We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
8A Grahamstown(Grahamstown)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bartholomew's Loft(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
African Safari Lodge(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$345
US$337
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
High Corner Guest House(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auld House B & B(Grahamstown)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
US$67
US$65
Orbitz.com
View Deal
US$778
US$744
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
352
21
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
21
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame lodgewatering holeplunge poolthe reserverose petalsunderfloor heatingherd of elephantscape townsouth africawater holeour honeymoonfood and winean amazing experienceprivate deckanimal sightingssun loungersoverlooking the water
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Everything, from the first second until the end, was perfect. Our Ranger Chris was a great guy. The rooms are nice. The game drives are outstanding. I would definitely recommend this experience to everyone i know!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank danielkG9550WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KichakaManager, General Manager at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Kichaka. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us and that you recommend our lodge to future guests.
We trust that you enjoyed the remainder of your travels and it will be an honor to welcome you back one day.
Bush greetings from us all at Kichaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Everything was amazing, except for the weather which at times was a bit like uk. Cold and wet. Other times it was hot and the pool and private plunge pools were well used. The animals kept coming to the water hole in front of the lodge and this was really good. Will visit again. The spa lady was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ronaldsX5629VF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KichakaManager, General Manager at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us at Kichaka.
We really appreciate you taking the time to inform future guests of what they can expect when they visit us. What an honour it will be to welcome you back. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time spent with us. Until then all the very best from us all at Kichaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

What an incredible 4 days this was and in the most beautiful place. From the moment we arrived we were looked after so so well and the staff were simply amazing. We met our guide for the safaris, Jason who was fantastic, knew so much about every animal, bird, plant and even the stars when we went out on a night drive on our last evening. He was so friendly and extremely knowledgeable and just really great at his job, made us feel totally safe and was a fabulous guide. This place is a little bit of magic, the rooms were huge and each had their own plunge pool and decking to sit out and sunbath on. Every time we went out for a game drive we came back to our beds made, curtains opened and rooms clean. In the evening we came back to cherry in our room and my parents also were given champagne as it was my dads birthday whilst we were there. We had a great room with views overlooking the water hole and were lucky enough to watch 20 or so elephants come and have a drink and a bath on our first afternoon, including 3 babies which was absolutely amazing. The highlight of my whole trip in South Africa I think. We were also able to see a hippo who spends most of her days in the water hole keeping cool. I don't really know what I had expected when going on safari but it was just amazing. Before we had even gone on a ride we had seen elephants and giraffes. Every time we got back from a game drive there was someone there to greet us at the lodge with a hot or cold flannel (which smelt amazing) and a welcome drink. The food at the lodge was delicious and the wine and drinks very good as well. All the staff looking after us were so friendly and kind. The lodge is the main building at Kichaka, which looks out to the water hole and also has an infinity pool with sun loungers. There is also a spa which you can book treatments for. There is a bar and a lounge area with a large fireplace in case it gets cold and also a few other rooms that you can relax in (including a library). This place has everything you need and I felt extremely lucky to be able to stay here. You don't feel like you ever want to leave. There are only around 10 rooms (I think) and this is what I loved about it. The place never felt too busy and it was extremely quiet and peaceful. We saw so many amazing animals and every game drive was different. I would 100% come back here and hope to be lucky enough to be able to. On our last evening we sat out and had dinner under the stars, I have never seen so many shooting stars and satellites. We also went on a night drive and the sky was beautiful. Thank you to all the staff at Kichaka, I will be recommending this to all my friends who visit South Africa. A 5* place to stay and I loved it, wouldn't change anything we did and make you you book, worth every penny and you won't regret it!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Fay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KichakaManager, General Manager at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

We are thrilled beyond words with your comprehensive and detailed review of your stay with us at Kichaka. Thank you so much for taking time out to do this. Most importantly we are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you would like to return one day.
We look forward to hosting you back at our lodge sometime soon. Until then happy travels and bush greetings from us all at Kichaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Our accommodation was fantastic, overlooking the waterhole where we could watch elephants and hippos. The food was always excellent and the staff couldn't do enough for you. We loved every minute of our 3 days there. The twice daily game drives were always interesting and we saw all the big animals right up close. Chris, our ranger knew everything about the bush which made it all even better.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KichakaManager, General Manager at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Kichaka. We are very pleased that you enjoyed it especially your game drives with Chris and what our chefs offered. We hope to welcome you back one day and wish you everything of the best. Kind regards from us all at Kichaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

This is our 2nd time to the Eastern Cape having been to Shamwari for our honeymoon many years ago and this time with the children. Kichaka is a fantastic place with huge rooms (cottages is more apt) with decks and plunge pools. The food is delightful and the facilities such as the Spa and pool overlooking the watering hole are superb. The game drives were very enjoyable and Chris our ranger a fountain of knowledge which is perfect with 2 inquisitive children to keep entertained. I loved the sun-downer drinks with amazing views of the landscape and the rangers where possible get you as close to the animals as they can which can sometimes be a little nerve racking for the uninitiated! Overall this is a place i would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a great family friendly safari option.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views over the watering hole but all rooms are nice.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KichakaManager, General Manager at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us at Kichaka. We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and especially with Chris. Thank you for recommending Kichaka and we so look forward to welcoming you all back again one day. Until then all the very best from us all at Kichaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews