We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grahamstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not often do you stay somewhere where reality is better than the pictures. Kichaka was perfect. The food, wine, staff, accommodation, rangers, etc etc were all just fabulous. What a magical relaxing place that we will definitely be back to. Please don’t change x

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank holidaymaker292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2017

We were greeted and looked after throughout our stay. Jonty was our guide who knew his stuff! He went out of his way to ensure we saw all the animals we wanted to (if available to see) and seemed to be the one that other guides asked if they had questions.
Always professional and polite, he gave us perfect viewing and photo opportunities throughout our stay.
Our accommodation was clean and luxurious- the bed was huge! Being October, the pool was a little too cold to venture in to, but it was lovely to be able to sit and enjoy the sun in the day and the stars at night in out own private deck.
The main lodge had the view over the watering hole (albeit sightly blocked due to over-grown trees) with the hippos which was a great sight to see when you first arrive.

There were areas where the lodge was looking a little tired; the main deck was uneven and bulging in areas- and our shower in Olive was leaking into the ceiling.

A lovely stay and highly recommend to anyone wanting the smaller parks with lots of animals to see.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MaddyL2329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

In March 2017 we stayed at Kichaka as part of my husband's 60th birthday celebrations. We were absolutely blown away by the service we received, all the staff were so helpful. The chalets had there own individual plunge pool & were luxury personified. The Safari each morning & evening was amazing, seeing all the animals up close was mind blowing.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Ally240354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

A truly amazing stay. The venue and location is incredible, service impeccable, animal sightings extraordinary. David, our ranger was interesting and fun, food choices were fantastic and weather was great. The team at Kichaka dealt with any niggles immediately, and nothing was too much difficulty.

The suite (Plumbago) we stayed in was incredible with a wonderful shower, huge and amazingly comfortable bed and the views over the waterhole with the hippos / giraffes regularly visiting were awesome!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RGP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Our time spent at Kichaka was amazing, the staff were delightful, so helpful and friendly. Our guide was knowledgeable and fun and excellent with our 3 boys.
The outlook over the waterhole from our bedrooms made the holiday particularly memorable as the hippos (7) were great entertainment and were that constant reminder we were in Africa.
We saw plenty of game on every drive, including a couple of lion chase a warthog family.
Our boys were a little concerned that there may not have been enough food but this was never the case, the food was abundant and such a wonderful variety and quality that not for a moment did they ever feel hungry.
Kichaka and it’s staff really have been the highlight of our trip to South Africa.
Thank you for such a wonderful memory and one that I’m sure our boys and us will treasure for a long time to come.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cathyt523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grahamstown
39,7 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
26,4 km away
Graham Hotel
Graham Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grahamstown
117 reviews
12,8 km away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22,5 km away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1 132 reviews
7,4 km away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
528 reviews
17,8 km away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#6 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge

Address: Assegaai Bush, Grahamstown 6148, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grahamstown
Price Range: R9 787 - R12 913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a private game reserve in the malaria-free Eastern Cape, Kichaka is the perfect place to enjoy a Big Five safari experience in quiet luxury. Feel instantly at home - the lounge and dining areas are positioned to offer uninterrupted views across unspoiled bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kichaka Luxury Game Hotel Grahamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing