We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grahamstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Without doubt one of the best things we have done on holiday. We found ourselves in South Africa after my father in law had a heart attack while on holiday there and we rushed from the UK to his aid, fortunately he was given the all clear, leaving us with a further 2 weeks in which to explore this beautiful country.
Everything about this place was breathtaking, from start to finish well designed accomadation affording complete privacy in sumptuous surroundings including private plunge pool, superb menu choices, never ending food & drink and if that wasn't enough the game drives were outstanding , seeing all the animals in their wildlife habitat was the real highlight of our stay, so much so that we extended from 3 days to 4 and would have stayed longer. Special thanks to our ranger Ben, who made us laugh and persevered to ensure we saw as much as possible. Would love to go back one day and highly recommend to everyone if your lucky enough, Do it !

Room Tip: All fantastic lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 119 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2016

We had a fabulous stay at Kichaka. Our only regret was that we didn´t book for longer, due to commitments. We hope that we will be able to go there again in the future and that Chris, our ranger, is still around with his excellent knowledge.
Deborah and Tony Moody

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tonymL4582LP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Kichaka - well, what can I say - I wish I was still there, even with a 5am call!

A beautiful reserve with plenty of stunning views and thrilling sights such as, the cheetah going for a morning stroll down the road, quite unconcerned by camera's clicking away...
The lodge itself is charming, the roaring log fire in the reception/bar was most welcome after the evening game drive. The rooms or chalets were splendid, well appointed and comfortable.

As one of the Rangers said, 'Weather in the Eastern Cape is schizophrenic!' Rather like the UK, it can have 4 seasons in one day but after any rain it soon becomes hot once more.
Mid March is the beginning of the Autumn there..so take long sleeves as well, so you are comfortable at all times..

The vehicles are completely open, so you have an stunning and unimpeeded view for photography, which is marvellous. If it rains, excellent waterproof, hooded ponchos with fleece linings are provided, so they think of everything.
Hot towels and a warming drink, or cool if it's a hot day, welcome you on your return to the lodge.

It’s wonderful to see these precious animals in their natural habitat and to know Kichaka takes conservation very seriously indeed.

I would return in a heartbeat, for another thrilling and intriguing few days.
Thanks to all who made it so memorable, especially our Ranger Troye.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerri W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

It was our first safari trip and what a fantastic introduction with a welcome as warm as the African sun, very tasteful, luxury lodges and a seemingly endless supply of food and drink. As for the game drives and animals....what a privilege to see animals in the wild particularly at play with the elephants in the watering hole at the lodge and the lively lion cubs making that 5am wake up call all worthwhile! Special thanks must go to our guide Ashley who was extremely knowledgeable, engaging and had a great sense of humour. Ashley's final morning drive as a single man was as entertaining as watching the animals - Ashley, thanks so much for giving us such a great time over the three days and hope the wedding went well!
Finally thank you to the Kichaka team for everything you do and particularly for your values and caring approach animal conservation.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ChrisHelen16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

This was our first stop on our first visit to South Africa. The entire experience was so much more than expected. The staff we so welcoming and hospitable. The lodge was beautiful but comfortable. Our bungalow was perfect, bright, big and perfectly appointed. The best was our game drives with Ashley, our ranger. We saw lots of animals that were healthy and happy. With a rule of only two vehicles at a time at any sighting, it was personal and respectful to the animals. Ashley was knowledgeable and explained about the various animals and showed us tracks and droppings when we were looking for game. He was calm and relaxed and confident so we were very comfortable in his capable hands. A perfect way to start a memorable holiday!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mona-from-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grahamstown
39,7 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
12,8 km away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1 405 reviews
22,5 km away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39,2 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
7,4 km away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
547 reviews
19,4 km away
Bushman Sands Golf Lodge
Bushman Sands Golf Lodge
#1 of 1 in Alicedale
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge

Address: Assegaai Bush, Grahamstown 6148, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grahamstown
Price Range: R 9 638 - R 14 312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a private game reserve in the malaria-free Eastern Cape, Kichaka is the perfect place to enjoy a Big Five safari experience in quiet luxury. Feel instantly at home - the lounge and dining areas are positioned to offer uninterrupted views across unspoiled bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kichaka Luxury Game Hotel Grahamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing