even at the checking out they gave us 2 home made cookies and cold water bottles "to the way"...
There is a coffee machine whith capsules in the room.

We had never seen such a polite and helping stuff in any other hotel
If you are in Plettenberg area, don't think about other hotel!
This one is your best choice!

Room Tip: Every room is the best in this hotel
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oferta10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Dear Oferta10

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks for your kind words about the staff, our service and our hotel. First impressions are lasting impressions and I am sure that you have fond memories of your time here.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights on our Garden route trip. The location was great, the room was nice with a sea view. Breakfast was good, we only ate in the hotel one evening and it was very good. The complimentary mini bar was a nice touch although some rum would have been nice! Our room was in the annex which we feel was a bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear Anne H

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. The Garden Route is an unspoiled destination in South Africa. Our location is unique. Situated at the top of the Look-Out-Rocks and surrounded by two beautiful beaches.

The mini bar is a lovely addition. We will consider it. Note taken. All guest feedback is important to us.

I really hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back with us.

Kind regards
MJ and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

This hotel should be the number one choice for anyone who is looking for first class accommodation, perfect service and brilliant location to enjoy the Garden Route.
Three nights at this wonderful hotel was not enough.
We originally booked two rooms but were upgraded to a fabulous spacious villa with stunning views and a private pool. Every detail was done to perfection, including a very generous mini-bar.
The four of us had a great restaurant experience, with very friendly yet professional service, and the food and wine was equally as good.
The concierge was particularly helpful and knowledgeable, recommending Robberg Reserve, which was one of the highlights of our two week holiday in South Africa.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Regina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear Regina N

Thank you very much for writing such a glowing review.

It is lovely to read such positive feedback. Feedback such as yours keeps us motivated and it reassure us that we are keeping to our promise to make sure that every guest at The Plettenberg has an unforgettable experience. I am delighted to read that my team managed to do that for you.

The Garden Route is still a hidden treasure but it surely becoming more and more popular. It is such a beautiful part of the country. Our little gem has the best spot in Plettenberg Bay. Situated on the rocks, alongside two pristine beaches and a very short walk or drive into town. The Villas has breathtaking views. I will share your feedback with my teams respectively.

I hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to us in the future. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews