We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveller rating
369
21
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
21
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game lodge watering hole plunge pool the reserve rose petals underfloor heating herd of elephants cape town south africa water hole food and wine an amazing experience our honeymoon private deck animal sightings attention to detail welcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 401 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We went to Africa for my 6oth birthday and we are so glad that we went to Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge.
From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you are made to feel welcome and are spoilt beyond belief.
The lodges are huge, luxurious and ours had an awesome location overlooking the dam where we could sit on the veranda or have a swim in the plunge pool and watch the hippos playing in the water and the elephants coming down to drink and have a splosh.
The meals are first class and endless. They are so delicious that you really need to be careful not to get carried away. I loved the ostrich as a main course as well as the Norwegian Salmon on another night. The wines and other drinks which were included in our package were plentiful and very nice.
The staff were all brilliant and our guide Ashley was just wonderful. He was a lot of fun and he was incredibly knowledgeable and had an absolute passion for his career.
I learnt so much about the animals, Africa in general and I think I can now tell which animal made a particular track and can even tell what animal dropped a scat and how long ago it was dropped. All really important things if out in the wild.
I just loved seeing the giraffes and the cheetah as well as the hippos and rhinos. Our wonderful confrontation with the herd of elephants make you glad you have a guide with knowledge, skill and experience.
Probably the very best experience I will never forget is watching the lions hunt its prey and then witness the male lion dragging a 250kg zebra into the trees. Just fabulous!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Our 2nd visit to Kichaka and once again we were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived till we departed, Ashleigh our ranger took great care of us for the 3 days. Thank you Ashleigh.
Exquisite 3 course meals kept our tummies full not to mention biscotti and coffee on our early morning game drives and tasty home made fries and G&T's as we watched the sunset.
The massages and foot rubs were awesome.
Our lovely room situated in the bush was peaceful and quiet. Lying on the sunbeds reading whilst the birds singing in the bush and Bush buck walking past our room.
Kichaka truly made our stay memorable and we are sure to return. Thank you Ashleigh and staff. We were truly spoilt in luxury.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank LieslConnellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Wonderful lodge, great staff, lovely accommodation and excellent game viewing. We witnessed a full on lion kill from start to finish, something very rarely seen , and hugely exciting. Our guide was hugely knowledgeable and good fun. You can pay an awful lot more for a game lodge and won't get a better experience than this.

Stayed: September 2016
1  Thank gaffafair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

My wife and I have now been to Kichaka 3 times.
We were married there chilled there and met some of the most amazing people and seen the most wonderful sights.
The lodges are luxurious and peaceful
The staff are truly fantastic nothing is too much trouble.
The Rangers are so full of knowledge,excellent drivers and again nothing is too much trouble.
The food would be on par with any multiple Michelin star restaurant in the world.
This is an experience not to done once but over and over again.
I can find no fault just TRULY AMAZING
Please do not ponder about going to KICHAKA just take the bull by the horns and ride an experience that is truly special.
Thank you to all the personal at this incredible game lodge, see you all in April 2017.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Super resort as part of a game reserve shared by a couple of other lodges. The game viewing is terrific with a mix of open grasslands and low bush. But the real treat is at the resort itself. Food is excellent and outlook good, but staff really make it. Eg; coming back from evening safari, our room was made up with rose petals strewn on the bed, with bath drawn with bubbles and more rose petals. Superb.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ColonialBoy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews