We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 1 633
Priceline
R 1 603
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
R 1 228
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
186338travel
London, United Kingdom
A fantastic location and service.
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Oct 2023via mobile
A fantastic location close to the beach access path and a terrific place to watch the sea life go by. The bed was comfy but as our room was under the main area we were woken by each morning around 5.30am by the noise of the staff above. The food choice was limited but very tasty and well presented. The hospitality was faultless. Checkin and out was seamless and efficient. WiFi connection was excellent.
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: Avoid a downstairs room in the main building.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
R 6 370
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 362
  • Agoda.com
    R 4 065
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 865
2.3 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 5 872
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 407
  • Hotels.com
    R 7 695
2.6 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 4 050
  • Priceline
    R 4 050
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 080
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 734
9.1 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 700
  • Priceline
    R 2 700
  • Vio.com
    R 2 495
  • Hotels.com
2.2 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double en suite
Booking.com
R 805
  • Priceline
    R 805
  • Agoda.com
    R 680
  • Expedia.com
    R 784
2.9 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 12 829
  • Expedia.com
    R 13 388
  • Agoda.com
    R 11 314
  • Hotels.com
    R 13 388
9.5 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 200
R 994
  • Priceline
    R 1 080
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 198
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 200
2.0 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 200
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 200
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 200
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 200
19.8 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 331
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
    R 1 878
  • Hotels.com
2.6 km from The Robberg Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Reviews (1 349)
Filter reviews
1 349 results
Traveller rating
778
339
141
65
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
778
339
141
65
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews robberg beach sea view opposite the beach luxury room garden route beautiful room beautiful location breakfast was delicious secure parking our honeymoon rooms are spacious perfect stay lovely place attention to detail south africa lodge plett
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 1 349 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2023

Unfortunately this was not the place for us. Yes, we were unlucky with the weather and I suspect/hope the room allocated to us but as a hotel that markets itself as 5-star should be able to cope with this. Our room felt cold and slightly damp, like it hadn't been used for a while and when we turned the air con on to warm it up lots of black specs of dirt fell onto the bed. There was no ventilation in the bathroom so we were constantly battling condensation but as it was cold so we were unable to have the windows open.

Breakfast was good with plenty of choice but the one evening meal we had was a little under-whelming when compared to the quality, and cost, that we had experienced in other hotels and restaurants both prior to arriving here and after leaving.

There is no doubt that this hotel is in a prime location and we were lucky to see whales and dolphins whilst eating one morning but there was just something missing. We had been so lucky prior to staying here especially in both Wilderness and Swellendam that our expectations were solid (but definitely not unrealistic nor picky).

Maybe we were just unlucky - that being said the staff did make some excellent restaurant recommendations in the local town and provided a local taxi service to get us there (at our cost - but not excessive).

I would hesitate to recommend - other than for location.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MrsFletch2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lion Roars, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2023

Dear Mrs. Fletch,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are genuinely sorry to learn that we didn't meet your expectations in some aspects during your stay.

Your honest feedback is invaluable to us, as it helps us to identify areas for improvement. Our primary goal is to ensure that each guest's stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, and it saddens us that we fell short of this mark during your visit.

We genuinely hope that you would consider staying with us again in the future. We can assure you that your next stay will be nothing short of perfect.

Warm regards,
The Team at The Robberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2023

This was probably one of the best hotels during our stay. The room and the bathroom were spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful. Lovely view at breakfast out on the terrace. Choice was very good. Also had dinner and lunch. Had to wait quite a long time for the food at lunchtime even though the restaurant was empty. They have a lot of trainees serving so you do need to be a little patient when ordering. Our first evening meal we asked for prawns with our pasta but didn't get them. All in all we had a lovely stay here and I would recommend. You can walk to the beach just 5 mins across the road.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mudeford123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 October 2023

Such a lovely place, the breakfast was so delicious and the rooms were superb! Only complaint was that the staff were a bit loud during meals. The beds are super comfy and the rooms are spacious. The parking is quite far from the rooms as Gate A was under construction. We will definitely be returning

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shanjessfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lion Roars, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2023

Hi there,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time during your stay, and we're absolutely delighted to know that you plan to return.
Wishing you safe and joyful travels, and we can't wait to welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards.
The Team at The Robberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2023

We had a nice stay art the Robberg . We stayed in Robberg house and the room was very nice. Spacious with a sitting area and little patio. The staff were all very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. We ate at the restaurant one night and the food and service was good. Breakfast was very good and set you up for the day ahead. Thanks for an enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank snappersue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lion Roars, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2023

Hi there,

We wanted to express our heartfelt gratitude for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us. Hosting you was an absolute delight, and we couldn't be happier to hear that you had a fantastic 5-star experience. Your kind words mean the world to us, and we're eagerly looking forward to your return visit.

Warmest regards,
The team at The Robberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2023

Unclean rooms and not very helpful staff at the reception. We were given the wrong rooms and not the rooms we paid for. The bathroom and tub was not clean.Breakfast is good. Staff at the reception are rude.

Room tip: Go somewhere else.There are plenty of hotels on the road. This is too expensive and not worth it.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank roma3277
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lion Roars, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2023

Hello,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It's disheartening to learn that your experience fell short of your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay.

Rest assured, we will thoroughly investigate all the concerns you've raised, and we're committed to making the necessary improvements to ensure your next visit with us is far more enjoyable.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We value your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to make your next stay a more positive one.

Warm regards,
The Team at The Robberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews