We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of the bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Robberg Beach Lodge
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

This complex of rooms is really well located with a fabulous view of Plattenberg Bay and the Robberg peninsula. A lovely welcome.

Our original room (2) is downstairs with no room and next to the cleaning and rooms and kitchen. Therefore it is noisy and has no view. The room itself is perfectly okay albeit not large. I would recommend not using rooms 1 or 2.

For a small upgrade we changed to another room which was twice the size and had a great view of the hills behind. It was also quiet!

Lovely staff and breakfast sets you up for the day.

15 minutes in a taxi to restaurants in Plettenburg and only 10-15 mins to the Robberg nature reserve.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Robberg Beach Lodge. We appreciate your feedback on what you have enjoyed most about your time with us, as well as where you feel we are able to improve in future. It warms our hearts to hear that our wonderful staff and service have been a highlight as you look back on your stay, and we appreciate your positive feedback on the breakfast served during your stay too. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our lodge again in future. Best wishes, The Bailey Family & The Robberg Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017

We were disappointed with the accommodation provided we were with our friends and our rooms were in separate buildings. The meals was very nice with a reasonable choice but the service very variable and there was rarely anyone to serve drinks from the bar.
We were surprised it had a five star rating.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RandJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We were staying in family room at Cottage pie. We chose this room only because of the kitchen facilities and were highly disappointed with what we got. The kitchen’s seen better days, even the kitchen utilities. We were without cooking facilities (no proper knives, table clothes, ...). In the living room we had a sleeper couch that also seen better days. You barely slept on it as it was like sleeping in a hole... Frankly we expected much more for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 352mihal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Robberg Beach Lodge. We appreciate your feedback on where you feel we need to improve to ensure our guests enjoy more of their holiday and that our guests do not leave dissatisfied in future. Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We hope you have traveled home safely and that you will consider visiting us again in future. Best wishes, The Bailey Family & The Robberg Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Just a polite piece of information...... there are 4 blocks at this site......

Most of the rooms do not have a sea view, and luxury rooms for sure are not with a respectable view.......

The scenery around the guest house is one dimensional.... look to the sea and wow...... but it's fully surrounded by other properties to 3 sides.

No picture in the website reflect the views we had....

If it's cheap it's worth a chance I guess, it's not what we were expecting.

We won't be visiting this or any other hotels in this group for sure !

Good luck all



Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Nice hotel in a good location right on the beach front, Good selection of food for breakfast and the staff were very helpful in suggesting taxis and nearby restaurants. only negative comment I would have on the place Is the room we stayed was compact but it was fine as we were only using it as a base

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MartinaD95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at The Robberg Beach Lodge. We are pleased to hear that the location of the lodge has been a highlight for you and that our staff were helpful too. Thank you for your positive feedback on the breakfast served during your stay too. We hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again one day. Best wishes, The Bailey Family & The Robberg Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.6 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
575 reviews
9.1 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
267 reviews
2.7 km away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
559 reviews
7.5 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
83 reviews
1.9 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robberg Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: R1 540 - R6 301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing