We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Nearby Hotels
Bartholomew's Loft(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ufumene Game Lodge(Grahamstown)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
8A Grahamstown(Grahamstown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cock House(Grahamstown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 499)
Filter reviews
1 499 results
Traveller rating
1 306
147
30
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 306
147
30
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbush lodgeplunge poolwhite liongame reserveour honeymoonoverlooking the lakehot water bottlesland roverwhole experiencefantastic experienceoutdoor showerthree nightsbush walkelusive leopardgarden routeout of this worldsafari experience
Filter
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 1 499 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Slightly disappointed with the overall experience . Went in with very high expectations after reading all positive reviews. Stayed in the kudu suite with 2 kids. Lovely looking room and surroundings l but its the attention to detail which was lacking .

Chocolates and hot water bottle provided on the first night upon turndown but missing in the second night. Travelled with kids who were tired and fussy during dinner time , but the wait staff didn't suggest to get something to eat from a kids menu or something that would appeal to kids .
Also , having a vegetarian in the group, no effort was made to provide something special to him.
The game drives were good , but would have been made special if something like a bush breakfast was arranged .
Overall , not a bad experience, but not special after having paid the price we did.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank holiday12366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your review and support. It is always great to hear back from our guests and get fresh perspective. Your points have been noted and we hope that in the future you will allow us the opportunity to change you perception of Pumba. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

We were looked after in every possible way from start to finish. Our lodge was excellent in every way .Would have loved to be able to stay a bit longer. Great people, particularly Daniel our ranger, whose knowledge and easy going demeanour made both our Drives so memorable. Fantastic food was a big bonus.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank WHHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your review, insight and support. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us and will certainly pass on the appreciation to Daniel. Looking forward to welcoming you back for a few nights longer next time!
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

What a perfect way to end our Garden Route road trip with a 2 night stay in Pumba Bush lodge. We arrived later in the afternoon than we would have wanted...but still had time for a quick bite of lunch before the 3.30pm afternoon safari with our ranger Dean. There is also a 7am morning safari, which is definitely worth the early start! As already stated the lodges are amazing, with every convenience, including hairdryer, stocked mini fridge, UK plug, and wonderful views. But it's the attention to detail which impresses - not just the chocolate on the pillow every night, but the little card saying good night with the weather forecast for the following day, and a little animal related bedtime tale. It is such a relaxing experience. The food is amazing, and there is always a choice. Wi fi is limited to the main lodge, so after dinner, we enjoyed a glass of wine while checking on emails in the lounge area. Perfect!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank co_downgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your review and support. I can guarantee you that your experience of the high standard of service and product is exactly what we enjoy being complimented on. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We had a excellent stay at the lodge where we found the most delightful management and attentive staff. A wonderful experience which we would have no problem in recommending to others. The game drives were very well organised with experienced guides who were dedicated to you for the duration of your stay, small groups so you gain the best experience. Highly recommend this Game Reserve.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lesliej67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you kindly for sharing your great experience at Pumba. It is fantastic that you enjoyed our high standards of hospitality and thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Pity was raining so hard as it wasn't a pleasant experience. The food was really good though and our ranger did try his best but it just was raining to hard to see anything. We were lucky to see Nic he is a beautiful elephant

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lillianc248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Reviews at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you kindly for sharing your experience at Pumba. Its great to hear that you enjoyed our really good food and got to spot Nic. Being a reserve that is dependant on natural elements like the weather it's not always a guarantee to see the wildlife, we hope that next time you return our rangers and the weather will have better luck! Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews