We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mark_Seeks
Johannesburg, South Africa

A nice small town Stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Oct 2017
Since I was raised in East London, Grahamstown has always been a nice stop for my family since my brother studied at Rhodes. I used to stay at the old Vic, where the nightclub used to be at the bottom. After some ages, I decided to go to the Grahamstown Festival this year and was lucky to get place here. It was the perfect stay. It's a nice change from the hustle and bustle of Johannesburg. Very clean rooms and very comfortable as well. Staff are warm and friendly as well and I will definitely be back next year
Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 374
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Hotel Victoria Mews
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    R 2 390
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Hotel Victoria Mews
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.5 km from Hotel Victoria Mews
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Hotel Victoria Mews
Free Wifi
Free parking
En-suite bedroom in the Corner House
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 968
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from Hotel Victoria Mews
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe River Suite
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 360
  • Hotels.com
12.4 km from Hotel Victoria Mews
Free Wifi
Free parking
30 on Oatlands Room 2
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 224
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Hotel Victoria Mews
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 625
  • Hotels.com
22.7 km from Hotel Victoria Mews
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Grahamstown
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
4
3
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
4
3
2
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2017

This older property is centrally located, close to everything in town. The hotel building is architecturally intriguing with a series of buildings having been cobbled together into one. It would benefit from a general redo and modernization. In my room, the bathroom was four steps down from the bedroom. The rooms appear to be dark and a bit gloomy, they would be more appealing if they were decorated in lighter hues.

There is 24 hour security at the desk with cameras on the parking in front for your automobile. On a Saturday night in a college town, early in the month when people have money in their pockets, there is not a lot of quiet to be had. The room was offered at a 50 Rand discount without breakfast.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

While I can't comment on the accommodation at the Vic, the music this evening with the Accoustic Cafe, and especially Anton Calitz, was absolutely amazing. The wine and great pizza was and optional extra.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Travellinggypsy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Checked in with my Colleagues for two nights . I must say the outside of the Hotel is very deceiving as the rooms are great . Clean linen and bathrooms . They just need to work on the Television channels , i did speak to Don , the Manager and he assured me that they were working on it . On both nights we had supper @ Ginnos and the food was great , lovely staff too . The lady in the front was so helpful always asking us if we were ok . My friend says he can drive any day from Mthatha to Grahamstown just for the pizza .

Room tip: Rooms 13 , 6 , 3 and 10 are good , these were my friend's rooms so i saw them . i recommend them as well .
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mlenzanaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

I spent a night at the mews. The information leaflet says the water is not suitable for drinking and that a bottle of still water is in the room but there wasn't any.

The bed was not comfortable. The tv reception was terrible and there was no sign of a remote in the room, and there was no Mnet as advertised.

The only plus was that the front shop staff were very pleasant, and that the restaurant Gino's was good.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank GershFuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Great stay in May , staff very friendly , linen very clean . Only had problems with the TV channels but the manager managed to explain to us that is was a fault caused by load shedding of which it's understandable . The manager/short fat guy was very helpful with every inquiry i made he would help willingly . The Grandma at breakfast was great so was the food . Only encountered a problem with the gay receptionist not understanding what i was saying and also his way of speaking was with a loud tone which had aggression in it .

Room tip: Rooms on the first floor are great , had a look when the cleaners were cleaning and of course Room 13
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bander500
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews