We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super clean and comfortable self-catering cottage”
Entrance to AppleBee I and seating area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to AppleBee I and seating area
Bedroom with Queen bed Detail
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Entrance to AppleBee I and seating area
Bedroom with Queen bed
Detail
Full bathroom
Lounge, dining and kitchenette
Lounge seating area with sleeper couch
Continental breakfast on request
Entrance
Entrance
Parking area
Outdoor pool
Garden swing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Grahamstown, Eastern Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janiceg19...
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Super clean and comfortable self-catering cottage”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We only stayed one night in the cottage but found it to be very comfortable and very clean. The cottage was prettily decorated and had a good sized bathroom and a warm and comfortable bedroom. Jeannine had even left us a chocolate each by the sides of the bed. The lounge had comfortable chairs and a TV with some dvds. The kitchen was clean and although we only cooked ourselves breakfast while we were there, it seemed to have all that you would need. The cottage was in a very nice residential area and restaurants and supermarkets were only a short drive away. There was a neat and pretty garden and Jeannine's gardener even cleaned our car for us for a small fee.

The off street parking was a bit tight and we could not get wi fi in the cottage in the morning but these are only small gripes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Thanks for the lovely review Janice. It was a pleasure to have you staying. With regards to the Wi-Fi, I have installed a booster and hope that will increase the signal.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelvinZul...
Rivonia, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
“Well furnished comfortable and central with comfortable bed with good linen”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The above says it all, a good kitchen / dining zone with a small lounge area, with a great bathroom and bedroom.

Private and centrally located.

We shall certainly stay again when attending the National Arts Festival

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed and bathroom
Liked least: Wifi was not particularly good plus the water supply is problematic, although we were never without water.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark26051...
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well appointed cottage run by very professional and helpful owner”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed in this cottage for one night (24 December 2015) during a road trip after a day of lots of driving.

Jeannine is a very helpful owner. The cottage itself is very well appointed and swankily decorated and sits in beautiful grounds. The bathroom is lovely too, and many small details have been thought of (e.g. a bath mat in front of both the shower and the bath), demonstrating the owner's experience in higher end hospitality.

The price was also reasonable, but that may be more a function of it not having been peak season for Grahamstown.

Although advertised as self-catering, Jeannine provided milk, bread, things to put on the bread, and a variety of cereals for breakfast.

I would definitely recommend it.

Now to the cons, which are really just nitpicking:
- the wifi did not work at all;
- one bedside lamp did not work; and
- in an ideal word, the bedroom would have had aircon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing