We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
8A Grahamstown(Grahamstown)
US$120
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A Stones Throw Accommodation(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
11 Worcester on Durban(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bartholomew's Loft(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Corner Guest House(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jenny's Guest House(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$904
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$372
US$364
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1 540)
Filter reviews
1 540 results
Traveller rating
1 345
148
30
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 345
148
30
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbush lodgeplunge poolwhite lionour honeymoongame reserveoverlooking the lakehot water bottlesland roverwhole experienceamazing experienceoutdoor showerout of this worldgarden routebush walkelusive leopardthree nightssafari experience
Filter
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 1 540 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Good thing we didn't stay more than two nights as I don't think my waistline would have survived it. As a private reserve over 5 drives you are pretty much guaranteed to see most of the animals (no leopard for us I'm afraid), and we did sometimes really close up. I was fantastic and our guide made it even better.
Rooms great - the full outdoor experience if you want - and the all inclusive package worked well.

I would suggest no more than 3 nights - we stayed at the Bush Lodge

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rupert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you kindly for sharing your great experience with us. It is fantastic that you enjoyed our high standards of hospitality and thank you for your recommendation. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The lodge is very nice with the rooms exquisitely furnished, a good size and most importantly with a view of the lake. We managed to see a group of hippos including 2 babies from our lodge.
Pumba was the last property we stayed in of a 3 week holiday to South Africa. At the beginning of our trip we had stayed for 4 nights in Sabi Sands and the only animals missing off our list were cheetah and hippo so we were pleased about this!
We enjoyed making the comparison with the 2 safaris we took and Pumba offers luxury but we found the reserve a little small and the sightings a bit distant at times.

Room Tip: All look nice, we stayed in Water Lodge which we enjoyed
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your review and support. Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Wishing you safe travels.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Slightly disappointed with the overall experience . Went in with very high expectations after reading all positive reviews. Stayed in the kudu suite with 2 kids. Lovely looking room and surroundings l but its the attention to detail which was lacking .

Chocolates and hot water bottle provided on the first night upon turndown but missing in the second night. Travelled with kids who were tired and fussy during dinner time , but the wait staff didn't suggest to get something to eat from a kids menu or something that would appeal to kids .
Also , having a vegetarian in the group, no effort was made to provide something special to him.
The game drives were good , but would have been made special if something like a bush breakfast was arranged .
Overall , not a bad experience, but not special after having paid the price we did.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank holiday12366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your review and support. It is always great to hear back from our guests and get fresh perspective. Your points have been noted and we hope that in the future you will allow us the opportunity to change you perception of Pumba. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

We were looked after in every possible way from start to finish. Our lodge was excellent in every way .Would have loved to be able to stay a bit longer. Great people, particularly Daniel our ranger, whose knowledge and easy going demeanour made both our Drives so memorable. Fantastic food was a big bonus.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank WHHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your review, insight and support. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us and will certainly pass on the appreciation to Daniel. Looking forward to welcoming you back for a few nights longer next time!
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

What a perfect way to end our Garden Route road trip with a 2 night stay in Pumba Bush lodge. We arrived later in the afternoon than we would have wanted...but still had time for a quick bite of lunch before the 3.30pm afternoon safari with our ranger Dean. There is also a 7am morning safari, which is definitely worth the early start! As already stated the lodges are amazing, with every convenience, including hairdryer, stocked mini fridge, UK plug, and wonderful views. But it's the attention to detail which impresses - not just the chocolate on the pillow every night, but the little card saying good night with the weather forecast for the following day, and a little animal related bedtime tale. It is such a relaxing experience. The food is amazing, and there is always a choice. Wi fi is limited to the main lodge, so after dinner, we enjoyed a glass of wine while checking on emails in the lounge area. Perfect!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank co_downgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your review and support. I can guarantee you that your experience of the high standard of service and product is exactly what we enjoy being complimented on. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews