We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bonnie B
Miami, United States

Our stay May 4-6, 2024

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 weeks ago
A very charming hotel, breakfast and dinner very good, staff very attentive, location in front of the beach, but rooms very far from one another, lots of walking sometimes inconvenient when it rains which it did. I had to go up and down about 17 steps each time with a torn right knee meniscus - only inconvenience.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: If you get a room in the main building, it is smaller but less walk. If you don't mind walking...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lion Roars, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Bonita,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, including our breakfast and dinner offerings. It's wonderful to know that our staff made your stay enjoyable.

We understand that the layout of our rooms, with their distance from one another, might have been inconvenient for you, especially considering your knee injury. We apologise for any discomfort this caused, particularly during rainy weather. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we will certainly take it into consideration as we strive to improve our guests' experience.

We hope that despite this inconvenience, you could still enjoy your time with us and take in the beautiful beachfront location. If there's anything else we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Warm regards,
The team at Rooberg Beach Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 6 370
R 3 850
  • Hotels.com
    R 6 370
  • Trip.com
    R 4 843
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 850
2.3 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 262
  • Priceline
    R 5 262
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 843
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 738
2.5 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 400
  • Priceline
    R 2 400
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 103
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 208
2.2 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 800
  • Priceline
    R 3 300
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 754
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 800
4.0 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome to Plett Beachfront Accommodation!
R 1 801
R 1 188
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 320
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 800
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 800
1.9 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 190
  • Priceline
    R 1 190
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 190
  • Vio.com
    R 1 190
2.9 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 504
  • Priceline
    R 2 504
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 388
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 522
19.3 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 2 898
  • Priceline
    R 2 898
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 627
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 898
2.4 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
R 2 772
  • Priceline
    R 2 772
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 772
  • eDreams
    R 2 772
15.6 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 4 100
  • Priceline
    R 4 796
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 065
12.6 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Reviews (1 353)
Filter reviews
1 353 results
Traveller rating
778
341
142
66
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
778
341
142
66
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews robberg beach sea view opposite the beach luxury room garden route beautiful room beautiful location breakfast was delicious secure parking our honeymoon rooms are spacious perfect stay lovely place attention to detail south africa lodge plett
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1 353 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2024

Just recently stayed here with friends that we met from Australia, i booked this holiday and as part of it we stayed at this hotel for two nights . I felt that this hotel let me down and it was very embarrassing to be honest. Firstly the staff were great and the breakfast was pretty decent. It was classed as a 5 star hotel and even had a plaque on the reception wall stating so! Far from it , this place needed a makeover especially the rooms they were dated, old and not that clean. The pictures of the hotel on the website are very misleading. Tiny little pool , pretend bar of which when i asked for a Bacardi and coke they did not have one. We had a light lunch after a walk and it was a poor menu and poor meals when served. Overhaul i would rate it 2 stars at the best.
Overhaul a huge disappointment to our two week adventure.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lion Roars, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

Hi there,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We're sincerely sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and that we fell short of providing the level of service and comfort you deserve.

While we're pleased to hear that you found the staff to be great and enjoyed the breakfast, we understand your disappointment with the overall condition of the hotel and the rooms. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us as we strive to improve and exceed guest expectations. We want to assure you that we take your comments seriously, and we will be looking into ways to address the issues you've raised. We take cleanliness very seriously, and we have addressed these issues with our housekeeping teams. We have implemented additional checks to ensure that all rooms are thoroughly cleaned and 100% ready for guests upon arrival.

We sincerely hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to better serve you in the future. Your satisfaction is our top priority, and we would love the chance to make things right and provide you with the exceptional experience you deserve.

Warm regards,
The Management Team at Robberg Beach Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2024

Stayed in a garden room by the pool. Unfortunately the bathrooms were a bit tired and the doors and windows did not block out any sound. Hence we were woken every morning when the staff arrived and started tending to the gardens. We had problem with ants in our room. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast was good. The hotel is right by a lovely beach

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sheljojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lion Roars, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings and the prime location of our hotel.

We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused by the noise levels and the issues with ants in your room. We want to assure you that we have addressed the noise concerns with our staff to minimise disturbances for our guests.

We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to continually improve our services. We hope that despite these challenges, you were able to enjoy your time with us and make the most of our beautiful surroundings.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with an even better experience.

Warm regards,
The team at The Robberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2024 via mobile

THE ROBBERG BEACH HOTEL.

We arrived to find the rooms we had booked (Ocean Front Suites) were not available and we were allocated two suites with no views. These rooms were OK but needed some love and care and certainly weren’t what we expected. This wasn’t the best start to our stay at the hotel. We decided to stay as the excellent Duty Manager Mr. Speedy promised to sort the room situation for the following day.

We were moved the following morning to one Seaview suite and one Seaview Room. It was like being in a completely different hotel. In fairness the hotel compensated us for the mix up and we were happy to stay.

The property was on the seafront overlooking the bay.

Breakfasts were excellent and could be taken on the deck overlooking the bay.

We had an excellent dinner during our stay and would recommend the restaurant within the hotel.

Staff were friendly and did what they could to enhance your stay.

The pool areas were excellent.

The hotel is a short drive to the town of Plettenberg with its many shops and restaurants.

We would recommend this hotel based on our overall experience but would recommend sea facing rooms,

Room tip: Upgrade to a sea facing room.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Einon_E_Mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lion Roars, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

Hi there,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We're glad that despite the initial mix-up with your room allocation, we were able to swiftly resolve the situation for you with the assistance of Speedy.

We're delighted to hear that once settled into the seaview rooms, your experience improved significantly. Your recommendation of our hotel based on your overall experience means a lot to us.

We hope you had the chance to enjoy our excellent breakfasts overlooking the bay and perhaps even catch a glimpse of dolphins during your stay.

We're grateful for your understanding and patience, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon for another pleasant stay.

Warm regards,
The team at The Robberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2024

I expected a lot more from this hotel. I felt accommodation was basic to be honest and would not recommend if someone had any type of mobility issue as there is a huge amount of steps. The accommodation we stayed in was grubby, floors were dirty and bathroom was very old and needed to be updated. We had trouble with ants in our room. Terrace area was badly in need of a power wash. Location is right across from the beach which is beautiful. Food was nice but not anything great. The area is beautiful and worth going to.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisamR8990QM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lion Roars, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Dear Lisa,
We appreciate your feedback and apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We understand your concerns and want to ensure you we take all feedback seriously and are constantly working to improve our facilities and services. We will address the issues you mentioned with our team to ensure a better experience for future guests. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the beautiful beach and surrounding area. Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back in the future for an improved stay.
Kind Regards,
The team at Robberg Beach Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2024

Quiet boutique hotel with luxury, very friendly staff, absolute amazing food! Been here as a couple but also solo. Felt very safe! Love to return bu due to availability not often enough. Inside rooms with Seaview always fully booked. The breakfast on the deck with Seaview is breathtaking. Dinner is exquisite. Staff always helpful.

Room tip: Famil outside rooms..solo inside.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lion Roars, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2024

Hi there,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us!

We're thrilled to hear that you found our lodge so safe and luxurious. It's fantastic that you enjoyed our friendly staff, food, and breathtaking views from the deck during breakfast. We understand your desire to return, and we'll do our best to accommodate you whenever possible.

Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another special stay in the future!

Kind Regards,
The team at Robberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews