We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Six stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nguni

Nguni
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nguni Restaurant Nostalgic with an African flair, Nguni is located in one of Plett's oldest buildings - an original dairy dating back over a hundred years. Nguni's African menu is a reflection of traditional selections like Bobotie, game, biltong, springbok, Karoo lamb, ostrich and other local favourites. With its beautiful sunny veranda or eclectic African interior with its original wood-burning stove, the Nguni Girls provide customers with a unique setting and superb menu. A true taste of the Cape!
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Six stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Two times we visit this restaurant for dinner
A very polite address of welcome
Food excellent and the service super
We are coming again
Juergen and Bettina

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Juergen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    165
    41
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Jumie!! Great food - loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice restaurant. Super friendly staff.
Sat outside on the patio.
Starters were phenominal: the mezze and the springrolls, with a splendid African touch.
As mains, the tuna and the chicken curry were very nice.
Dessert, the brownies... you know you want to!
Great value for money.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Sofie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Recommended by our b and b. So beautiful. We sat on terrace. Excellent food and service. Lovely atmosphere. Food was beautifully presented. Highly recommend this lovely restaurant.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent game and steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Kay and I ate here twice during our short stay in Plett. The Ostrich was good, the springbok excellent (though a little better done than ordered) but the filet steak was stunning, melt in the mouth bliss. The atmosphere was perfect, smart casual rather than fine dining, but done with flair and with excellent customer service.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Munchyguts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very delicious! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had a steak, salmon and a chicken dish with rice. Everything was great! The best was the beetroot salad!! But the other starters, as well as the desserts, were so delicious! I wish we had more time in the area to be able to go there again!
I can totally recommend this very nice restaurant to everyone!!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Katharina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nguni also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
 
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Nguni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing