We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent game and steaks”
Review of Nguni

Nguni
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Nguni Restaurant Nostalgic with an African flair, Nguni is located in one of Plett's oldest buildings - an original dairy dating back over a hundred years. Nguni's African menu is a reflection of traditional selections like Bobotie, game, biltong, springbok, Karoo lamb, ostrich and other local favourites. With its beautiful sunny veranda or eclectic African interior with its original wood-burning stove, the Nguni Girls provide customers with a unique setting and superb menu. A true taste of the Cape!
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent game and steaks”
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Kay and I ate here twice during our short stay in Plett. The Ostrich was good, the springbok excellent (though a little better done than ordered) but the filet steak was stunning, melt in the mouth bliss. The atmosphere was perfect, smart casual rather than fine dining, but done with flair and with excellent customer service.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Munchyguts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    167
    41
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Düsseldorf
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very delicious! ”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

We had a steak, salmon and a chicken dish with rice. Everything was great! The best was the beetroot salad!! But the other starters, as well as the desserts, were so delicious! I wish we had more time in the area to be able to go there again!
I can totally recommend this very nice restaurant to everyone!!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Katharina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Came here on recommendation of hotel we were staying with (The Plattenberg hotel). Food was delicious. I ordered tuna my husband steak. Excellent. Wine was lovely to. Service very quick and friendly. Definitely recommend

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank sfarkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent dining! Much better than expected. ”
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Very good cuisine, quality food and quality cooking. A MUST for restaurant lovers when staying in Plettenberg....

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Aurélie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed....again !!!”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

We visit Plett in March every year and have been regular patrons of this establishment. Last year we were most dissatisfied with our steak meal and made this clear to management who did not seem particularly concerned. We decided never to return however this year we felt that we would give this place another chance. Big mistake !!! After three attempts they could still not grill a medium steak and the manager intimated that this was somehow our fault. Well this time it's final. We will NEVER return !!!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nguni also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Nguni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing