We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We stayed here last week for 4 nights and we are still in awe of this fantastic place. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we didn't stop smiling! 5star does not cover Pumba, the fine details from the turn down at night with hot water bottles in your bed to the sundowners out in the bush are just the start. I chose Pumba to celebrate my daughters 21st and couldn't have asked for a better holiday. Our first full day was very hot and we decided to take advantage of the deck and plunge pool in the afternoon and whilst my daughter was relaxing in said pool an elephant came right past her! We were in chalet D at Bush Lodge! This was just one of the many amazing experiences we had during our stay.

A massive thank you to our ranger Daniel who made every game drive a different experience and always seemed to end each day with a little excitement from the puff adder snake that decided to keep warm by our tyre, to the rhinos that crept up on us while we were have our sundowners to one task who decided to road block us!

We saw a vast variety of animals but the Leopard went into hiding but I think he's been seen since we left.

Words really cannot describe Pumba, you really have to experience it to believe it.

Room Tip: Room D is great for views of the animals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rileyhev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketing at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your review and support. This is exactly the type of experience and high standard of service and product that we enjoy being complimented on. Thank you for choosing Pumba to celebrate your daughters' 21st Birthday. We trust that your memories will last for a lifetime! Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 116 of 1 328 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017

Everything from friendly reception to accommodation, to food and game drives was perfect. Our ranger Neale made sure we experienced great game drives. Loved the log fires in the rooms and the great feeling of luxury.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your review and support. Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and that the log fires were enjoyed in a luxury setting. Wishing you safe travels.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

I could not fault our stay and the service we received. We had the most wonderful holiday here at Pumba. Attention to detail was amazing. We especially loved the hot water bottles supplied for our early morning and late afternoon drives.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 330careyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

We are certainly proud of our reserve and our standard of service. Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

On arrival we were met by Bianca who was lovely and promised us that we wouldn’t lift a finger from this point onwards. She asked us about food preferences and noted that we were celebrating a birthday and anniversary whilst in South Africa and said she would arrange something special for us. We were transferred to our 2 bedroom family chalet at Msenge Bush Lodge where we were met by Paige. She said that the maintenance men had finished for the day and so she would take us to our room and offered to singlehandedly carry our 4 suitcases and 4 rucksacks to our room. We obviously offered to help her and between us and the children managed to carry our belongings there. Our rooms were amazing with freestanding baths and outdoor showers for each room as well as a well-stocked mini bar. It was, however, very cold and Paige told us that our fire would be lit when we returned from our safari drive. The safari was amazing – on the first drive there were 8 in our landrover (a bit crowded) and we saw white and tawny lions and a herd of elephants. On returning to our lodge the fire was not lit and it was freezing. When we mentioned this to Paige she said that there were less housekeeping staff on so perhaps they had not had time. We also reported that our safe was not working on the first day and it was not fixed when we left 3 days later. We did accidentally leave our wallet in our car at the entrance gate and the staff were brilliant – taking our keys and going to retrieve it for us, without us having to leave the lodge. All meals were chosen from a menu with generally 3 choices per course. Food was nice but portions were small. I have no idea why Bianca asked about our preferences as personal taste was never taken into account and our son struggled to choose between the basic kids menu and the slightly too sophisticated adults menu – personalised menus were not an option. The bar service was incredibly slow. Once I waited 15 minutes at the bar to be served and when sitting on the terrace drinks were not offered, despite Paige’s assurances that they would be. The gym was okay but a couple of machines not working. The game drives were all excellent, with between 4 and 6 people per drive going forward and our guide was great. On one day we saw rhino, elephant, buffalo, lion so were just needing the leopard to complete the big 5. That night, whilst eating dinner, it was announced that the leopard was in the vicinity and to stay in the main lodge for safety. We were then offered the chance to get in the landrover and drive the 50 metres down the drive to where the leopard was sitting. An amazing day! We also did the fishing with our ranger which gave us an opportunity to visit the Water Lodge and was a great way to spend a couple of hours. The anniversary/birthday treat promised by Bianca never materialised. All in all a great safari, great accommodation, but lacking in service.

Room Tip: Family chlet in Msenge Bush Lodge was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for your review and support. It is always great to hear back from our guests and get fresh perspective. Your points have been noted and will certainly be addressed. We hope that in the future you will return and allow us the opportunity to change you perception of Pumba.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We spent three nights here and it was just outstanding.We had 6 drives with an excellent and knowledgeable guide and saw the big 5 and countless other animals.The accommodation was first class and the food gourmet.We just wish we could have spent longer here.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farrercove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you very much for the kind words. We are really proud of our reserve, our staff and of course the wildlife. Safe Travels and we hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grahamstown
12,8 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
366 reviews
34,4 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
35,2 km away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18,8 km away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
528 reviews
31,7 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
16,4 km away
A Stones Throw
A Stones Throw
#5 of 43 in Grahamstown
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pumba Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pumba Private Game Reserve

Address: 2) Highlands (just off N | (100 kms from Port Elizabeth), Grahamstown 6140, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Grahamstown
Price Range: R8 142 - R15 857 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pumba Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awake to the sounds of the African bushveld as the sun makes its appearance on the horizon, bringing with it the prospect of another perfect day. Eco friendly Pumba, a proud member of the Green Leaf Conservation Initiative, is set in the malaria-free Eastern Cape and provides an intimate African safari experience never to be forgotten. The reserve is home to Africa's Big Five as well as rare white lion, hippo, hyena, cheetah, giraffes, various antelope and more than 300 bird species. Feel the heartbeat of nature as you explore the reserve in custom landrovers or on guided walking safaris. Water Lodge offers 12 waterfront chalets overlooking Lake Cariega while Bush Lodge is set on a floodplain with scenic mountain views, offering 11 luxury thatch and glass chalets. All Chalets open onto private game-viewing decks boasting plunge pools and outdoor showers. The indulgent bathrooms offer free-standing tubs and double basins, and each room is fitted with an earthenware fireplace. Whether dining indoors or under the starlit sky, meals at Pumba are simply sublime. Enjoy African fusion cuisine with an Eastern Cape flair, complemented by a superb selection of local wines from our Director's Cellar. Revitalise body and mind in the Soul Spa or enjoy a workout in the glass-enclosed gym at Bush Lodge. Other activities include bird watching, bass fishing, stargazing, archery as well as nearby horse riding and golf. An hour from Port Elizabeth and 15 minutes from Grahamstown. WiFi. TGCSA 5-star Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Pumba Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pumba Private Game Reserve Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing