We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
R 3 589
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Erin M
Edenvale, South Africa

Amazing stay!

Review of The Old Rectory
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Dec 2021via mobile
We had a fantastic stay at The Old Rectory. The staff were knowledgeable and attentive and the hotel went the extra mile to cater for guests needs. I loved how everything was absolutely no problem. I loved being able to take my morning cappuccino in a to go cup for my walk on the beach!
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this review
Responded 10 Feb 2022
Dear Erin M, We are overjoyed to hear that your experience with us and your interactions with the team were fantastic. Our guests are of course our top priority so we make sure you have everything you might need. Holidays are about not having to think about your next move, so we try to do that for you. Wishing you a prosperous new year and we hope to see you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
R 2 403
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 2 683
R 2 464
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 464
0.5 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
R 2 074
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 772
  • Priceline
    R 2 772
  • eDreams
    R 2 772
  • Vio.com
    R 2 772
13.5 km from The Old Rectory
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 782
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double en suite
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 751
  • Booking.com
1.5 km from The Old Rectory
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 2 893
  • Hotels.com
9.4 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome to Plett Beachfront Accommodation!
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 201
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 11 556
  • Hotels.com
9.8 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 1 325
  • Algotels
2.3 km from The Old Rectory
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
188
20
4
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
188
20
4
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews relaxed hotel fabulous boutique hotel milkwood trees modern twist highly recommend this hotel hobie beach pool area exceptional staff minute walk central beach large shower garden route wonderful stay attention to detail fresh milk location was perfect long weekend
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2021

My fiance and I LOVED our stay. The service was perfection. The hotel is beautifully decorated. The roons were super comfy and the shower is divine. The good was absolitely delicious. We cannot complain about a thing. Thank you to KBT for recommending!

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 187marinad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2022

Dear Marina d, we are so happy to hear that you absolutely loved your stay with us and that you found our service faultless. We are so lucky to have such a beautiful property with incredible history and we honour that through our décor so thank you for appreciating it as much as you do. Thank you for sharing your amazing feedback with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2021 via mobile

Had a fantastic 2 nights at the Old Rectory,
This historic hotel offers Comfortable Spacious Rooms, the staff were fantastic, variety of delicious meals
The setting very peaceful
A short walk to the beach
Well worth a stay
Highly Recommended

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Get2colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2022

Dear Get2colin, thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us. We take a huge amount of pride in our beautiful property and its incredible history and love being able to share it with our guests. We are delighted to hear that your dining experience as well as your interactions with the team were fantastic. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2021 via mobile

* 10/10
* Great, spacious Room (Room 5)
* Really Good Wifi
* Really nice, extensive breakfast, with plenty of choice
* Great staff & management, who will do everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible
* Netflix,etc… available
* Great location; close to the beach & close to the centre
* Kids-chair available in the restaurant

Bart, Katrien, Wout & Leon

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Bart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2022

Dear BartDeCoster, we appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that your experience with us and the team was a good one. Our guests experience is of utmost importance to us so we try to think of everything so that you don’t have to. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you and your beautiful family back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2021

The Old Rectory is a beautiful property, and the location is excellent. The beds were also super comfy, and service was wonderful. Also -the breakfast was delicious. We stayed for two nights, and even though the weather wasn't great, we enjoyed it. Highly recommend hiking around the Robberg Nature Reserve which is about 15 mins away by drive - it is stunning!

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2022

Dear Nicola W, thank you for sharing your kind feedback. We are so incredibly happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us despite the weather. We are truly fortunate to be in such close proximity to the beach, it makes it that much more tranquil. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2021 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here and really liked it. A peaceful, relaxed vibe, but rooms are luxurious and chic - our room (2) was very spacious with an enormous shower room, and a private verandah. Super comfy bed and quality linen. Staff were delightful and very helpful, and happy to chat to us and give a bit of historical info on the lovely old building. We had superb massages in the small spa. Food delicious. Breakfast slightly limited choice, and its a little strange to order your breakfast the night before, but this is due to covid restrictions. Waiter Johnny does indeed make the best cappuccino in Plett! We would definitely stay here again if we return to Plett.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank elizabethbL4081MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2022

Dear Elizabeth B, Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback with us. Our top priority is our guests experience and providing attentive, efficient and friendly service and it is heart warming to know that you received just that. We take great pride in our beautiful heritage building and always enjoy sharing the History with our guests! We are delighted to hear that your spa and dining experience was a good one. Thank you for your understanding of our Covid protocols.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews