We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ScubaKim
Auburn, California

5 star uncrowded safari experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 09 Apr 2024via mobile
This was our first ever safari and I have to say we were blown away. From the moment you walk in, you are greeted with requests from your private chef and other staff. The rooms were immaculate with a hot tub pool on the balcony, many of which overlook the watering hole, where we saw 2 hippos. Two game drives a day keep things very active with a surprise animal around almost every turn. The food was 5 star and the view from the spa if you get a treatment is wonderful.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Avoid fall and winter if you want the best weather.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lalibela Game Reserve , Owner at Lalibela Game Reserve Kichaka Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 24 Apr 2024
Thank you for your 5 star review of Kichaka Lodge at Lalibela Game Reserve! It is great to receive such wonderful comments and that we could be part of your first safari memories. We do hope to see you again very soon!
The Lalibela Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 8 264
  • Hotels.com
12.7 km from Lalibela Game Reserve Kichaka Lodge
Free parking
Breakfast included
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 962
  • Priceline
26.1 km from Lalibela Game Reserve Kichaka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe River Suite
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
22.0 km from Lalibela Game Reserve Kichaka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
26.4 km from Lalibela Game Reserve Kichaka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
26.2 km from Lalibela Game Reserve Kichaka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
26.6 km from Lalibela Game Reserve Kichaka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
26.6 km from Lalibela Game Reserve Kichaka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 376
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 376
5.4 km from Lalibela Game Reserve Kichaka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
29.1 km from Lalibela Game Reserve Kichaka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
En-suite bedroom in the Corner House
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 982
  • Booking.com
26.9 km from Lalibela Game Reserve Kichaka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Grahamstown
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
451
24
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
451
24
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watering hole high tea plunge pool game reserve herd of elephants hot towels water hole safari experience his knowledge cape town wake up call our honeymoon memorable holiday flora and fauna great guide attention to detail second to none
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2024 via mobile

Kichaka Lodge is wonderful. Everything is very luxurious and very private. The lodges are beautiful and large with a marvellous view of the small lake where the occasional hippo swims around.
The breakfast is great, the main meals ok. The staff and our safari guide are extremely courteous and friendly. The safari is well organised and the guide is very professional, I highly recommend this lodge. Many thanks for a great stay.

Room tip: Regenjacke Kappe Pullover und Schal falls man im Herbst auf Safari geht.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lalibela Game Reserve , Owner at Lalibela Game Reserve Kichaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

Dear Paula
Thank you for your review of Kichaka Lodge, we are pleased to hear you had a wonderful experience during your stay. The views from our water-facing suites provides many opportunities to see the local wildlife. We look forward to having you visit again!
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2024

A fantastic experience in every way. Lentaba Lodge is a delightful place to stay. The accommodation is excellent, very clean, comfort amid relaxing whilst the communal facilities, including a pool, were beautiful designed and finished and were never crowded. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the food was high quality, varied and very plentiful. The position of the lodge also gave us a grandstand view of the activities of a large herd of elephants at the waterhole which they took 2 1/2 hours to pass by.
We stayed for three nights, so had six game drives and we could not praise our ranger enough. She not only found us a wide range of animals on each drive but showed us immense enthusiasm and knowledge and was very good company.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lalibela Game Reserve , Owner at Lalibela Game Reserve Kichaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

Thank you for your 5-star review. Lentaba Lodge has a great view of the surrounding landscape and game that pass by. Our rangers provide many interesting facts about all the different species on our reserve to make each game drive unique. We hope to welcome you back soon!
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2024 via mobile

What an incredible three days we have had at Kichaka - every need has been taken care of in 6* style.

Let’s start at the reception we received from Jamie and her team, the level of service was top notch and did not dip for one second of our trip. They could not do enough and always with Jamie’s beacon of a smile driving that customer service to a level we have rarely had the pleasure of experiencing. The chef worked hard to make sure our needs were catered for with delicious, well presented and generous meals and even when there were very few residents in the lodge it was clear no corners were cut in catering or service. Jamie - you and your team are stars. We’ll miss the hot towel greetings every time we returned to the lodge.

The lodge, pool, spa, deck, library were wonderful well thought places. From the roaring evening fire, heated plunge pool, infinity pool hanging over the waterhole to the colonial dining room we could have not been more comfortable.

And then the centrepiece. The wonderful Nikita bringing the savannah to life, introducing us knowledgeably to the big 5 ( we saw 4), the ugly 5 and so many beasts varying in scale from termites to elephants! We learnt so much, with so many great life enriching experiences in 3 short days. We had crazy thunderstorms and clear blue skies. Charging elephants, playful birds, dazzling zebras and an awesome tower of giraffes all on a reserve that clearly takes its conservation very seriously and employs rangers who care, know and share in a way well beyond their years. Nikita thank you for making this so special for us - you went the extra mile and it is truly appreciated.

Room tip: We went at the end of season and really enjoyed a quieter reserve / lodge
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lalibela Game Reserve , Owner at Lalibela Game Reserve Kichaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Thank you for your wonderful review of Kichaka Lodge! We are happy to hear about your experiences with Jamie and the staff at the lodge itself whilst Nikita brings great knowledge and enthusiasm as a highly qualified ranger on every game drive. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again!
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2024

Absolutely lovely venue and well worth a visit. There was an outdoor pool for any age group. There was also a secluded quiet area for over 12s with the outdoor infinity pool overlooking the watering hole. My partner and I managed to get not quite 2 hours in 3 days use of the infinity pool in total as it was full of loud chidren, including a baby. I was told by other residents staying there that they were splashing and screaming out loud and actually frightened the animals away when they came to drink wter from the watering hole. A member of staff was spoken to but nothing was done to put the animals feeding first before allowing very young children in the infinity pool.

Room tip: Enjoy the experience of a wonderful place
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PenguinWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lalibela Game Reserve , Owner at Lalibela Game Reserve Kichaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Thank you for your review. We find this extremely distressing to hear about your experience at the swimming pool. There is an age restriction in place at the infinity pool where children are required to be 12 years old and above. If you could please let us know your dates of staying at Mark's Camp so that we can investigate this further.
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2024 via mobile

We stayed four wonderful nights at this fabulous resort and enjoyed every second of it.
There are very few places that exceed expectations these days but this is truly one of them!
What makes this place so special cannot be easily explained in a review but everything works in harmony. The staff are attentive and caring and nothing’s too much trouble (they are all remarkable people).
Our safari ranger Nikita made the whole experience magical and gave us memories that will last a lifetime.
This was our first safari, so we have no experience of other resorts but this place was absolutely perfect for us. The other guests also played their part in making this once in a lifetime experience… It was just perfect!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank H8789AIseanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lalibela Game Reserve , Owner at Lalibela Game Reserve Kichaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Thank you for your wonderful review of Lalibela Game Reserve! It is indeed a very special place where memories are made and we are honored to have been part of your first safari experience. We can't wait to have you visit again!
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews