We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 3 850
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
R 6 391
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
R 6 370
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Mcija
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Great hotel in Plett

Review of The Old Rectory
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Mar 2022
A great little hotel with excellent service, very well positioned in Plettenberg Bay. Comfortable rooms, good food in the restaurant and consistently excellent, friendly service from all the staff. Highly recommended.
Date of stay: March 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this review
Responded 23 Mar 2022
Dear mcija1. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Please know that we have shared this with The Old Rectory Family who send their regards and thanks. We look forward to your next visit and sharing some more great weather and good food. The Old Rectory Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
R 2 400
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 807
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 167
2.0 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 400
  • Tripadvisor
    R 2 408
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 400
0.1 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 726
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 417
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 500
6.6 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 071
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 071
  • Vio.com
0.7 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome to Plett Beachfront Accommodation!
Booking.com
R 1 080
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 932
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 204
0.4 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 898
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 754
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 745
  • Priceline
0.5 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Booking.com
R 1 633
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 442
  • Priceline
2.3 km from The Old Rectory
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 4 100
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 100
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 100
10.5 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 12 173
  • Expedia.com
    R 13 431
  • Agoda.com
    R 10 123
  • Hotels.com
    R 13 388
9.8 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 775
  • Agoda.com
    R 676
  • Priceline
1.5 km from The Old Rectory
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
186
20
4
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
186
20
4
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews relaxed hotel fabulous boutique hotel milkwood trees modern twist highly recommend this hotel hobie beach pool area exceptional staff minute walk central beach large shower garden route wonderful stay attention to detail fresh milk location was perfect long weekend
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2022

In every way we we happy with the personal , professional service and attention and the high quality of all facilities , positive attitude and willingness to please and make our stay memorable. Our only regret was that it was a short overnight stay and very early departure so not enough time to enjoy it all as much as we would like to have

Date of stay: March 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mb0rland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2022

Dear mb0rland, even though your stay with us was a short one, we are happy to hear that it was enjoyable nonetheless. We firmly believe that no matter how beautiful the property, it is essentially the guest service that makes the stay a memorable one and of course, that is what we strive towards. We hope you find your way back to Plettenberg Bay in the future so that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back with open arms and, so that you can fully enjoy all we have to offer. Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback with us. Wishing you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2022

The hotel was absolutely beautiful and service was impeccable. We had two connecting rooms which was nice for our family of 5. Breakfast was plentiful, varied and delicious. The location was also perfect, near the beach but also a 10-minute walk to Main street. We fully enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Pumpkin_ciccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2022

Dear Pumpkin ciccio , we are delighted to hear that your stay with us as well as our service was impeccable. As much as you enjoyed staying here, we loved hosting you and your beautiful family. Breakfast is considered to be the most important meal of the day, and made even more special when served outside on the patio, with the great weather we have had lately. Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2022 via mobile

This is a classy and quirky small hotel with all the home comforts, set close to the beach.

From its great welcome, to the charm of its attentive staff, this is an oasis of relaxation in Plett. It also offers great dining and a fab bar- try the Rooibos Gin for a change!

Our thanks to Sam, Jess and the whole team for looking after us so perfectly….

Andrew and Kate xxx

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 250andrewg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2022

To our dearest Andrew & Kate, thank you for taking the time to share such a magic review. We genuinely miss the two of you already! We are incredibly lucky to have a team that understands the importance and value of each interaction. It’s always the little things that mean the most. As you have sung our praises, allow us to sing yours; It was truly such a pleasure having the opportunity to accommodate you both. From making our mornings more cheerful to sharing laughs and making friends with other residents. You both added to the charm and inspired us all. Wishing you all the best on your next adventures and we hope to have the honour of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2022

We loved our stay at the Rectory. From the chance to learn about the history of the building to the wonderful service from all the staff to the lovely pool and the little touches - we enjoyed every minute of our stay. We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2022

Dear Emma K, thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed every minute of your stay. We take great pride in our beautiful heritage building and love having the opportunity to share the history with our guests, so thank you for appreciating it as much as we do! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2022

My friend and I had an increidble stay at The Old Rectory. We stayed in a garden suite, and the room was fantastic (bed, shower, all of it), and the location was perfect. The breakfast each morning was so good - and the chef was very kind to give me his granola recipe! What made this a true 5 star experience was the service - Alicia and the whole team were so attentive and kind. They helped us with hike recommendations and restaurant reservations. I truly could not recommend this place more and look forward to returning!

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank eliz_456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2022

Dear Elizabeth C, thank you for sharing such a wonderful review. We are incredibly happy to hear that your stay with us as well as your dining experience was highly enjoyable. Chef certainly knows the importance of breakfast, it sets the tone for the day, so we do our best to make it a cheerful one. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Alicia and the rest of the team. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews