We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$262
US$116
Travelocity
View Deal
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain View Manor(Grahamstown)
US$74
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
Seven Fountains Farm(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fiddlewood Fields(Grahamstown)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$823
US$701
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ufumene Game Lodge(Grahamstown)
US$822
SA Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
8A Grahamstown(Grahamstown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
350
20
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
20
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame lodgewatering holeplunge poolthe reservehigh tearose petalsunderfloor heatingresident hippoherd of elephantscape townhis knowledgewater holefood and winesouth africaour honeymoonan amazing experienceprivate deck
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2018

An experience beyond words. Sensational lodges/apartments each with decks & dive pools, wonderful staff, lovely food (and WARNING: there's a lot of it!!) and that's BEFORE you go on a game drive. The array of animals to see, and the knowledge of the guides is beyond compare. We stayed for 2 nights and were worried it wouldn't be long enough to see the animals we wanted - but 2 nights means 4 x 3hr game drives (dawn and dusk) which, weather permitting, means 12 hours of wonderful animal watching, which was plenty for us. And when you arrive back to the lodge you are treated to even more luxurious food and wine. What's not to like? First class.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

Kichaka is the kind of place that is worth saving to visit. Of all the thousands of places we’ve visited, Kichaka’s service is second only to the Taj Palace in Udaipur, and its facilities are the best we’ve ever stayed in. On a safari the guides are really the make or break, and here Woody just blew us away. He was funny, intelligent, safety-conscious, service oriented and well-referenced. His signature move was pointing out animals, telling us interesting facts and then pulling out a reference book and offering it to us to continue reading while he found the next animal. He was the first guide we’ve had who actually showed us how he was tracking animals and engaged us in the search, resulting in lots of extra sightings and channeling the group’s energy into something engaging. We were a group of six but quite a mixed bag in terms of ages, personalities and interests (honeymooners to birdwatchers). Not to be too effusive, but he really read the group well; after going off route to find a great cheetah sighting he checked whether we still wanted to stop for a drink or head back to the lodge for a hot toddy to warm up. Even stopping for a drink was memorable – Woody took the orders beforehand, chose the perfect spot, got out a table cloth, cut up fresh limes for our G&T, used top brand liquor and had both hot and cold nibbles, asking and answering questions in a way that made everyone feel included.

Other honourable mentions include the service and facilities. Firstly, the service. Whether it’s the obvious pride and love that all the staff have for the animals (the stories of Hygge the naughty elephant), or the thoughtful touches (handmade chocolates with bedtime stories of the local mythology left on your pillow, and hot scented towels with a drink of the day waiting at the end of the drive), or the calibre of training (serving guests dinner plates from the correct side and pre-warming them), Kichaka significantly exceeded our expectations. It is expensive, but considering this is really only mid-range among safari lodges it hits way above its weight. Secondly, the facilities. The room was gorgeous, the bed was so comfortable, and they’ve put obvious thought and care into making areas that are tailored both to groups / new friendships, as well as more solitary / couple time. Whether it’s big comfortable couches arranged around a crackling fire near the bar, or a table for two overlooking the watering hole, you can choose how you spend your holiday time.

A last point: it was important to me to make sure we didn’t stay at any lodge affiliated with hunting, and Lalibela reserve (on which Kichaka sits) does have a stained reputation in this regard. Fortunately the reserve has been purchased recently by deeply committed anti-hunting conservationists, and does not allow hunting or sale of animals to hunting lodges. This is commendable.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Madsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

We are very fortunate to have had the pleasure of many Game Lodge experiences and whilst Kichaka is not quite the same as a trip to one of the Northern Game parks it is still an enjoyable experience. All the staff were lovely. Our guide was fun and friendly but not as well informed as most we have experienced. The braai was nice, but it was cold and there was no offer of blankets - we did ask twice but were told no and the food was served quite late. We had a very good massage (in a tent), but they were setting up the braai close by and discussing arrangements in loud voices which was not very relaxing. We did see some wonderful sights - elephants, rhinos, lions which was lovely but for the price we would rather go to Sabi Sands and get the real African game experience.

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank sollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

We had a fabulous three night stay at this luxury game lodge. It’s a stunning location with fabulous accommodation . All of the staff are so friendly and helpful. Our guide Charles was outstanding, a great communicator and v knowledgable making all of the drives fun and informative. He clearly loves what he does and we really appreciated the time he spent with us. We saw all of the animals and were delighted. Thank you to you all , we hope to return one day.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TollyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

Good animal variety and ease of sightings. We were fortunate to have an interested game ranger who went out of his way to provide us with an above average experience. The small number of huts made the adventure more intimate and allowed familiarity with the pleasant staff. The daily routine was well planned and executed but we were allowed flexibility to customise some drives to suit us. We had nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jchopa_612625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews