We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
8A Grahamstown(Grahamstown)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$363
US$355
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$890
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jenny's Guest House(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bartholomew's Loft(Grahamstown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 542)
Filter reviews
1 542 results
Traveller rating
1 347
148
30
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 347
148
30
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbush lodgeplunge poolwhite lionour honeymoongame reserveoverlooking the lakehot water bottlesland roverwhole experienceamazing experienceoutdoor showerout of this worldgarden routebush walkelusive leopardthree nightssafari experience
Filter
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 1 542 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

this reserve is probably the best on the Eastern Cape, fantastic for game views and service one not to be missed they DO have the big five you may have to go back to see something you missed the first time or just to try the other lodge both are excellent

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nigell862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for the review! We appreciate your feedback. Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We stayed in Pumba for 3 nights of our honeymoon and were so glad we did. The staff were excellent and especially our ranger "Stevie" who's personality and expertise made the game drives so much fun. It's clear that the people at Pumba are doing an brilliant job of protecting the animals in a sustainable way, keep up the good work and we hope to see even more animals on our next visit ;)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PadraigV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you very much for the kind words. We are really proud of our reserve, our team and of course our wildlife. Safe Travels and we hope to invite you back soon. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Good thing we didn't stay more than two nights as I don't think my waistline would have survived it. As a private reserve over 5 drives you are pretty much guaranteed to see most of the animals (no leopard for us I'm afraid), and we did sometimes really close up. I was fantastic and our guide made it even better.
Rooms great - the full outdoor experience if you want - and the all inclusive package worked well.

I would suggest no more than 3 nights - we stayed at the Bush Lodge

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rupert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you kindly for sharing your great experience with us. It is fantastic that you enjoyed our high standards of hospitality and thank you for your recommendation. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The lodge is very nice with the rooms exquisitely furnished, a good size and most importantly with a view of the lake. We managed to see a group of hippos including 2 babies from our lodge.
Pumba was the last property we stayed in of a 3 week holiday to South Africa. At the beginning of our trip we had stayed for 4 nights in Sabi Sands and the only animals missing off our list were cheetah and hippo so we were pleased about this!
We enjoyed making the comparison with the 2 safaris we took and Pumba offers luxury but we found the reserve a little small and the sightings a bit distant at times.

Room Tip: All look nice, we stayed in Water Lodge which we enjoyed
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your review and support. Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Wishing you safe travels.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Slightly disappointed with the overall experience . Went in with very high expectations after reading all positive reviews. Stayed in the kudu suite with 2 kids. Lovely looking room and surroundings l but its the attention to detail which was lacking .

Chocolates and hot water bottle provided on the first night upon turndown but missing in the second night. Travelled with kids who were tired and fussy during dinner time , but the wait staff didn't suggest to get something to eat from a kids menu or something that would appeal to kids .
Also , having a vegetarian in the group, no effort was made to provide something special to him.
The game drives were good , but would have been made special if something like a bush breakfast was arranged .
Overall , not a bad experience, but not special after having paid the price we did.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank holiday12366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your review and support. It is always great to hear back from our guests and get fresh perspective. Your points have been noted and we hope that in the future you will allow us the opportunity to change you perception of Pumba. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews