We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nguni

Nguni
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nguni Restaurant Nostalgic with an African flair, Nguni is located in one of Plett's oldest buildings - an original dairy dating back over a hundred years. Nguni's African menu is a reflection of traditional selections like Bobotie, game, biltong, springbok, Karoo lamb, ostrich and other local favourites. With its beautiful sunny veranda or eclectic African interior with its original wood-burning stove, the Nguni Girls provide customers with a unique setting and superb menu. A true taste of the Cape!
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Came here on recommendation of hotel we were staying with (The Plattenberg hotel). Food was delicious. I ordered tuna my husband steak. Excellent. Wine was lovely to. Service very quick and friendly. Definitely recommend

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank sfarkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    165
    41
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent dining! Much better than expected. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Very good cuisine, quality food and quality cooking. A MUST for restaurant lovers when staying in Plettenberg....

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Aurélie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed....again !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

We visit Plett in March every year and have been regular patrons of this establishment. Last year we were most dissatisfied with our steak meal and made this clear to management who did not seem particularly concerned. We decided never to return however this year we felt that we would give this place another chance. Big mistake !!! After three attempts they could still not grill a medium steak and the manager intimated that this was somehow our fault. Well this time it's final. We will NEVER return !!!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2017

served quickly and very well - food very good - great atmosphere and a pleasant environment. The menu is varied an the standards high and the location easy to find and parking plenttiful . A very nice evening

  • Visited April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing food and outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2017

Highly recommended restaurant. Make sure you book in advance. You must order the babotie samoosas. An interesting combination of flavours. The tuna carpaccio is great too. Make sure you order line fish.

  • Visited January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhobru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nguni also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
 
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Nguni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing