We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 1 633
R 1 326
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Lisa M
County Cork, Ireland

Needs to be upgraded

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Apr 2024
I expected a lot more from this hotel. I felt accommodation was basic to be honest and would not recommend if someone had any type of mobility issue as there is a huge amount of steps. The accommodation we stayed in was grubby, floors were dirty and bathroom was very old and needed to be updated. We had trouble with ants in our room. Terrace area was badly in need of a power wash. Location is right across from the beach which is beautiful. Food was nice but not anything great. The area is beautiful and worth going to.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lion Roars, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Lisa,
We appreciate your feedback and apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We understand your concerns and want to ensure you we take all feedback seriously and are constantly working to improve our facilities and services. We will address the issues you mentioned with our team to ensure a better experience for future guests. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the beautiful beach and surrounding area. Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back in the future for an improved stay.
Kind Regards,
The team at Robberg Beach Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
R 3 850
  • Hotels.com
    R 6 370
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 693
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 377
2.3 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 400
  • Tripadvisor
    R 2 400
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 400
2.2 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 800
  • Priceline
    R 3 300
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 486
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 802
4.0 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 071
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 071
2.9 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome to Plett Beachfront Accommodation!
Booking.com
R 1 080
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 987
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 201
1.9 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 898
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 504
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 703
2.4 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Booking.com
R 2 772
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    R 2 772
  • Vio.com
15.6 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 800
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    R 800
  • Agoda.com
    R 800
14.9 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 13 388
  • Hotels.com
    R 10 714
  • Expedia.com
    R 10 739
  • Tripadvisor
    R 10 739
9.5 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 504
  • Booking.com
    R 805
2.9 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Reviews (1 353)
Filter reviews
1 353 results
Traveller rating
778
341
142
66
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
778
341
142
66
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews robberg beach sea view opposite the beach luxury room garden route beautiful room beautiful location breakfast was delicious secure parking our honeymoon rooms are spacious perfect stay lovely place attention to detail south africa lodge plett
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1 353 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2024

Quiet boutique hotel with luxury, very friendly staff, absolute amazing food! Been here as a couple but also solo. Felt very safe! Love to return bu due to availability not often enough. Inside rooms with Seaview always fully booked. The breakfast on the deck with Seaview is breathtaking. Dinner is exquisite. Staff always helpful.

Room tip: Famil outside rooms..solo inside.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lion Roars, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2024

Hi there,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us!

We're thrilled to hear that you found our lodge so safe and luxurious. It's fantastic that you enjoyed our friendly staff, food, and breathtaking views from the deck during breakfast. We understand your desire to return, and we'll do our best to accommodate you whenever possible.

Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another special stay in the future!

Kind Regards,
The team at Robberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2024

A wonderful property, however I wouldn't recommend for elderly or people with mobility issues due to the on-site steps between car parking and different parts of the hotel including public areas. The access to the fabulous beach is walkable from the hotel but it is steep and the car park small.
The lodge itself could do with some maintenance, the room doors are low quality and light laminate floors have the appearance of being dirty (they aren't, I know this because I battle with the same at my own home).

Staff are great a special mention to Hazel on reception and Peter (general) for their help

My only negative has to be that menu - not that we couldn't put up with it for two nights, just that our trip included stays in two other Lion Roars properties which unfortunately had the same limited menu which really got boring after nine nights total.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lion Roars, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2024

Hi there.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property and found our staff, particularly Hazel and Peter, to be helpful. We appreciate your constructive criticism regarding the accessibility of the property for individuals with mobility issues and the need for maintenance in certain areas.

Regarding the menu, we apologise for any inconvenience caused by its limited variety. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we will take it into consideration as we strive to enhance our dining offerings for our guests. We understand the importance of providing a diverse and enjoyable culinary experience, and we will work to improve in this area.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay in the future. If you have any further concerns or feedback, please don't hesitate to reach out to us directly.

Kind Regards,
The team at Robberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2024

Everything here was excellent. The rooms are massive. The bathroom was enormous. We ate here for both nights we stayed and the food was first class. The staff are really welcoming and friendly. The hotel didn't suffer during Load Shedding as they have a generator. I would definitely recommend staying here as it is also right on the beach and the walk is lovely.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richiewoodhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lion Roars, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2024

Dear Richie,

Thank you for your kind words. Your review serves as a testament to the hard work we put in and reinforces our commitment to providing the best possible experience for our guests. We truly appreciate your recognition of our wonderful team, our location, and the meals you enjoyed with us. It means the world to us.

Additionally, we're thrilled to share that we've begun the installation of solar panels! This marks an exciting step toward sustainability for us.

We genuinely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back one day.

Take care,
The Team at Robberg Beach Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2024

Very enjoyable stay for two nights. We had a basement room which was clean but obviously well used. The stair carpet was in need of attention but everything else in the hotel was very good. The breakfast was enjoyable and made even better by sitting at a table in front of the hotel looking along the beach and at the sea. The front desk staff were all very helpful and we had a great time in Plettenberg Bay.

Room tip: Get a sea view room
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 530KevinC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lion Roars, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Dear Kevin,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are delighted to hear that your experience with us was so special. It was truly a pleasure hosting you for the two nights, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed everything we had to offer, especially the mesmerising view from the deck.

Your appreciation means a lot to us, and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
The Team at Robberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2024

A wonderful location and excellent accommodation. Excellent service and very good breakfast. 2 small pools with sun deck areas. Accommodation is split between a couple of buildings and car parking is very secure … in a Malibu like area.

Do not expect luxury accommodation throughout … our room was good, but whilst we were told it would have a sea view it was sited a god way below the tree line so no ocean was seen. Furthermore the 1.5 x 2.0 m wall place for the TV was graced by a screen which was smaller than my office PC! … so bring binoculars or shuffle the smog forward 2.0m like we did.

If you want to enjoy the ocean view - which is stunning … make sure you spec that when booking - I think our booking agent missed a trick here …. It must come at an extra cost.

Room tip: Don’t expect an ocean view unless you pay accordingly, and the Wi-Fi is stupidly fragile
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Woodsome18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lion Roars, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2024

Hi there,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're delighted that you enjoyed your time here, and it means a lot to us to hear that most of your stay was special. We truly appreciate you highlighting our location, delicious breakfast, and our friendly team.

We've taken note of your additional feedback, and we'll be addressing your comments and concerns with our operations team.

If you decide to visit us again, we'll ensure that we coordinate with your agent to book the correct room for you.

Until we meet again, we wish you safe and enjoyable travels.

Kind regards,
The team at Robberg Beach Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews