We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Nearby Hotels
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1 495)
Filter reviews
1 495 results
Traveller rating
1 303
146
30
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 303
146
30
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbush lodgeplunge poolwhite liongame reserveour honeymoonoverlooking the lakehot water bottlesland roverwhole experiencefantastic experienceoutdoor showerthree nightsbush walkelusive leopardgarden routeout of this worldsafari experience
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1 495 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pumba is in a league of its own!

My husband and I ended our honeymoon on safari at Pumba for 4 nights and we can honestly say it's one of the best things we've ever done. Even after 8 game drives, we wished we could have stayed longer. We stayed in a Bush Lodge (a fully glassed lodge with private decking and plunge pool overlooking the reserve) and all facilities were maintained to a very high standard. Food was great with plenty of choice at meal times and all staff were very friendly.

The biggest star of Pumba is, our ranger, Josh. He really made the experience something we will never forget. We were closer to animals than we could have ever imagined and he really did his best to make sure we saw a much as possible on each drive. He is incredibly knowledgeable and it immediately comes across that he's passionate about his job. We looked forward to each drive with Josh and enjoyed his company and flowing conversation (and the banter he had with other rangers).

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pumba provides an overall amazing safari experience.
The scenery is beautiful and accomodation is fantastic.
Unfortunately we only stayed for 3 nights which wasn’t long enough - needed at least another day.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank andreajsmith2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a most memorable experience being on the Pumba Reserve and the accommodation was 5* , wonderful. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, and we would have no hesitation in recommending

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jeremyr0gers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From driving into the park and spotting monkeys and antelope from our car, the reception, our room, the food, game drives, fishing, staff to check out after 3 nights Pumba and it's team were just amazing. Perfect, perfect, perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Oivatoikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Make no mistake, Pumba is stunning. We stayed in the water lodge. Every chalet has a stunning view over the lake where you can see birds and hippos. Beyond is a ridge where, at lunchtime, we saw rhinos and lions.

The service of the staff is exemplary, they are attentive without being invasive. They are incredibly polite, well mannered and our ranger Justin was supremely knowledgeable.

Why only 4 (4.5) stars then? The cleaning staff were the only slight blip. We drank sherry in our room on one of the nights, the glasses were not removed or replaced. There were dead bugs in our bed one morning (this is something you have to get used, you are very at one with nature - I didn't mind this at all), but these were still on the sheets the following evening. It's these small details that mean I can't give 5*.

Despite this, I cannot recommend Pumba highly enough.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank alexpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews