We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Colin

Pletts Hidden Gem

Review of The Old Rectory
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Nov 2021via mobile
Had a fantastic 2 nights at the Old Rectory,
This historic hotel offers Comfortable Spacious Rooms, the staff were fantastic, variety of delicious meals
The setting very peaceful
A short walk to the beach
Well worth a stay
Highly Recommended
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this review
Responded 10 Feb 2022
Dear Get2colin, thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us. We take a huge amount of pride in our beautiful property and its incredible history and love being able to share it with our guests. We are delighted to hear that your dining experience as well as your interactions with the team were fantastic. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
R 2 400
  • Tripadvisor
    R 2 400
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 400
0.1 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 800
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 792
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 792
2.0 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 071
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 071
0.7 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome to Plett Beachfront Accommodation!
Booking.com
R 1 203
R 1 080
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 200
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 200
0.4 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 898
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 457
  • Tripadvisor
    R 2 457
  • Priceline
0.5 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Booking.com
R 1 633
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 329
  • Destinia.com
    R 1 125
  • Priceline
2.3 km from The Old Rectory
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 2 772
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    R 2 772
  • Vio.com
13.5 km from The Old Rectory
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 800
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 800
  • eDreams
    R 800
15.0 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 13 388
  • Expedia.com
    R 13 388
  • Agoda.com
    R 11 123
  • Hotels.com
    R 13 388
9.8 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double en suite
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 586
  • Agoda.com
    R 516
  • Expedia.com
    R 707
1.5 km from The Old Rectory
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
188
20
4
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
188
20
4
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews relaxed hotel fabulous boutique hotel milkwood trees modern twist highly recommend this hotel hobie beach pool area exceptional staff minute walk central beach large shower garden route wonderful stay attention to detail fresh milk location was perfect long weekend
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2021 via mobile

* 10/10
* Great, spacious Room (Room 5)
* Really Good Wifi
* Really nice, extensive breakfast, with plenty of choice
* Great staff & management, who will do everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible
* Netflix,etc… available
* Great location; close to the beach & close to the centre
* Kids-chair available in the restaurant

Bart, Katrien, Wout & Leon

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Bart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2022

Dear BartDeCoster, we appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that your experience with us and the team was a good one. Our guests experience is of utmost importance to us so we try to think of everything so that you don’t have to. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you and your beautiful family back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2021

The Old Rectory is a beautiful property, and the location is excellent. The beds were also super comfy, and service was wonderful. Also -the breakfast was delicious. We stayed for two nights, and even though the weather wasn't great, we enjoyed it. Highly recommend hiking around the Robberg Nature Reserve which is about 15 mins away by drive - it is stunning!

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2022

Dear Nicola W, thank you for sharing your kind feedback. We are so incredibly happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us despite the weather. We are truly fortunate to be in such close proximity to the beach, it makes it that much more tranquil. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2021 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here and really liked it. A peaceful, relaxed vibe, but rooms are luxurious and chic - our room (2) was very spacious with an enormous shower room, and a private verandah. Super comfy bed and quality linen. Staff were delightful and very helpful, and happy to chat to us and give a bit of historical info on the lovely old building. We had superb massages in the small spa. Food delicious. Breakfast slightly limited choice, and its a little strange to order your breakfast the night before, but this is due to covid restrictions. Waiter Johnny does indeed make the best cappuccino in Plett! We would definitely stay here again if we return to Plett.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank elizabethbL4081MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2022

Dear Elizabeth B, Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback with us. Our top priority is our guests experience and providing attentive, efficient and friendly service and it is heart warming to know that you received just that. We take great pride in our beautiful heritage building and always enjoy sharing the History with our guests! We are delighted to hear that your spa and dining experience was a good one. Thank you for your understanding of our Covid protocols.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2021 via mobile

Comfortable and relaxing stay. Beautiful rooms and great service. The staff are discrete, attentive and personable. Close to the beach and to all the restaurants and shops. Enjoyed dinners at the hotel and a tranquil pool area. Great stay

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rmyburgh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 October 2021

had a wonderful stay with the highlight the staff here who were always helpful friendly and no request was ever an issue very well maintained hotel in a great location
wonderful food at the restaurant

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DoniDelSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews