We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Elizabeth B

Lovely hotel

Review of The Old Rectory
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 01 Nov 2021via mobile
We stayed 2 nights here and really liked it. A peaceful, relaxed vibe, but rooms are luxurious and chic - our room (2) was very spacious with an enormous shower room, and a private verandah. Super comfy bed and quality linen. Staff were delightful and very helpful, and happy to chat to us and give a bit of historical info on the lovely old building. We had superb massages in the small spa. Food delicious. Breakfast slightly limited choice, and its a little strange to order your breakfast the night before, but this is due to covid restrictions. Waiter Johnny does indeed make the best cappuccino in Plett! We would definitely stay here again if we return to Plett.
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this review
Responded 10 Feb 2022
Dear Elizabeth B, Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback with us. Our top priority is our guests experience and providing attentive, efficient and friendly service and it is heart warming to know that you received just that. We take great pride in our beautiful heritage building and always enjoy sharing the History with our guests! We are delighted to hear that your spa and dining experience was a good one. Thank you for your understanding of our Covid protocols.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 103
  • Priceline
0.1 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 798
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 12 098
  • Hotels.com
9.8 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome to Plett Beachfront Accommodation!
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 801
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 650
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 519
  • Hotels.com
2.3 km from The Old Rectory
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 222
  • Hotels.com
12.9 km from The Old Rectory
Free parking
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 326
  • Hotels.com
17.3 km from The Old Rectory
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 073
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from The Old Rectory
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
189
20
4
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
189
20
4
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews relaxed hotel fabulous boutique hotel milkwood trees modern twist highly recommend this hotel hobie beach pool area exceptional staff minute walk central beach large shower garden route wonderful stay attention to detail fresh milk location was perfect long weekend
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2021 via mobile

Comfortable and relaxing stay. Beautiful rooms and great service. The staff are discrete, attentive and personable. Close to the beach and to all the restaurants and shops. Enjoyed dinners at the hotel and a tranquil pool area. Great stay

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rmyburgh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 October 2021

had a wonderful stay with the highlight the staff here who were always helpful friendly and no request was ever an issue very well maintained hotel in a great location
wonderful food at the restaurant

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DoniDelSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2021

Service, rooms etc absolutely amazing. I stayed on my own and nothing was to much trouble for anyone working there. Very special place and I would highly recommend it to anyone going to Plettenberg Bay.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jannetferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2021

A beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of Plett town. Having stayed in summer and winter I would say a summer stay in much more enjoyable as there is a stunning pool area and lovely outdoor tables for breakfast in the summer. It is also a very short walk to the beach.

The rooms are comfortable but on the small side

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CathyB153
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2021

The Old Rectory was really a very special plays to stay. It's centre in Plett. The history of the of out of the books; We will recommend the Old Rectory to all our friends and family. Old Rectory is neat and close to the beach. The food was excellent and the staff is very helpful and friendly

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank happy199358
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Swart, General Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2021

Dear Mr. Thompson,

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that your experience with us and the team was a special one. We deeply appreciate the history of this beautiful property and take pride in being able to share it with our guests. We would be honoured to welcome your friends and family, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future too.

Sincerely,

The Old Rectory Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews