We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Good As it Gets!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grahamstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

We spent three nights at Kichaka & enjoyed 6-game drives. Our Ranger Chris was brilliant. We saw so much of the Reserve & all its wonderful inhabitants plus learned a great deal about the animals, insects & birds. The Lodge staff could not have been more professional, friendly & helpful. The food is excellent, as is the accommodation. A visit to the Spa is a must!! Kichaka is 5-star luxury from beginning to end & a big thank you to all for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bowring14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KichakaManager, General Manager at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thank you for your lovely informative review of your stay with us at Kichaka.
It means the world to us that you so enjoyed your experience at our lodge.
It will be such a pleasure to welcome you back one day.
Kind regards from us all

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2017

Everything, from the first second until the end, was perfect. Our Ranger Chris was a great guy. The rooms are nice. The game drives are outstanding. I would definitely recommend this experience to everyone i know!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank danielkG9550WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KichakaManager, General Manager at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Kichaka. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us and that you recommend our lodge to future guests.
We trust that you enjoyed the remainder of your travels and it will be an honor to welcome you back one day.
Bush greetings from us all at Kichaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Everything was amazing, except for the weather which at times was a bit like uk. Cold and wet. Other times it was hot and the pool and private plunge pools were well used. The animals kept coming to the water hole in front of the lodge and this was really good. Will visit again. The spa lady was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ronaldsX5629VF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KichakaManager, General Manager at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us at Kichaka.
We really appreciate you taking the time to inform future guests of what they can expect when they visit us. What an honour it will be to welcome you back. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time spent with us. Until then all the very best from us all at Kichaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

What an incredible 4 days this was and in the most beautiful place. From the moment we arrived we were looked after so so well and the staff were simply amazing. We met our guide for the safaris, Jason who was fantastic, knew so much about every animal, bird, plant and even the stars when we went out on a night drive on our last evening. He was so friendly and extremely knowledgeable and just really great at his job, made us feel totally safe and was a fabulous guide. This place is a little bit of magic, the rooms were huge and each had their own plunge pool and decking to sit out and sunbath on. Every time we went out for a game drive we came back to our beds made, curtains opened and rooms clean. In the evening we came back to cherry in our room and my parents also were given champagne as it was my dads birthday whilst we were there. We had a great room with views overlooking the water hole and were lucky enough to watch 20 or so elephants come and have a drink and a bath on our first afternoon, including 3 babies which was absolutely amazing. The highlight of my whole trip in South Africa I think. We were also able to see a hippo who spends most of her days in the water hole keeping cool. I don't really know what I had expected when going on safari but it was just amazing. Before we had even gone on a ride we had seen elephants and giraffes. Every time we got back from a game drive there was someone there to greet us at the lodge with a hot or cold flannel (which smelt amazing) and a welcome drink. The food at the lodge was delicious and the wine and drinks very good as well. All the staff looking after us were so friendly and kind. The lodge is the main building at Kichaka, which looks out to the water hole and also has an infinity pool with sun loungers. There is also a spa which you can book treatments for. There is a bar and a lounge area with a large fireplace in case it gets cold and also a few other rooms that you can relax in (including a library). This place has everything you need and I felt extremely lucky to be able to stay here. You don't feel like you ever want to leave. There are only around 10 rooms (I think) and this is what I loved about it. The place never felt too busy and it was extremely quiet and peaceful. We saw so many amazing animals and every game drive was different. I would 100% come back here and hope to be lucky enough to be able to. On our last evening we sat out and had dinner under the stars, I have never seen so many shooting stars and satellites. We also went on a night drive and the sky was beautiful. Thank you to all the staff at Kichaka, I will be recommending this to all my friends who visit South Africa. A 5* place to stay and I loved it, wouldn't change anything we did and make you you book, worth every penny and you won't regret it!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Fay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KichakaManager, General Manager at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

We are thrilled beyond words with your comprehensive and detailed review of your stay with us at Kichaka. Thank you so much for taking time out to do this. Most importantly we are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you would like to return one day.
We look forward to hosting you back at our lodge sometime soon. Until then happy travels and bush greetings from us all at Kichaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Our accommodation was fantastic, overlooking the waterhole where we could watch elephants and hippos. The food was always excellent and the staff couldn't do enough for you. We loved every minute of our 3 days there. The twice daily game drives were always interesting and we saw all the big animals right up close. Chris, our ranger knew everything about the bush which made it all even better.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KichakaManager, General Manager at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Kichaka. We are very pleased that you enjoyed it especially your game drives with Chris and what our chefs offered. We hope to welcome you back one day and wish you everything of the best. Kind regards from us all at Kichaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grahamstown
39,7 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
37,9 km away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
59 reviews
12,8 km away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22,5 km away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1 154 reviews
39,2 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
7,4 km away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge

Address: Assegaai Bush, Grahamstown 6148, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grahamstown
Price Range: R 10 005 - R 14 423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a private game reserve in the malaria-free Eastern Cape, Kichaka is the perfect place to enjoy a Big Five safari experience in quiet luxury. Feel instantly at home - the lounge and dining areas are positioned to offer uninterrupted views across unspoiled bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kichaka Luxury Game Hotel Grahamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing