We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
roux2015
Kimberley, South Africa

You will be surprised and satisfied

Review of The Old Rectory
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 03 Jun 2022via mobile
We had very pleasant stay starting with Sam welcoming us. The service and staff are friendly. On point and articulate.
Johnny, our “breakfast manager” is the best I’ve experienced.
What a pleasure to come to a place like this.
The room is 5 star
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this review
Responded 07 Jun 2022
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Roux.

Thank you for your lovely review. It was such a pleasure hosting and getting to know you. Thank you also for commending our staff and in particular Johnny. We love what we do, and are passionate about sharing this wonderful property with our guests and visitors. We hope that you've settled into your new home and that you will pop in soon for a lunch or dinner.

Until then, we send our fondest regards.

The Old Rectory Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 803
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.0 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 709
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 709
0.5 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
R 1 328
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.3 km from The Old Rectory
Free parking
Pool
R 2 075
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.6 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 199
R 989
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 989
12.9 km from The Old Rectory
Free parking
Pool
Double en suite
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 762
  • Priceline
1.5 km from The Old Rectory
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 431
  • Hotels.com
3.6 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome to Plett Beachfront Accommodation!
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 803
  • Priceline
0.4 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 2 882
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 080
9.4 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
    R 13 410
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 11 797
  • Hotels.com
9.8 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
188
20
4
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
188
20
4
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews relaxed hotel fabulous boutique hotel milkwood trees modern twist highly recommend this hotel hobie beach pool area exceptional staff minute walk central beach large shower garden route wonderful stay attention to detail fresh milk location was perfect long weekend
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2022

This is THE PLACE to stay when in Plettenberg Bay. Your place to stay.

Welcome to your home away from home ♥️

The Old Rectory deserves top marks in every single aspect:

1. Super friendly, helpful & attentive staff, with Jess being a mega Star.

Since I requested, Jess gave us a mini quick-history of The Old Rectory which is displayed in black & white historic photographs in the main corridor of the hotel.

Jess told me a story about the original stone wall which is located at the main reception and which dates back to 1777.
- 10 / 10 ✅

2. One of the TMs is a beautiful sculpture by Marieke Prinsloo-Rowe (at the main pool area), called ‘Looking into your Sky’ which is surrounded by centuries-old milkwood trees.
- 10 / 10 ✅

3. Boutique & sleek stylish accommodation (only 18 rooms) with relaxed, light & bright, yet understated design throughout the entire property.
- 10 / 10 ✅

4. Peaceful and relaxing combined with above, who doesn’t want to come back?
- 10 / 10 ✅

5. Although dating back to 1777, The Old Rectory Hotel & Spa has been beautifully and lovingly restored 4 years ago, although it appeared it was restored 6 months ago. Wow …
- 10 / 10 ✅

6. Literally 2 min walk away from the main beach.
- 10 / 10 ✅

7. Superb restaurant with delish cuisine.
- 10 / 10 ✅

8. A Sanctuary Spa with decadent treatments.
- 10 / 10 ✅

9. A surprise poem, which is left every night on each guest's pillow with yum chocolate.
- 10 / of 10 ✅

10. Best cappuccino in Plett, ever ☕️.
- 10 / 10 ✅

As they say:

Dynamite comes in small packages and The Old Rectory definitely fits into that category.

If you are looking to step back in time, with all the modern & luxury amenities, look no further.

You will want to come back again and again and again and …You got the message.

Extraordinary in every aspect ♥️

Room tip: All rooms are excellent choice
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B5033KNromank
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2022

Dear Roman,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a beautiful review. Please see below from Jessica.


Dear Roman,

Your extraordinary review has left me speechless. All I can say is thank you.

Thank you for taking the time to explore and appreciate our property as much as we do. It is always incredibly rewarding when our guests can see and feel the warmth of the hospitality we strive to deliver. We are all passionate about what we do, as I’m sure you could tell.

Thank you for being so appreciative of the history, the décor, the service, the small details that generally go unnoticed and all the quirky stories in-between. Thank you for giving this magical property the validation it deserves.

It was an absolute joy to get to know you and share our hotel with you.

I sincerely hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Jessica Manning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2022 via mobile

Been to Plett four times and stayed at a variety of houses. This beats them all hands down.

Great location. Friendly and accommodating staff. Terrific restaurant and room service. Rooms were immaculate.

We’ll be staying here next time we’re in Plett!

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank TAHENDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2022

Dear TAHENDO, thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback, it truly means the world to us, especially coming from someone who has travelled so extensively throughout Plettenberg Bay. We are delighted to hear that your dining experience with us was terrific and that you find our rooms immaculate. We take a huge amount of pride in our hotel and the quality of service we deliver, it is always heart-warming when it is appreciated. Thank you again. Wishing you all the best and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2022

We stayed at the Old Rectory for the second time and will be back for a third! It is total luxury yet laid back and the staff are absolutely amazing especially with the kids. Breakfast was top notch every morning and we ended up extending our stay for an additional week, it felt like home away from home.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DanLR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2022

Dear Family Le Roux, we are so incredibly happy to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one. It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you back. Thank you for showing your appreciation for our staff and taking the time to share your wonderful review. Our top priority is making our guests feel at home and it is deeply rewarding to know we succeeded. We loved having you and your beautiful family stay with us and we would be honoured to welcome you back for a third time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2022

I loved the Old Rectory. It was so lovely and peaceful, it really made for a relaxing break from Cape Town. The location was perfect, just across from the beach, and the breakfasts were delicious. The room was quite spacious and the bathtub and large shower were also very much appreciated. It was lovely taking a nice hot bath and listening to the birds chirping away in the trees.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank kwolfe301129
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2022

Dear kwolfe301129, thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us. We are thrilled to hear that your stay with us was peaceful and relaxing as we are sure it was a well-deserved break from the big city. There’s nothing like having a nice hot bath and being able to enjoy the sounds of nature, it’s a special kind of therapy. Sending warm wishes and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2022

After spending a week in the area house-hunting we were pleased to check into The Old Rectory for a long weekend spoil. What a treat it was, the history of the building makes this building special however the staff and service made our stay spectacular.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank gpakes923663
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2022

Dear Gary and Glenda, thank you for the wonderful praise and validation. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you, sharing the history and architecture with you, and parting as friends. We look forward to many more visits once you have settled into your new home on the Garden Route. Best Regards. The Old Rectory Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews