We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
8A Grahamstown(Grahamstown)
US$119
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A Stones Throw Accommodation(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
11 Worcester on Durban(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cock House(Grahamstown)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Corner Guest House(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jenny's Guest House(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$893
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bartholomew's Loft(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 542)
Filter reviews
1 542 results
Traveller rating
1 347
148
30
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 347
148
30
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbush lodgeplunge poolwhite lionour honeymoongame reserveoverlooking the lakehot water bottlesland roverwhole experienceamazing experienceoutdoor showerout of this worldgarden routebush walkelusive leopardthree nightssafari experience
Filter
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 1 542 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Everything from friendly reception to accommodation, to food and game drives was perfect. Our ranger Neale made sure we experienced great game drives. Loved the log fires in the rooms and the great feeling of luxury.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your review and support. Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and that the log fires were enjoyed in a luxury setting. Wishing you safe travels.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

I could not fault our stay and the service we received. We had the most wonderful holiday here at Pumba. Attention to detail was amazing. We especially loved the hot water bottles supplied for our early morning and late afternoon drives.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 330careyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

We are certainly proud of our reserve and our standard of service. Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

On arrival we were met by Bianca who was lovely and promised us that we wouldn’t lift a finger from this point onwards. She asked us about food preferences and noted that we were celebrating a birthday and anniversary whilst in South Africa and said she would arrange something special for us. We were transferred to our 2 bedroom family chalet at Msenge Bush Lodge where we were met by Paige. She said that the maintenance men had finished for the day and so she would take us to our room and offered to singlehandedly carry our 4 suitcases and 4 rucksacks to our room. We obviously offered to help her and between us and the children managed to carry our belongings there. Our rooms were amazing with freestanding baths and outdoor showers for each room as well as a well-stocked mini bar. It was, however, very cold and Paige told us that our fire would be lit when we returned from our safari drive. The safari was amazing – on the first drive there were 8 in our landrover (a bit crowded) and we saw white and tawny lions and a herd of elephants. On returning to our lodge the fire was not lit and it was freezing. When we mentioned this to Paige she said that there were less housekeeping staff on so perhaps they had not had time. We also reported that our safe was not working on the first day and it was not fixed when we left 3 days later. We did accidentally leave our wallet in our car at the entrance gate and the staff were brilliant – taking our keys and going to retrieve it for us, without us having to leave the lodge. All meals were chosen from a menu with generally 3 choices per course. Food was nice but portions were small. I have no idea why Bianca asked about our preferences as personal taste was never taken into account and our son struggled to choose between the basic kids menu and the slightly too sophisticated adults menu – personalised menus were not an option. The bar service was incredibly slow. Once I waited 15 minutes at the bar to be served and when sitting on the terrace drinks were not offered, despite Paige’s assurances that they would be. The gym was okay but a couple of machines not working. The game drives were all excellent, with between 4 and 6 people per drive going forward and our guide was great. On one day we saw rhino, elephant, buffalo, lion so were just needing the leopard to complete the big 5. That night, whilst eating dinner, it was announced that the leopard was in the vicinity and to stay in the main lodge for safety. We were then offered the chance to get in the landrover and drive the 50 metres down the drive to where the leopard was sitting. An amazing day! We also did the fishing with our ranger which gave us an opportunity to visit the Water Lodge and was a great way to spend a couple of hours. The anniversary/birthday treat promised by Bianca never materialised. All in all a great safari, great accommodation, but lacking in service.

Room Tip: Family chlet in Msenge Bush Lodge was great.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for your review and support. It is always great to hear back from our guests and get fresh perspective. Your points have been noted and will certainly be addressed. We hope that in the future you will return and allow us the opportunity to change you perception of Pumba.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We spent three nights here and it was just outstanding.We had 6 drives with an excellent and knowledgeable guide and saw the big 5 and countless other animals.The accommodation was first class and the food gourmet.We just wish we could have spent longer here.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farrercove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you very much for the kind words. We are really proud of our reserve, our staff and of course the wildlife. Safe Travels and we hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

This place is the most incredible place I have ever stayed. I did not want to leave. The people were all lovely. Especially Dan our ranger. He made the experience extra special. The food, service and the rooms were all amazing and I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for your review and support. Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We will certainly pass your appreciation onto Daniel. Wishing you safe travels.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews