We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick stopover”
Review of A Stones Throw

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A Stones Throw
Ranked #4 of 43 Grahamstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 January 2018

On very short notice I walked into a very neat and clean apartment. Everything in place and in working order! This is the second time I have made use of this facility. I experienced the same on the first visit. On this trip I stayed over in 4 different apartments, and rate this one tops.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marius M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccsw, Owner at A Stones Throw, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive feed-back - we look forward to welcoming you again soon and compliments for the new year. Kind regards Suzanne and the team at A Stone's Throw and 30 on Oatlands Accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2017

We always enjoy staying at A Stone’s Throw - the service is excellent, non-intrusive and the facilities are more than adequate! A great location for further exploration in the local area and further. Perhaps a playground for the little ones would be great.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lorrainek716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccsw, Owner at A Stones Throw, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feed-back and so glad you were able to enjoy some time with your family for the special occasion of a wedding too, we look forward to seeing you again soon and compliments for 2018 - kind regards Suzanne, Thandi, Edith and the team at A Stone's Throw and 30 on Oatlands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

We we're so happy with the fantastic Accomodation. It's in such a brilliant location and allows you to feel secluded but also not to far away from Grahamstown. Lovely rooms with stunning views and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jessicalL5255TU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccsw, Owner at A Stones Throw, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So great to have positive feed-back and guests that love our "secret" spot on the hill, we look forward to welcoming you again soon and wish you many more safe and memorable journeys - all the best Suzanne, Thandi, Edith and the team at A Stone's Throw and 30 on Oatlands Accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Very nice...I am not sure that the website pictures do it justice!
Gardens beautiful with lots of birds and song. Beautiful view from the rondavel room.
Fresh approach to decor and I felt safe. Will be back for sure!
See the stars...

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ronelc264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccsw, Owner at A Stones Throw, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow!! Thanks for the lovely response and we will be delighted to have more wonderful guests just like you who appreciate our "country" living view and setting on the hill, wishing you many more wonderful and memorable journeys and we hope to see you in our hood soon. All the best for the new year and safe travels regards from Suzanne, Thandi, Edith and the team at A Stone's Throw and 30 on Oatlands Accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

We arrived late on Sunday night and left early Monday morning so our experience at A Stones Throw was short and sweet. That said, the welcome was great and the accommodation very good. I would certainly return and would have no hesitation in recommending A Stone Throw to friends

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 439graemeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccsw, Owner at A Stones Throw, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you, Enkosi, Dankie for the positive feed-back and we love to welcome guests like you to our unique setting A Stone's Throw from the CBD. Wishing you many more awesome and memorable journeys and we hope to see you in the Eastern Cape again soon. All the best for a prosperous new year and safe travels, kind regards from Suzanne, Thandi, Edith and the team at A Stone's Throw and 30 on Oatlands Accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grahamstown hotels
4,6 km away
Browns at 137 High Street Grahamstown
5,9 km away
Jenny's Guest House
Jenny's Guest House
#3 of 43 in Grahamstown
67 reviews
5,3 km away
30 on Oatlands Road Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16,4 km away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1 405 reviews
29,1 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
373 reviews
6 km away
Mountain View Manor
Mountain View Manor
#16 of 43 in Grahamstown
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Stones Throw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Stones Throw

Address: 9 Stones Hill, Route 67, Port Alfred Road, Grahamstown 6140, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Grahamstown
Price Range: R 704 - R 802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Stones Throw 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stone's Throw Accommodation is nestled on the hilltops above Grahamstown. Offering country living "A Stone's Throw" from the University town of Grahamstown, where you can enjoy panoramic vistas and witness gorgeous sunsets from a spacious garden setting which is surrounded by open countryside. A Stone's Throw is situated as an ideal stopover between the Garden Route and KwaZulu Natal, just 2km's off the N2, outside Grahamstown, home to the National Arts Festival and City of Saints and Scholars, a seven minute drive into the city centre of Makana Grahamstown. The beaches of Kenton-on-Sea, Kasouga, and Port Alfred are nearby and the Great Fish River Reserves, Addo Elephant Park and Port Elizabeth are just over one hour away. A Stone's Throw's welcoming ambience ensures you a memorable stay. Wake up to Spectacular views. Enjoy sunsets and watching a variety of indigenous bird life, star-gazing, soaking up the sunshine with a book or taking an energetic hike up to the Toposcope, (This building, erected by the Grahamstown Trust in 1997/98, shows the direction of many towns and sites of this Eastern Cape region). Due to renovations we also have available accommodation option at 30 on Oatlands Road which is centrally situated in the Oak-tree lined suburb of Oatlands. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your A Stones Throw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing