We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent kitchen; Great views”

SeaFood at The Plettenberg
Ranked #10 of 105 Restaurants in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$32
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: SeaFood at The Plettenberg combines an array of elements to create an unsurpassed dining experience. The sand, beach and sea have been brought into the restaurant in the colours, mood and design. Unrivalled views of the breath-taking Formosa Bay are complimented by the decor, and together they create the perfect platform for the SeaFood cuisine. Here the chefs create modern South African fare that is seasonally influenced. The menu - designed by The Collection's award-winning Executive Chef Peter Tempelhoff and his team - places great emphasis on fresh produce from local green-friendly suppliers and this gives SeaFood at The Plettenberg the unique ability to showcase a true taste of the bay.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a splendid Sunday lunch in their very special setting. Privileged to have such an establishment in Plettenberg Bay for those special occasions.

Thank WLEMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear WLEMR,

Thank you for the wonderful review. I am so very pleased to read that you enjoy your Sunday with us.

I really appreciate the comment you made as the whole team really works extremely hard to deliver on the highest possible standards and together with our position and views of our beautiful bay makes the whole experience unique and memorable.

We look forward to having you back on the Terrace soon.

Kind regards,

MJ, Wiida and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2018

Whenever we are in Plett we like to go to the Plettenberg Hotel for their great cocktails and to admire the view as we drink them. On this occasion, we were enticed by their special deal: fish & chips plus glas of wine for two, for R250. The fish (hake) was certainly fresh, but slightly over-cooked and with soft batter. The chips were also a bit soft. Disappointing. Great service, but they should stick to what they do best.

Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear David M,

Thank you for the time you too to write your review.
We are truly fortunate to have this location as our views are spectacular and with-out doubt the best place in Plett for sipping cocktails...

I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your fish and chips as this is one of our specialties and something we are know for. I will follow up with the team in the kitchen and make sure that we are consistently back at our high standards.

We hope to have you back with us soon.

Kind regards,

MJ, Wiida and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

we had a very quick meal after a long day out and about ... the hotel and the restaurant is very well furnished, professionally staffed. The food quality was really good . Off season the restaurant may be quiet for some people - but overall the experience was very good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DORDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear DORPDubai,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to SeaFood at The Plettenberg.

We're very happy to see how much you enjoyed your meal with us and we hope to see you back with us again in future.

Kind regards,
MJ, Wiida and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Very nice fish and vegetable with, literally, the most heavenly view of the waves beneath you. Beautiful sunset dinners down below.

Thank YajnaGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Dear Yajna Gold,

Thank you for the lovely review written.

We're very happy to have shared our amazing view with you!

We'll make sure to convey your compliments to the chef and his team.

Please join us again soon for more beautiful sunset experiences.

Kind regards,
MJ, Wiida and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Seafood at The Plettenberg. Mussels tasty, nothing wow. Had prawns and line fish. Both mains were fried to death and overcooked. Prawns were floury and very small and Cape Salmon fried to tasteless. An expensive and disappointing night, I have no idea why the reviews say the seafood is great. Enricos, FatFish, Zinzis... all put The Plett to shame.

1  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Julie W,

Thank you for the review. As hard it was for me to read this it is important to know when we do not meet the standards we set for ourselves.

I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations and from what I have read we did not deliver on the standard of food that we pride ourselves on.

I can assure you that I have address this with our team in the kitchen and our goal is to be as good if not better than the restaurants you listed in your review. I know the kitchen team was devastated as they never like to hear feedback like this.

I would love to have the opportunity to make this up to you so please, if you find yourself in Plett again, let me know as I would like to show you that we are truly capable of.

Kind regards,

MJ, Wiida and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SeaFood at The Plettenberg also viewed

Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to SeaFood at The Plettenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing