We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Plett”
Review of The Burnt Orange

The Burnt Orange
Ranked #26 of 107 Restaurants in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$18
Description: Plett's hidden gem! Situated on the Piesang Valley river,set in beautiful tranquil gardens with a exquisite menu to match
Restaurant details
Description: Plett's hidden gem! Situated on the Piesang Valley river,set in beautiful tranquil gardens with a exquisite menu to match
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

This is clearly where the foodies go. A friend of mine who lives in Plett recommended this place. It is off the beaten track, in a little green oasis on the edge of town, which feels blissfully far from all the usual tourist haunts.

It was so good the first time, we came back two days later and I’ll definitely eat there again before I go home.

The place has a charming, rustic vibe. The food is truly first rate.

There’s a wide ranging menu which is chalked up on blackboards and changes a bit every day. Fresh fish and shell fish (mussels, prawns & clams), the best steak I’ve had in South Africa. It’s part Mediterranean, part French haut cuisine. (Duck confit was amazing). My friend has the pork belly with ginger soy glaze and hasn’t stopped raving about it.

The head chef Gareth Gardiner and his girlfriend Jaz are super food enthusiasts and it really shows.

You won’t be disappointed.

1  Thank JeromeoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2018

Very interesting location basically " in the middle of nowhere ". Food really very, very good & innovative & the mango daiquiri was sensational.

Could wish for bit more when coming to service, but really no big issue. Will return!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarethG374, Owner at The Burnt Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We arnt a pop up restaraunt !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Booked for a Friday night as we had heard it was so amazing and we'd better book.
Only 1 other table the whole night.
To be told they had sold out of oxtail sold out of coqavin, ordered a mussel clam and prawn in garlic cream sauce. It arrived with no clams. To be told on enquiry there are none after the food arrived. Garlic cream sauce almost not there.
We had Roquefort and fig starter. Being fig season we were given preserved dogs. Portions were average for the expensive price.
Sadly disappointed in the overall experience

2  Thank tessavh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

After reading the reviews we were keen to try Burnt Orange. Note you'll need a GPS to find the place. Our first attempt revealed they were closed in Monday's. So we tried today. Again, they were closed. Not sue if this is because it was a bank holiday, or because the restaurant operates seasonally.
Not frankly sure when this place is open, if at all.

Thank kalgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth G, Owner at The Burnt Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

We are very sorry you couldn't find us.we are open from Tuesday to Sunday.So you were obviously at the wrong place.Our entrance is behind water world

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

The food is out of this world, the location magical and the staff friendly and efficient.
Dont miss out on this absolute gem !!!

Thank adinj2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Burnt Orange also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to The Burnt Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing