We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner for two”
Review of Nguni

Nguni
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nguni Restaurant Nostalgic with an African flair, Nguni is located in one of Plett's oldest buildings - an original dairy dating back over a hundred years. Nguni's African menu is a reflection of traditional selections like Bobotie, game, biltong, springbok, Karoo lamb, ostrich and other local favourites. With its beautiful sunny veranda or eclectic African interior with its original wood-burning stove, the Nguni Girls provide customers with a unique setting and superb menu. A true taste of the Cape!
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner for two”
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Food was very good! However on the pricey side...

Service was good until a bigger table were seated next to us, and we were treated as an afterthought by the waitress.

Waited 20min for a dessert menu... Then after ordering we waited another 30min for the waiter to return just to "confirm" our orders as she forgot what we ordered.

Apple crumble to be avoided. As it is incredibly hard and the fork provided can't pierce the pastry.

The bill had items on it which was never ordered.

Nguni has great potential! But poor service from waiters are costing them.
Overall not a good night at Nguni.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Daniël R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    166
    41
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner for two ”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Very welcoming staff. Our waitress recommend the lamb curry special which was delicious. Perfect setting for a romantic dinner.
However the menu has a very small verity and somewhat pricy.
Food is great quality and this quaint restutant gives off an African feel.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Monique V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unusual !!”
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

I love to go to restaurants that are a little quirky and this sums up this place !! Different style of menu and unusual interior design , all good . Food was lovely , the only thing that stopped me giving it 5 stars was the fact that when we ordered 2 gin and tonics , they arrived without the gin !! And then we pointed this out , on the next round it happened again !! And then all the missing ones appeared on our bill as well !! But apart from that all good .

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Six stars”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Two times we visit this restaurant for dinner
A very polite address of welcome
Food excellent and the service super
We are coming again
Juergen and Bettina

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Juergen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Jumie!! Great food - loved it”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Very nice restaurant. Super friendly staff.
Sat outside on the patio.
Starters were phenominal: the mezze and the springrolls, with a splendid African touch.
As mains, the tuna and the chicken curry were very nice.
Dessert, the brownies... you know you want to!
Great value for money.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Sofie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nguni also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
 
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Nguni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing