We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 728)
Filter reviews
1 728 results
Traveller rating
1 517
161
31
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 517
161
31
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bush lodge plunge pool white lion our honeymoon game reserve overlooking the lake hot water bottles land rover whole experience amazing experience out of this world elusive leopard bush walk safari drives three nights garden route lunch and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 1 728 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Good location, good service and the safari was first class. Staff were attentive, friendly and efficient. Quality of the rangers in terms of their knowledge and manner was first class. Good food, breakfast after early morning safari a real highlight!!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Connector734242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thanks very much for the kind words. We are really proud of Pumba, and our team. Our rangers always go out of their way to make our guests time with us the most memorable one.

Safe Travels and we hope to invite you back soon.
Regards,
Pumba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

The 3 days that we spent at Pumba we’re a magical experience and far exceeded our expectations. The accommodation was outstanding, food was absolutely delicious and the attitude of all the staff was first rate. Their attention to detail blew us away! Our ranger Justin was the nicest guy you could possibly meet and his range of knowledge that he shared with us was phenomenal. We were lucky enough to see the Big 5 within the first 2 game drives but this didn’t detract from the other game drives we went on. To see the animals in a natural environment so close was unreal! We had such an amazing time, we’re already planning our next trip.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HilaryandBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you kindly for sharing your great experience at Pumba. It is fantastic that you enjoyed our high standards of hospitality. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Pumba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We had a truly fantastic two night stay at Pumba Water Lodge. Warm welcome, amazing views, 2 Safari drives each day and the food and service were first class. Didn’t want to come home! Saw 4 out of the 5 big five.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Goatie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you for your review and support. Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Wishing you safe travels.
We hope to welcome you back to see the entire Big5 next time.

Kind Regards,
Pumba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

This was without doubt the absolute highlight of our trip to South Africa from the initial welcome at the gate of the reserve to the final farewell this was a tremendous experience.
The lodge was first class in every way being beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable, to be able to eat a meal while overlooking magnificent scenery which normally included a White Lion was breath taking.
Our board was fully inclusive, everything from the decanter of Sherry in the lodge to a Gin & Tonic during the evening safari, our room/lodge was spacious with a large bed, lounge area and fabulous bathroom with roll top bath, his and her sink and large walk in shower all of this was completed with huge windows to take in the stunning views while remaiing absolutely private and secluded. The outside patio area was equipped with a shower and a plunge pool
The morning and evening Game Drives are scheduled to last 2 1/2 hours but were normally longer, during the drive our ranger Josh was an excellent source of information and knowledge, we had a number of close encounters with the parks many animals which were both fascinating and emotional to see the animals and their young wandering freely at such close quarters was a great privilege. This being our first "Safari" experience it certainly exceeded our expectations.
There is so much more we could say about this wonderful Game Lodge the staff and food were both of the highest quality, the service was extremely attentive and friendly. Our advice is to just go and do it.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank r0blin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

It is great to receive such fantastic feedback, thank you very much. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed our suites, food, surrounding activities and attractions. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Pumba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

we had an absolutely fabulous time at Pumba it was an exceptional game reserve with beautiful views and lovely accommodation. the food was fabulous and the staff where lovely as well they couldn't do enough for you, i wouldn't hesitate to go back. the only problem we had was we were not there long enough we could have done with another day so we could use some of the facilities

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bridget572014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you for your review and support. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and hope you stay longer!

Kind Regards
Pumba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews