We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful luxury game reserve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grahamstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We had an excellent stay at Kichaka. Our room was overlooking the watering hole were resident Harry the Hippo lives. The room was very spacious with a plunge pool and viewing deck. All the staff were very pleasant and made us feel welcome along with Ben our ranger. We had good viewings of Lion, Cheetah, Elephants, Rhiono's Hippo's and numerous antelope and birds. The food was some of the best we had tasted on our trip. All in all a wonderful experience and thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting something a bit special.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank stuandmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2016

We went to Africa for my 6oth birthday and we are so glad that we went to Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge.
From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you are made to feel welcome and are spoilt beyond belief.
The lodges are huge, luxurious and ours had an awesome location overlooking the dam where we could sit on the veranda or have a swim in the plunge pool and watch the hippos playing in the water and the elephants coming down to drink and have a splosh.
The meals are first class and endless. They are so delicious that you really need to be careful not to get carried away. I loved the ostrich as a main course as well as the Norwegian Salmon on another night. The wines and other drinks which were included in our package were plentiful and very nice.
The staff were all brilliant and our guide Ashley was just wonderful. He was a lot of fun and he was incredibly knowledgeable and had an absolute passion for his career.
I learnt so much about the animals, Africa in general and I think I can now tell which animal made a particular track and can even tell what animal dropped a scat and how long ago it was dropped. All really important things if out in the wild.
I just loved seeing the giraffes and the cheetah as well as the hippos and rhinos. Our wonderful confrontation with the herd of elephants make you glad you have a guide with knowledge, skill and experience.
Probably the very best experience I will never forget is watching the lions hunt its prey and then witness the male lion dragging a 250kg zebra into the trees. Just fabulous!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Our 2nd visit to Kichaka and once again we were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived till we departed, Ashleigh our ranger took great care of us for the 3 days. Thank you Ashleigh.
Exquisite 3 course meals kept our tummies full not to mention biscotti and coffee on our early morning game drives and tasty home made fries and G&T's as we watched the sunset.
The massages and foot rubs were awesome.
Our lovely room situated in the bush was peaceful and quiet. Lying on the sunbeds reading whilst the birds singing in the bush and Bush buck walking past our room.
Kichaka truly made our stay memorable and we are sure to return. Thank you Ashleigh and staff. We were truly spoilt in luxury.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Liesl Connellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Wonderful lodge, great staff, lovely accommodation and excellent game viewing. We witnessed a full on lion kill from start to finish, something very rarely seen , and hugely exciting. Our guide was hugely knowledgeable and good fun. You can pay an awful lot more for a game lodge and won't get a better experience than this.

Stayed: September 2016
1  Thank gaffafair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

My wife and I have now been to Kichaka 3 times.
We were married there chilled there and met some of the most amazing people and seen the most wonderful sights.
The lodges are luxurious and peaceful
The staff are truly fantastic nothing is too much trouble.
The Rangers are so full of knowledge,excellent drivers and again nothing is too much trouble.
The food would be on par with any multiple Michelin star restaurant in the world.
This is an experience not to done once but over and over again.
I can find no fault just TRULY AMAZING
Please do not ponder about going to KICHAKA just take the bull by the horns and ride an experience that is truly special.
Thank you to all the personal at this incredible game lodge, see you all in April 2017.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grahamstown
39,7 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
12,8 km away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1 406 reviews
22,5 km away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39,2 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
7,4 km away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
546 reviews
19,4 km away
Bushman Sands Golf Lodge
Bushman Sands Golf Lodge
#1 of 1 in Alicedale
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge

Address: Assegaai Bush, Grahamstown 6148, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grahamstown
Price Range: R 9 675 - R 14 372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a private game reserve in the malaria-free Eastern Cape, Kichaka is the perfect place to enjoy a Big Five safari experience in quiet luxury. Feel instantly at home - the lounge and dining areas are positioned to offer uninterrupted views across unspoiled bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kichaka Luxury Game Hotel Grahamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing