We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$60
US$48
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$46
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
350
20
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
20
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame lodgewatering holeplunge poolhigh tearose petalsthe reserveunderfloor heatingsafari experienceresident hippoherd of elephantshis knowledgecape townsouth africafood and wineour honeymoonlion killoverlooking the water
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We had a fabulous stay at Kichaka. Our only regret was that we didn´t book for longer, due to commitments. We hope that we will be able to go there again in the future and that Chris, our ranger, is still around with his excellent knowledge.
Deborah and Tony Moody

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tonymL4582LP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Kichaka - well, what can I say - I wish I was still there, even with a 5am call!

A beautiful reserve with plenty of stunning views and thrilling sights such as, the cheetah going for a morning stroll down the road, quite unconcerned by camera's clicking away...
The lodge itself is charming, the roaring log fire in the reception/bar was most welcome after the evening game drive. The rooms or chalets were splendid, well appointed and comfortable.

As one of the Rangers said, 'Weather in the Eastern Cape is schizophrenic!' Rather like the UK, it can have 4 seasons in one day but after any rain it soon becomes hot once more.
Mid March is the beginning of the Autumn there..so take long sleeves as well, so you are comfortable at all times..

The vehicles are completely open, so you have an stunning and unimpeeded view for photography, which is marvellous. If it rains, excellent waterproof, hooded ponchos with fleece linings are provided, so they think of everything.
Hot towels and a warming drink, or cool if it's a hot day, welcome you on your return to the lodge.

It’s wonderful to see these precious animals in their natural habitat and to know Kichaka takes conservation very seriously indeed.

I would return in a heartbeat, for another thrilling and intriguing few days.
Thanks to all who made it so memorable, especially our Ranger Troye.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerri W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

It was our first safari trip and what a fantastic introduction with a welcome as warm as the African sun, very tasteful, luxury lodges and a seemingly endless supply of food and drink. As for the game drives and animals....what a privilege to see animals in the wild particularly at play with the elephants in the watering hole at the lodge and the lively lion cubs making that 5am wake up call all worthwhile! Special thanks must go to our guide Ashley who was extremely knowledgeable, engaging and had a great sense of humour. Ashley's final morning drive as a single man was as entertaining as watching the animals - Ashley, thanks so much for giving us such a great time over the three days and hope the wedding went well!
Finally thank you to the Kichaka team for everything you do and particularly for your values and caring approach animal conservation.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ChrisHelen16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

This was our first stop on our first visit to South Africa. The entire experience was so much more than expected. The staff we so welcoming and hospitable. The lodge was beautiful but comfortable. Our bungalow was perfect, bright, big and perfectly appointed. The best was our game drives with Ashley, our ranger. We saw lots of animals that were healthy and happy. With a rule of only two vehicles at a time at any sighting, it was personal and respectful to the animals. Ashley was knowledgeable and explained about the various animals and showed us tracks and droppings when we were looking for game. He was calm and relaxed and confident so we were very comfortable in his capable hands. A perfect way to start a memorable holiday!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mona-from-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

My husband and I cannot praise this reserve enough. From the welcome, the attention to detail, the individual lodges, the all inclusive food and drink, the service, the expertise of the Rangers, just everything was absolutely fabulous.
The setting is superb and the drives with the Rangers were so thrilling and it was so exciting to see animals in their natural habitat. The Rangers are so experienced and their knowledge and expertise ensured that whilst we fully appreciated that these animals are wild and dangerous, every consideration was taken to ensure our safety.
The most amazing experience

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank MR5ECY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews