We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Elizabeth C
New York City, New York

New favorite place

Review of The Old Rectory
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Feb 2022
My friend and I had an increidble stay at The Old Rectory. We stayed in a garden suite, and the room was fantastic (bed, shower, all of it), and the location was perfect. The breakfast each morning was so good - and the chef was very kind to give me his granola recipe! What made this a true 5 star experience was the service - Alicia and the whole team were so attentive and kind. They helped us with hike recommendations and restaurant reservations. I truly could not recommend this place more and look forward to returning!
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this review
Responded 03 Mar 2022
Dear Elizabeth C, thank you for sharing such a wonderful review. We are incredibly happy to hear that your stay with us as well as your dining experience was highly enjoyable. Chef certainly knows the importance of breakfast, it sets the tone for the day, so we do our best to make it a cheerful one. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Alicia and the rest of the team. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.5 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.8 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
2.1 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
7.9 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 2 909
  • Hotels.com
9.4 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
6.4 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
10.5 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
6.6 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
17.3 km from The Old Rectory
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 11 744
  • Hotels.com
9.8 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
188
20
4
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
188
20
4
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews relaxed hotel fabulous boutique hotel milkwood trees modern twist highly recommend this hotel hobie beach pool area exceptional staff minute walk central beach large shower garden route wonderful stay attention to detail fresh milk location was perfect long weekend
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2022 via mobile

Definitely the best hotel with friendliest helpful staff on the Garden Route. The surrounding gardens are beautiful, serene and peaceful. One can hear the waves on the beach all the time although there is now view of the sea. Lovely calming hotel. The breakfast and restaurant was excellent. The ladies bar beautiful, and pool area tranquil. The rooms are exactly as on the photos, perfect.

They even have beach chairs and umbrellas for us. Best ever!

The upstairs rooms have more privacy than the rooms downstairs but because all the rooms has a balcony/stoep you can soen a lot of time just relaxing in the rooms.

We will definitely be back. Loved everything about this hotel!

Room tip: Although there is no view of the sea you are very close to it. Wondeful for families with children.
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank tharine2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2022

Dear Tharine, thank you so much for your kind words, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience with us. We are delighted to hear that all aspects of your stay were faultless! We are quite fortunate to be in such close proximity to the beach, it definitely makes for a tranquil if not therapeutic experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2022

Luxury is defined ( in my mind ) by attention to detail, comfort and ultimately what cannot be achieved in ones own home and the Rectory ticked all those boxes and more - From the seamless booking, friendly welcome and somewhat tearful goodbye I could not find fault. Thank you to Sam and all her staff for a wonderful stay

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Grant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2022

Dear Grant L, your wonderful feedback is truly heart-warming. Thank you for taking the time to share it with us and know it is deeply appreciated. Our guests experience is our top priority so naturally, time and effort is put into every detail as we strive to provide a faultless experience and it brings us great pleasure to know we achieved just that. No one is good at saying goodbye, so we prefer not to, instead, we say “until next time.” The team and I wish you a wonderful and prosperous year ahead and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2022

Had the privilege of hosting an Educational Group for one night at this Gem property in Plettenberg Bay and just a mere 100m from the beach.
Great Welcome, Amazing Rooms, Great Service in beautiful and Peaceful surrounds

Date of stay: February 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lee-ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2022

Dear Lee-Ann W, thank you for sharing your kind feedback. We thoroughly enjoyed having you and the rest of your group here with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience and that your interactions with the team were wonderful. Thank you for commending and validating our staff and our breakfast offering. We believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and our chefs like to spoil our resident guests with the fresh local produce on offer. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Best wishes and a wonderful year ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2022

Stunning big rooms with everything you need and on the doorstep of the sea. Great sleep, stunning food and friendly services - what more can you ask for!!
Loved the huge bath and shower!
The staff is quietly there and seeing to everything with big smiles.

Date of stay: February 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Y2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2022

DearY2Travel, wow what a way to start off the second month of 2022, and the month of love, with this heartwarming review. Thank you for acknowledging our staff who are our biggest stars. Thank you also for commending and recommending our service and facilities. Yes, we are situated in town but The Old Rectory is tranquil, and so close to the beach that you can fall asleep to the sound of waves at night. We cannot wait welcome you back. Keep well and keep safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2022

The location of The Rectory is fantastic as it is within walking distance to the beach. It is a relaxed hotel environment too so you always feel at home. There are no airs and graces and everyone working at the hotel are welcoming and helpful and professional at the same time. Nothing is too much trouble. We will definitely look at coming back for another relaxing holiday in an upmarket location. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michellestephenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2022

Dear michellestephenw, we are delighted to hear that your experience with us was a good one. Our team is very much like a family so in many ways this is our home and we are honoured to be able to welcome our guests into such a tranquil and beautiful environment. It is most definitely a great advantage to be in such close proximity to the beach as it allows us to offer our guests an enhanced coastal experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback with us and we truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Wishing you a prosperous year ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews