We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left feeling dissapointed”

SeaFood at The Plettenberg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$32
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: SeaFood at The Plettenberg combines an array of elements to create an unsurpassed dining experience. The sand, beach and sea have been brought into the restaurant in the colours, mood and design. Unrivalled views of the breath-taking Formosa Bay are complimented by the decor, and together they create the perfect platform for the SeaFood cuisine. Here the chefs create modern South African fare that is seasonally influenced. The menu - designed by The Collection's award-winning Executive Chef Peter Tempelhoff and his team - places great emphasis on fresh produce from local green-friendly suppliers and this gives SeaFood at The Plettenberg the unique ability to showcase a true taste of the bay.
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Ate here last night.
The menu and extensive wine list were very enticing and I struggled with making a choice from the descriptive options available.

The mussels starter we shared was amazing. As for mains, the accompanying vegetables and sauces were great but both my steak and my wife’s line fish were overdone.

In addition its sad that SA beef is being showcased to SeaFood’s international clientele through such an underwhelming cut of sirloin.

In hindsight we should’ve complained about this at the time, but there manager who served our food never came around to check and we finished the small portions rather quickly.

I was the most excited about the selection of desserts on offer but after feeling cheated out of a main meal experience we preferred to rather not risk further disappointment and called it a night.

Thank PRdT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Dear PRdT,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are very sorry to see that you were disappointed in your dining experience with us.
Our kitchen team puts their heart and soul into cooking and they will be devastated to receive this feedback from you, which we will make sure to share to them.

We specifically selected sirloin on our menu as our choice of cut as this is a preference amongst our international clientele, as well as well-loved by local visitors due to the quality of the meat.

We do apologize for not preparing the fish and the steak correctly. This is definitely not the standard that we strive to uphold and we can only apologize sincerely for disappointing you in this regard.

Please do visit us again in future so that we may have the opportunity to rectify your impression of us.

Kind regards,
MJ, Wiida and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

It was a wonderful meal with friendly service. It has a beautiful view and we enjoyed the sight of a very large pod of dolphins. Stunning pool as well.

Thank Kobus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

Dear Kobus V,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We love hearing how much guests enjoyed their experience with us. The dolphins are on a monthly retainer and we make sure they put in an appearance at least once a day - specially for our guests!

We'll make sure to convey your compliments to the service staff as well as the kitchen team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Kind regards,
MJ, Wiida and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

We only ate breakfast there and went out for lunch and dinner.
My husband had eggs benedict and said it was the best he had ever had.

Thank Joyce417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear Joyce417,

Thank you for the lovely review.

Our chefs will be very happy to hear how highly your husband rated their Eggs Benedict!

Please make sure to come back in future to try some of the other equally wonderful dishes on offer.

Kind regards,
MJ, Wiida and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Whilst we have mixed feelings about whether the food at dinner is the best in town, there's no doubt about the cocktails, and we always make a point of going at least once when we are in Plett - which is at least 3 times a year.

Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear David M,
Thank you for the lovely feedback.
I'll make sure to let the bar staff know how much their hard work and creativity are appreciated by our guests.
Please do join us again for cocktails soon and maybe try some of our daily specials in the restaurant - we might just convince you to award us best dining place in town as well!
Kind regards,
MJ, Wiida and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

We dined in-house throughout our stay, as it was not advised to walk out at night. Initially we wondered if this made us rather a captive audience. However, the menu choices were good and the food beautifully presented. Prices were not unreasonable for the quality of the establishment either.

Thank trainer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear trainer49,
Thank you for the lovely review.
Our chef and his team will be over the moon to hear how much you enjoyed the food while staying with us.
They enjoy nothing more than hearing back from our guests, especially when the comments are as encouraging and positive as yours!
We look forward to welcoming you back to SeaFood at The Plettenberg.
Kind regards,
MJ, Wiida and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SeaFood at The Plettenberg also viewed

Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
 

Been to SeaFood at The Plettenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing