We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best honeymoon holiday we could ask for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2017

The lodges, staff, food and last but not least the animals made our honeymoon truly unforgettable and we hope someday to be able to come back!! A particular highlight was the night drive which I would thoroughly recommend to anyone visiting where we had a white lion pass right by our vehicle. A truly unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank christopherhQ4104LE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you kindly for sharing your great experience at Pumba. It is fantastic that you enjoyed our high standards of hospitality and thank you for your recommendation. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 99 of 1 328 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017

this reserve is probably the best on the Eastern Cape, fantastic for game views and service one not to be missed they DO have the big five you may have to go back to see something you missed the first time or just to try the other lodge both are excellent

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nigell862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for the review! We appreciate your feedback. Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We stayed in Pumba for 3 nights of our honeymoon and were so glad we did. The staff were excellent and especially our ranger "Stevie" who's personality and expertise made the game drives so much fun. It's clear that the people at Pumba are doing an brilliant job of protecting the animals in a sustainable way, keep up the good work and we hope to see even more animals on our next visit ;)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PadraigV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you very much for the kind words. We are really proud of our reserve, our team and of course our wildlife. Safe Travels and we hope to invite you back soon. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Good thing we didn't stay more than two nights as I don't think my waistline would have survived it. As a private reserve over 5 drives you are pretty much guaranteed to see most of the animals (no leopard for us I'm afraid), and we did sometimes really close up. I was fantastic and our guide made it even better.
Rooms great - the full outdoor experience if you want - and the all inclusive package worked well.

I would suggest no more than 3 nights - we stayed at the Bush Lodge

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rupert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you kindly for sharing your great experience with us. It is fantastic that you enjoyed our high standards of hospitality and thank you for your recommendation. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The lodge is very nice with the rooms exquisitely furnished, a good size and most importantly with a view of the lake. We managed to see a group of hippos including 2 babies from our lodge.
Pumba was the last property we stayed in of a 3 week holiday to South Africa. At the beginning of our trip we had stayed for 4 nights in Sabi Sands and the only animals missing off our list were cheetah and hippo so we were pleased about this!
We enjoyed making the comparison with the 2 safaris we took and Pumba offers luxury but we found the reserve a little small and the sightings a bit distant at times.

Room Tip: All look nice, we stayed in Water Lodge which we enjoyed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your review and support. Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Wishing you safe travels.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grahamstown
12,8 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
366 reviews
34,4 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
35,2 km away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18,8 km away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
528 reviews
31,7 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
16,4 km away
A Stones Throw
A Stones Throw
#5 of 43 in Grahamstown
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pumba Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pumba Private Game Reserve

Address: 2) Highlands (just off N | (100 kms from Port Elizabeth), Grahamstown 6140, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Grahamstown
Price Range: R8 129 - R15 870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pumba Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awake to the sounds of the African bushveld as the sun makes its appearance on the horizon, bringing with it the prospect of another perfect day. Eco friendly Pumba, a proud member of the Green Leaf Conservation Initiative, is set in the malaria-free Eastern Cape and provides an intimate African safari experience never to be forgotten. The reserve is home to Africa's Big Five as well as rare white lion, hippo, hyena, cheetah, giraffes, various antelope and more than 300 bird species. Feel the heartbeat of nature as you explore the reserve in custom landrovers or on guided walking safaris. Water Lodge offers 12 waterfront chalets overlooking Lake Cariega while Bush Lodge is set on a floodplain with scenic mountain views, offering 11 luxury thatch and glass chalets. All Chalets open onto private game-viewing decks boasting plunge pools and outdoor showers. The indulgent bathrooms offer free-standing tubs and double basins, and each room is fitted with an earthenware fireplace. Whether dining indoors or under the starlit sky, meals at Pumba are simply sublime. Enjoy African fusion cuisine with an Eastern Cape flair, complemented by a superb selection of local wines from our Director's Cellar. Revitalise body and mind in the Soul Spa or enjoy a workout in the glass-enclosed gym at Bush Lodge. Other activities include bird watching, bass fishing, stargazing, archery as well as nearby horse riding and golf. An hour from Port Elizabeth and 15 minutes from Grahamstown. WiFi. TGCSA 5-star Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Pumba Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pumba Private Game Reserve Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing