We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
R 3 710
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Y2Travel
Bellville, South Africa

Lovely stay at The Old Rectory

Review of The Old Rectory
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 09 Feb 2022
Stunning big rooms with everything you need and on the doorstep of the sea. Great sleep, stunning food and friendly services - what more can you ask for!!
Loved the huge bath and shower!
The staff is quietly there and seeing to everything with big smiles.
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this review
Responded 10 Feb 2022
DearY2Travel, wow what a way to start off the second month of 2022, and the month of love, with this heartwarming review. Thank you for acknowledging our staff who are our biggest stars. Thank you also for commending and recommending our service and facilities. Yes, we are situated in town but The Old Rectory is tranquil, and so close to the beach that you can fall asleep to the sound of waves at night. We cannot wait welcome you back. Keep well and keep safe.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
R 1 502
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 502
0.3 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 2 404
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 1 803
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.0 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 2 714
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 714
0.5 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
R 1 330
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
2.3 km from The Old Rectory
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
R 2 075
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.6 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double en suite
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 565
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from The Old Rectory
Free parking
Pool
Welcome to Plett Beachfront Accommodation!
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 202
  • Priceline
0.4 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 2 915
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 032
9.4 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
188
20
4
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
188
20
4
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews relaxed hotel fabulous boutique hotel milkwood trees modern twist highly recommend this hotel hobie beach pool area exceptional staff minute walk central beach large shower garden route wonderful stay attention to detail fresh milk location was perfect long weekend
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2022

The location of The Rectory is fantastic as it is within walking distance to the beach. It is a relaxed hotel environment too so you always feel at home. There are no airs and graces and everyone working at the hotel are welcoming and helpful and professional at the same time. Nothing is too much trouble. We will definitely look at coming back for another relaxing holiday in an upmarket location. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michellestephenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2022

Dear michellestephenw, we are delighted to hear that your experience with us was a good one. Our team is very much like a family so in many ways this is our home and we are honoured to be able to welcome our guests into such a tranquil and beautiful environment. It is most definitely a great advantage to be in such close proximity to the beach as it allows us to offer our guests an enhanced coastal experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback with us and we truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Wishing you a prosperous year ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2022

Had an amazing and relaxing couples spa treatment. The spa is located on the The Old Recovery manicured grounds. Everything was tranquil, with professional therapists. Will definitely be back to experience the hotel too

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MosidiM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2022

Dear Mosidi M, thank you for sharing your positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We have wonderful therapists that go above and beyond to ensure a truly tranquil experience! We look forward to welcoming you back so you can enjoy the rest of our facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2021 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at The Old Rectory. The staff were knowledgeable and attentive and the hotel went the extra mile to cater for guests needs. I loved how everything was absolutely no problem. I loved being able to take my morning cappuccino in a to go cup for my walk on the beach!

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank etreviewseverything
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2022

Dear Erin M, We are overjoyed to hear that your experience with us and your interactions with the team were fantastic. Our guests are of course our top priority so we make sure you have everything you might need. Holidays are about not having to think about your next move, so we try to do that for you. Wishing you a prosperous new year and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2021

My fiance and I LOVED our stay. The service was perfection. The hotel is beautifully decorated. The roons were super comfy and the shower is divine. The good was absolitely delicious. We cannot complain about a thing. Thank you to KBT for recommending!

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 187marinad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2022

Dear Marina d, we are so happy to hear that you absolutely loved your stay with us and that you found our service faultless. We are so lucky to have such a beautiful property with incredible history and we honour that through our décor so thank you for appreciating it as much as you do. Thank you for sharing your amazing feedback with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2021 via mobile

Had a fantastic 2 nights at the Old Rectory,
This historic hotel offers Comfortable Spacious Rooms, the staff were fantastic, variety of delicious meals
The setting very peaceful
A short walk to the beach
Well worth a stay
Highly Recommended

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Get2colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2022

Dear Get2colin, thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us. We take a huge amount of pride in our beautiful property and its incredible history and love being able to share it with our guests. We are delighted to hear that your dining experience as well as your interactions with the team were fantastic. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews